We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi For Members
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Herradura
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is an absolutely beautiful resort. As Marriott's go, you get all that you expect but in Costa Rica the service and staff are always a cut above. For me everything was perfect. For those of you who are not familiar with Marriott's or this property here is what I might find detracting. One is that even though the hotel is beachfront, it is not a swimmable or lounge-able beach. It's right up against the marina, the sand is a dark brown color and the water is a grayish color. The overall scenery is still very beautiful. The other is that I still can't see myself paying $24 per person for breakfast. I'm a Gold member so I don't pay it anyway but it's just the idea. You all probably know that the meals at the restaurants here are even more overpriced. So the point is this. Skip the Hotel fare and go just outside the main gate to Herradura beach for your meals. You can actually walk there. I'd say it's about a 20 min walk. You can dine on extraordinary, well portioned local and international dishes, mingle with both expats and locals, watch the sunset and spend a quarter of what you would have spent at the hotel. Now, for all those other things there is a American style shopping center with a very nice supermarket at the main intersection. They sell everything that you can get in the states. Get your wine there. $7 for a really good bottle of Chilean Chardonnay. At the hotel its $14 a glass. Hey, I vacation two to three times a year. I'm way beyond the "I need to be pampered" mode and I just don't like giving my money away unnecessarily.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
13 Thank JuanOquendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Deerfield Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Hotel is nice, pools are good, beach is nice (volcanic black sand and pebbles like most of the area) and people are pleasant. However, in my opinion you might as well be in any beach resort in Florida as there is pretty much nothing about this place that says Costa Rica. Costa Rica is beautiful and amazing and I have visited 5 times now. We didn't have any intention of staying in a Marriott as we would much prefer a beach home from VRBO but we won a charity auction. In my opinion, this place is everything that is wrong with the mega resorts that come in to a beautiful place when it starts getting popular and ruin it... however that is is a rant for a different forum.

My chief complaint here is the cost of everything. The beach club has signs everywhere that said Thanksgiving dinner for $24.95. I called to book and confirmed the price but after dinner was charged $45 a head and 1/2 price for the kids. A cheap bottle of wine that cost $10 at the local 'mini super' was $50 here. A bottle of sparkling water was $16. The buffet was really average at best. I was then told that the beach club is separate from the hotel and they don't know about the $24.95 deal, which is not what the person I booked with said.

The hotel is in the Los Suenos resort with what looks like a beautiful golf course but on enquiring about a round, I found out it was $160 + $60 to rent clubs. Seems like you should get some sort of a deal on that but no chance. Not even the Wifi is free.

Down the road in the resort, is the marina with some other restaurants. I didn't realize this is all separate from the Marriott, however again these places are outrageous. A small provisioning store called Jimmy T's, where we bought some chips, paper towels and 1/2 and 1/2 for coffee that somehow cost us $35.

The area is really sanitized. No bugs, which is nice I guess but also in a whole week, we didn't see any monkeys, Sloths, Macaws or other Costa Rican wildlife that is abundant everywhere else.

There are some really nice little locally owned bars down on the beach outside of the resort, that are really good. I had some of the best ceviche I have every had and a whole afternoon of amazing food and drink for 4 of us cost $50. That is more like the real Costa Rica.

So overall this place and everything within Los Suenos is a complete riff off and there are much nicer areas in Costa Rica to visit. If money is no object and you are happy with just a luxury hotel stay then this place is fine. However, if you want to see and experience Costa Rica, do yourself a favor and avoid these big resorts and stay in Manual Antonio (70 km down the road) and rent a nice beach house on VRBO or stay in a small boutique hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank riprod72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Just got back from celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary and had a great time. Had a great ocean view room. The staff is absolutely amazing and ready to please! The Sibo Spa had some great deals and felt wonderful after my treatment! The food was great and room service was fast and hot.

Room Tip: The upgrade to the ocean room was well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite which was nicely appointed, looked torward the ocean and is located on the 4th floor. I would consider this hotel a 4.5. Everyone that works here is friendly and the breakfast was good. The hotel is practically empty in November. Location is about 1.5 hours from the airport. We rented a car to get here but we also were out in La Fortuna for a few days. The weather was good and we enjoyed our time here. I would come back, definently!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RangerBobIsHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The grounds are expansive. You arrive after an hour drive from nearest airport. Security gate prevents anyone from entering the grounds 24 hours a day. Wen you arrive you drive through the golf course and arrive at the main hotel entrance. Staff was eager to take our things and check in was seamless. The views of the ocean are spectacular from many places you can dine. There are tons of entertainment in the evening from the live shows, casino, and the night club.

My only issue was not enough beach. There isn't much sand you would want to hang out on, more muddy than anything.

Overall if you are staying for a day or two you could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MCSmith1582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights. Upgraded for 50 $ to the best room with balcony, hammock and pool/ ocean view. Wonderful staff, best breakfast buffet and great, relaxing pool area.
We would come back in a heartbeat , loved it.

Room Tip: The waterfalls to the ocean side/ pool are a bit noisy for some. They run from 7.30 to 9.30 at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frostybutnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
196 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a great vacation resort for couples looking to get away for a great weekend or longer. Very comfortable, relaxing, friendly, clean and the food is excellent. The rooms were very modern, well equipped and very, very spacious. The pool area is a dream with a great pool bar. The beaches are a little rocky, but that is the norm in Costa Rica. Several great hammocks on the property and plenty of nice walking areas around the resort to see native wildlife. I was down there for a concert in San Jose and stayed three great nights. Highly recommend this hotel. Only downside is leaving the safe confines of the hotel walls. I felt very, very safe inside the hotel compound walls, but wasn't too big on going into town unless I was on an excursion that the hotel set up. All in all, this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't look over the front of the hotel which shows part of the golf cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmoonesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herradura
1.4 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
1.6 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#4 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 990 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#3 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
24.5 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Address: 800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Herradura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Herradura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized by Travel & Leisure magazine readers as one of the "World's Best," the Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort is a luxury Costa Rica resort hotel nestled between the warm waters of the Pacific and a 1,100 acre tropical rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean And Golf Resort
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Hotel Herradura
Marriott Los Suenos Ocean Hotel
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort Costa Rica/Herradura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing