We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005 , Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Off in Paradise
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Herradura
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is an absolutely beautiful resort. As Marriott's go, you get all that you expect but in Costa Rica the service and staff are always a cut above. For me everything was perfect. For those of you who are not familiar with Marriott's or this property here is what I might find detracting. One is that even though the hotel is beachfront, it is not a swimmable or lounge-able beach. It's right up against the marina, the sand is a dark brown color and the water is a grayish color. The overall scenery is still very beautiful. The other is that I still can't see myself paying $24 per person for breakfast. I'm a Gold member so I don't pay it anyway but it's just the idea. You all probably know that the meals at the restaurants here are even more overpriced. So the point is this. Skip the Hotel fare and go just outside the main gate to Herradura beach for your meals. You can actually walk there. I'd say it's about a 20 min walk. You can dine on extraordinary, well portioned local and international dishes, mingle with both expats and locals, watch the sunset and spend a quarter of what you would have spent at the hotel. Now, for all those other things there is a American style shopping center with a very nice supermarket at the main intersection. They sell everything that you can get in the states. Get your wine there. $7 for a really good bottle of Chilean Chardonnay. At the hotel its $14 a glass. Hey, I vacation two to three times a year. I'm way beyond the "I need to be pampered" mode and I just don't like giving my money away unnecessarily.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    548
    299
    95
    43
    22
See reviews for
304
394
22
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Hotel is nice, pools are good, beach is nice (volcanic black sand and pebbles like most of the area) and people are pleasant. However, in my opinion you might as well be in any beach resort in Florida as there is pretty much nothing about this place that says Costa Rica. Costa Rica is beautiful and amazing and I have visited 5 times now. We didn't have any intention of staying in a Marriott as we would much prefer a beach home from VRBO but we won a charity auction. In my opinion, this place is everything that is wrong with the mega resorts that come in to a beautiful place when it starts getting popular and ruin it... however that is is a rant for a different forum.

My chief complaint here is the cost of everything. The beach club has signs everywhere that said Thanksgiving dinner for $24.95. I called to book and confirmed the price but after dinner was charged $45 a head and 1/2 price for the kids. A cheap bottle of wine that cost $10 at the local 'mini super' was $50 here. A bottle of sparkling water was $16. The buffet was really average at best. I was then told that the beach club is separate from the hotel and they don't know about the $24.95 deal, which is not what the person I booked with said.

The hotel is in the Los Suenos resort with what looks like a beautiful golf course but on enquiring about a round, I found out it was $160 + $60 to rent clubs. Seems like you should get some sort of a deal on that but no chance. Not even the Wifi is free.

Down the road in the resort, is the marina with some other restaurants. I didn't realize this is all separate from the Marriott, however again these places are outrageous. A small provisioning store called Jimmy T's, where we bought some chips, paper towels and 1/2 and 1/2 for coffee that somehow cost us $35.

The area is really sanitized. No bugs, which is nice I guess but also in a whole week, we didn't see any monkeys, Sloths, Macaws or other Costa Rican wildlife that is abundant everywhere else.

There are some really nice little locally owned bars down on the beach outside of the resort, that are really good. I had some of the best ceviche I have every had and a whole afternoon of amazing food and drink for 4 of us cost $50. That is more like the real Costa Rica.

So overall this place and everything within Los Suenos is a complete riff off and there are much nicer areas in Costa Rica to visit. If money is no object and you are happy with just a luxury hotel stay then this place is fine. However, if you want to see and experience Costa Rica, do yourself a favor and avoid these big resorts and stay in Manual Antonio (70 km down the road) and rent a nice beach house on VRBO or stay in a small boutique hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Just got back from celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary and had a great time. Had a great ocean view room. The staff is absolutely amazing and ready to please! The Sibo Spa had some great deals and felt wonderful after my treatment! The food was great and room service was fast and hot.

Room Tip: The upgrade to the ocean room was well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite which was nicely appointed, looked torward the ocean and is located on the 4th floor. I would consider this hotel a 4.5. Everyone that works here is friendly and the breakfast was good. The hotel is practically empty in November. Location is about 1.5 hours from the airport. We rented a car to get here but we also were out in La Fortuna for a few days. The weather was good and we enjoyed our time here. I would come back, definently!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The grounds are expansive. You arrive after an hour drive from nearest airport. Security gate prevents anyone from entering the grounds 24 hours a day. Wen you arrive you drive through the golf course and arrive at the main hotel entrance. Staff was eager to take our things and check in was seamless. The views of the ocean are spectacular from many places you can dine. There are tons of entertainment in the evening from the live shows, casino, and the night club.

My only issue was not enough beach. There isn't much sand you would want to hang out on, more muddy than anything.

Overall if you are staying for a day or two you could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights. Upgraded for 50 $ to the best room with balcony, hammock and pool/ ocean view. Wonderful staff, best breakfast buffet and great, relaxing pool area.
We would come back in a heartbeat , loved it.

Room Tip: The waterfalls to the ocean side/ pool are a bit noisy for some. They run from 7.30 to 9.30 at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a great vacation resort for couples looking to get away for a great weekend or longer. Very comfortable, relaxing, friendly, clean and the food is excellent. The rooms were very modern, well equipped and very, very spacious. The pool area is a dream with a great pool bar. The beaches are a little rocky, but that is the norm in Costa Rica. Several great hammocks on the property and plenty of nice walking areas around the resort to see native wildlife. I was down there for a concert in San Jose and stayed three great nights. Highly recommend this hotel. Only downside is leaving the safe confines of the hotel walls. I felt very, very safe inside the hotel compound walls, but wasn't too big on going into town unless I was on an excursion that the hotel set up. All in all, this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't look over the front of the hotel which shows part of the golf cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Address: 800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005 , Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Herradura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Herradura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized by Travel & Leisure magazine readers as one of the "World's Best," the Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort is a luxury Costa Rica resort hotel nestled between the warm waters of the Pacific and a 1,100 acre tropical rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean And Golf Resort
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Hotel Herradura
Marriott Los Suenos Ocean Hotel
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort Costa Rica/Herradura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.