We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriot Los Suenos in Costa Rica: Toda Vida!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Off Event
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Herradura
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Marriot Los Suenos in Costa Rica: Toda Vida!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Our week long stay at the beach resort was enjoyable and relaxing. We were there in the 3rd week in October, which had advantages and some detractors. The middle of the week was a slow time in shoulder season, so we had more staff than guests, and were treated with every special amenity. The unfortunate reason is that October is rainy season, limiting excursions and activities to the morning and early afternoon. The daily rain even held us prisoner for 2 days, limiting our choices to the resort only. The excursions, canopy tour and Isla Tortuga were very professionally run, but I would say the amount of travel (5 hours total driving/boating for a 5 hour trip) wasn't the best use of a vacation day. One overall comment I would make is that meals were expensive for what is classified as a 3rd world county. Even in the local hang outs (the Taco Bar in Jaco), food was expensive and often we paid more than at American resorts for each meal. Costa Rica may be somewhat full of itself where pricing is concerned. High marks for the Marriot Los Suenos, even in low season

Room Tip: pick the oceanside rooms, or you'll be looking at a parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    851
    431
    128
    51
    23
See reviews for
459
553
32
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex County, NJ
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I've stayed here a few times for work and I've enjoyed the Marriott each time. The location is great - on the beach, near Jaco for surfing, and only 90 minutes from San Jose. The resort grounds are pretty and well-maintained and the pool area is enormous. The beach is average and therereally is not much going on (no real water-sports). The food is very good in the restaurants and pool bar. The breakfast buffet is one of the best around, but try and get it included in your room rate or it is very expensive.

As other have mentioned, I don't appreciate paying the high price for wifi (but this is typical of Marriott).

I think when you stay in a Marriott in Costa Rica (or any other country) you need to know what to expect - an American-style resort offering American-friendly service and amenities. If you want the "real" Costa Rica, don't stay in a Marriott or Hilton, etc.

All-in-all, if you want a place to relax with impeccable grounds and amenities, Los Suenos is a good pick.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is an absolutely beautiful resort. As Marriott's go, you get all that you expect but in Costa Rica the service and staff are always a cut above. For me everything was perfect. For those of you who are not familiar with Marriott's or this property here is what I might find detracting. One is that even though the hotel is beachfront, it is not a swimmable or lounge-able beach. It's right up against the marina, the sand is a dark brown color and the water is a grayish color. The overall scenery is still very beautiful. The other is that I still can't see myself paying $24 per person for breakfast. I'm a Gold member so I don't pay it anyway but it's just the idea. You all probably know that the meals at the restaurants here are even more overpriced. So the point is this. Skip the Hotel fare and go just outside the main gate to Herradura beach for your meals. You can actually walk there. I'd say it's about a 20 min walk. You can dine on extraordinary, well portioned local and international dishes, mingle with both expats and locals, watch the sunset and spend a quarter of what you would have spent at the hotel. Now, for all those other things there is a American style shopping center with a very nice supermarket at the main intersection. They sell everything that you can get in the states. Get your wine there. $7 for a really good bottle of Chilean Chardonnay. At the hotel its $14 a glass. Hey, I vacation two to three times a year. I'm way beyond the "I need to be pampered" mode and I just don't like giving my money away unnecessarily.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Hotel is nice, pools are good, beach is nice (volcanic black sand and pebbles like most of the area) and people are pleasant. However, in my opinion you might as well be in any beach resort in Florida as there is pretty much nothing about this place that says Costa Rica. Costa Rica is beautiful and amazing and I have visited 5 times now. We didn't have any intention of staying in a Marriott as we would much prefer a beach home from VRBO but we won a charity auction. In my opinion, this place is everything that is wrong with the mega resorts that come in to a beautiful place when it starts getting popular and ruin it... however that is is a rant for a different forum.

My chief complaint here is the cost of everything. The beach club has signs everywhere that said Thanksgiving dinner for $24.95. I called to book and confirmed the price but after dinner was charged $45 a head and 1/2 price for the kids. A cheap bottle of wine that cost $10 at the local 'mini super' was $50 here. A bottle of sparkling water was $16. The buffet was really average at best. I was then told that the beach club is separate from the hotel and they don't know about the $24.95 deal, which is not what the person I booked with said.

The hotel is in the Los Suenos resort with what looks like a beautiful golf course but on enquiring about a round, I found out it was $160 + $60 to rent clubs. Seems like you should get some sort of a deal on that but no chance. Not even the Wifi is free.

Down the road in the resort, is the marina with some other restaurants. I didn't realize this is all separate from the Marriott, however again these places are outrageous. A small provisioning store called Jimmy T's, where we bought some chips, paper towels and 1/2 and 1/2 for coffee that somehow cost us $35.

The area is really sanitized. No bugs, which is nice I guess but also in a whole week, we didn't see any monkeys, Sloths, Macaws or other Costa Rican wildlife that is abundant everywhere else.

There are some really nice little locally owned bars down on the beach outside of the resort, that are really good. I had some of the best ceviche I have every had and a whole afternoon of amazing food and drink for 4 of us cost $50. That is more like the real Costa Rica.

So overall this place and everything within Los Suenos is a complete riff off and there are much nicer areas in Costa Rica to visit. If money is no object and you are happy with just a luxury hotel stay then this place is fine. However, if you want to see and experience Costa Rica, do yourself a favor and avoid these big resorts and stay in Manual Antonio (70 km down the road) and rent a nice beach house on VRBO or stay in a small boutique hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Just got back from celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary and had a great time. Had a great ocean view room. The staff is absolutely amazing and ready to please! The Sibo Spa had some great deals and felt wonderful after my treatment! The food was great and room service was fast and hot.

Room Tip: The upgrade to the ocean room was well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite which was nicely appointed, looked torward the ocean and is located on the 4th floor. I would consider this hotel a 4.5. Everyone that works here is friendly and the breakfast was good. The hotel is practically empty in November. Location is about 1.5 hours from the airport. We rented a car to get here but we also were out in La Fortuna for a few days. The weather was good and we enjoyed our time here. I would come back, definently!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The grounds are expansive. You arrive after an hour drive from nearest airport. Security gate prevents anyone from entering the grounds 24 hours a day. Wen you arrive you drive through the golf course and arrive at the main hotel entrance. Staff was eager to take our things and check in was seamless. The views of the ocean are spectacular from many places you can dine. There are tons of entertainment in the evening from the live shows, casino, and the night club.

My only issue was not enough beach. There isn't much sand you would want to hang out on, more muddy than anything.

Overall if you are staying for a day or two you could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herradura
1.6 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#4 of 43 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 873 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
2.7 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#5 of 43 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
24.5 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Address: 800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Herradura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Herradura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized by Travel & Leisure magazine readers as one of the "World's Best," the Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort is a luxury Costa Rica resort hotel nestled between the warm waters of the Pacific and a 1,100 acre tropical rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Hotel Herradura
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean And Golf Resort
Marriott Los Suenos Ocean Hotel
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort Costa Rica/Herradura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.