We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“words dont describe how much you will love it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005 , Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Off in Paradise
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Herradura
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“words dont describe how much you will love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

this hotel is GORGEOUS! everyone is friendly and willing to answer questions at any time. roger, rodrigo, andres, morgan, carlos, charles and fabian all made us feel at home. my friend and i spent 3 nights at the hotel and wish we could have stayed forever. the pool area is beautiful and the rooms are clean. we asked for late check out and it was no problem. The perfect end to an amazing vacation in costa rica. thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    553
    302
    96
    44
    21
See reviews for
308
398
22
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Summit, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife and I were arrived with the intention of spending two nights here, and that we did. But here was the great surprise: we arrived early (10 AM), long before the 4 PM check-in time. In my experience, most hotels will let you check in when they have a room, usually sometime after Noon. In this case, the gentleman at the desk had an empty room and we checked in immediately on arrival. That gave us plenty of time for a long nap before wandering around and seeing the sights.
This is probably the quietest hotel I've every been in, probably because it's constructed so that noise doesn't travel through walls or ceilings. The spa, according to my wife, was near perfection. I explored the adjacent casino and found it friendly and welcoming. The blackjack table (only one was open when I waked in) used manual shuffling out of a shoe -- not machine shuffling, so the odds are slightly better for alert players. They have a table in the lobby of the hotel that does not involve money but is there so novices can learn a little about the game before going into the casino, including making it clear to gamblers that, over time, they will lose 2% and possibly more of the amount they bet, depending on how well they play and swings of luck. They are also careful to tell people to play only with money they can afford to lose. Back to the real casino, the minimum bets are modest. It was only a $5 minimum when I walked in at 7 PM.

Room Tip: My guess is that all the rooms are good. We were on the ground floor and had a patio. We were near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We used Marriott points to stay at Los Suenos this passed July. The property is beautiful and I negotiated a price in dollars to upgrade to an ocean view 2 room suite. Don't be afraid to negotiate the price - I saved about $175 over 3 days by doing so.

The property is amazing including the grounds, the never ending pool with swim up bar, the architecture and massive reception area - everything is spotless - and it has a very Disney/Pirates of Caribbean feel. Our room was beautiful too - very spacious and a great view of the pool, beach/ocean and surrounding hills. The self parking is free and isn't too far of a walk if you want to save some $.

The beach is not as bad as some of the other reviews I read. We didn't swim in it but we walked along it more than once and really enjoyed the calmness and the view. But the huge pool is so great we didn't ever feel compelled to swim in the ocean.

The meals here are super expensive. However if you're on a budget like us you have options. There is a strip mall (Plaza Herradura) just up the street at the main "highway" that has a Subway, Pizza Hut and an Auto Mercado grocery that is actually air conditioned (unlike so many other grocery stores that we encountered while traveling around Costa Rica). The plaza has free internet which was nice since we chose not to pay for it at Los Suenos - they charge around $14 a day. We would connect thru our smart phones while at the plaza to stay in touch and then get off the grid which was nice. Los Suenos also charges around $10 for a beach ball or float/raft at the pool which I think is ridiculous. All in all though, this is a wonderful place. Super clean with very friendly staff and it doesn't have to break your bank if you're cheap like us. I highly recommend staying here if given the chance. You can live it up with expensive meals and evenings at the casino or explore Manuel Antonio and grab a pizza on the way back to your room.

Room Tip: Manuel Antonio Park is roughly an hour away depending on the road conditions when you travel. Jaco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

A great hotel, ask for a room with ocean view, it worth the extra cost.

The pools are very confortable, excelent bar service. The breakfast brunch is great,

The beach is not the best but it is private and quiet.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

What can be said for a host that goes 110% to make you feel at home. What a great place and great people. Highly recommended!! This was our 50th anniversary and the location was perfect for a visit to Manual Antonio National Park. The wonderful sound of the PacificOcean hitting the breakes was always pleasant.
Staff could not do enough. Since this was a slow season, we felt like we had our own private resort!

Room Tip: Use Costa Rica Shuttle for airport pick up and travel. Dependable!! We has the corner Garden room n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is a beautiful resort. The best part is the staff. Leonardo was excellent on the plant and animal tour and really worked us out during water aerobics. Everyone who works the lobby bar could not have been more accomodating,we went back every evening and felt like royalty while there.

Room Tip: Rooms with a patio are so nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I was staying at the Marriott ocean and golf resort with my boyfriend..
the hotel service was ok..
but do not book your tours through them,it was aweful service and very expensive..
and had to be done on their time..
we found Piko-tours
they were wonderful,40% cheaper and had exactly everything we were looking for.
if you stay there definetly get in touch with Pikotravel.com

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Address: 800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005 , Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Herradura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Herradura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized by Travel & Leisure magazine readers as one of the "World's Best," the Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort is a luxury Costa Rica resort hotel nestled between the warm waters of the Pacific and a 1,100 acre tropical rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean And Golf Resort
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Hotel Herradura
Marriott Los Suenos Ocean Hotel
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort Costa Rica/Herradura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.