We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suburban US development in the middle of Costa Rica” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005 , Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th nt free in Paradise
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Herradura
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Suburban US development in the middle of Costa Rica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel is part of a newer development that includes a golf course, several gated residential complexes, another resort and a marina. It felt like I was staying in any US suburban development while I was at the Marriott. You will not get an authentic Costa Rican experience if you stay here.

That said, I did enjoy the pool which was absolutely stunning. We stayed just before high season and basically had the place to ourselves. I booked a surfing lesson through their on site tour company which was amazing. Our room was comfortable and included an oversized bathroom complete with the same products you find in a US Marriott.

While I would not return to this resort I did think those who are looking for a taste of home while abroad would enjoy their stay at this resort.

Room Tip: Rooms in the *46, *63 and *66 lines have corner window for a double exposure. Some rooms have ham...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    326
    102
    45
    22
See reviews for
327
425
26
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights after driving down from the Arenal region. Beautiful hotel and grounds. We were informed that our quad occupancy room was actually meant for 2 adults and 2 children, not 4 adults, and we were told that we may have to pay $20 to change this. I informed them that as part of our package, no such differentiation was made, and we paid as adults for our package. They waived the fee, and the 4 of us stayed in a standard room. Buffet breakfast was divine!! Everything you could want, eggs, eggs benny with holondaise, waffles, pancakes, pastries, fruit. The pool was absolutely beautful, but were dissapointed that the hot tub was part of the spa, and required a charge to enter. Also a little dissapointing that wifi wasn't free. Considering this place was so luxurious, I thought it would have been prudent for the concierge (after we discussed our route for the evening) to inform us that there wouldn't be any restaurants open in Jaco by the time we arrived there. We thought the hotel gift shop, had the best deal for coffee, buy 10, get 14! about $7 a lb. The restaraunt had alright food, avoid the tortilla soup. Overall, beautiful hotel, very luxurious, very happy we could stay here for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We spend 7 days at the hotel / first mistake was to book the ziplining at the hotel for $75 /person . 10 minutes later we walk to the beach and find piko under a white canopy at the beach behind the hotel . he offer the ziplining for only $55 a person .... waoo after that we book everything with pikotravel . he also do airport transfer for $100 or $90 if you give like on pikotravel facebook.

The hotel was nice , food was ok . the beach was not so good , but the pool is huge ,

sportfishing was awesome !



Thanks so much Costa Rica . we be back soon !!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Went to Los Suenos in August and it's the nicest hotel I went to in Costa Rica. The pool; is great with plenty of space which is good since the beach is soso. The rooms are great. The service is perfect from the start. you get a drink upon arrival and from then the service is just wow... I highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Great location on the water with everything you need on site. Staff is all tremendous. Pool and activities available every day. Walking distance to marina for more dining. Jaco is either close by car or taxi with fun shopping, surfing and dining. Perfect way to relax and enjoy the Pacific coast in Central America. The morning visit by the macaws is pretty cool, too.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Our week long stay at the beach resort was enjoyable and relaxing. We were there in the 3rd week in October, which had advantages and some detractors. The middle of the week was a slow time in shoulder season, so we had more staff than guests, and were treated with every special amenity. The unfortunate reason is that October is rainy season, limiting excursions and activities to the morning and early afternoon. The daily rain even held us prisoner for 2 days, limiting our choices to the resort only. The excursions, canopy tour and Isla Tortuga were very professionally run, but I would say the amount of travel (5 hours total driving/boating for a 5 hour trip) wasn't the best use of a vacation day. One overall comment I would make is that meals were expensive for what is classified as a 3rd world county. Even in the local hang outs (the Taco Bar in Jaco), food was expensive and often we paid more than at American resorts for each meal. Costa Rica may be somewhat full of itself where pricing is concerned. High marks for the Marriot Los Suenos, even in low season

Room Tip: pick the oceanside rooms, or you'll be looking at a parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex County, NJ
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I've stayed here a few times for work and I've enjoyed the Marriott each time. The location is great - on the beach, near Jaco for surfing, and only 90 minutes from San Jose. The resort grounds are pretty and well-maintained and the pool area is enormous. The beach is average and therereally is not much going on (no real water-sports). The food is very good in the restaurants and pool bar. The breakfast buffet is one of the best around, but try and get it included in your room rate or it is very expensive.

As other have mentioned, I don't appreciate paying the high price for wifi (but this is typical of Marriott).

I think when you stay in a Marriott in Costa Rica (or any other country) you need to know what to expect - an American-style resort offering American-friendly service and amenities. If you want the "real" Costa Rica, don't stay in a Marriott or Hilton, etc.

All-in-all, if you want a place to relax with impeccable grounds and amenities, Los Suenos is a good pick.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Address: 800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005 , Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Herradura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Herradura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized by Travel & Leisure magazine readers as one of the "World's Best," the Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort is a luxury Costa Rica resort hotel nestled between the warm waters of the Pacific and a 1,100 acre tropical rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean And Golf Resort
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Hotel Herradura
Marriott Los Suenos Ocean Hotel
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort Costa Rica/Herradura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.