We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable day of fishing............We will be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Rica Dreams Sportfishing

Costa Rica Dreams Sportfishing
Los Suenos Resort & Marina, Herradura, Costa Rica
011-506-2637-8516
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 19 Attractions in Herradura
Type: Water sports, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: COSTA RICA DREAMS SPORTFISHING is the 5 STAR, EXCLUSIVE charter company at the famous Los Sueños Resort and Marina near Jaco Beach. We are the largest owner/operator in Costa Rica offering fishing packages for fishing charters, condos and transportation. Fish aboard one of our first class fishing boats from 32' Mako's to 60' luxury yachts. We are NOT just a "booking agent".....we actually OWN the boats and the full time crews are our employees. All with first class customer service!
Sandy Springs, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Unbelievable day of fishing............We will be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Went out on the Los Suenos boat via Costa Rica Dreams. Could not have asked for a better experience and a better day. From the time we arrived, about 20 minutes early, the crew was ready. After grabbing a few pastries and coffee we were off to about 30 miles out. As soon as we got out to the fishing grounds, we spotted the sail of a sailfish out of the water and within 30 minutes of the spotting, we were reeling in our first sailfish of the day. We ended up with 7 for the day and the two of us were wiped out at the end. Many thanks to Captain Leandro and his mates Carlos and Saoul. They worked their tails off to get us fish and to keep us busy all day long. We will be back, most likely during a different fishing season since we can check off our sailfish goal.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa R, Owner at Costa Rica Dreams Sportfishing, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thanks Ron!! Great having you guys down. Those are some GREAT pictures you got! See ya next time for some Rooster and Cubera Snapper fishing maybe!! Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    1
    0
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Predator-marlin/sailfish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We spent two days (March 4 and 7, 2013) fishing with Predator and had one of the few Mariln (300#+) landed during this 2 week period, including the Billfish Tournament held at Los Suenos. Overall my wife and I landed 3 sailfish (also one not landed) and one marlin as well as multiple jacks/mutton snapper/cubera snapper/wahoo. We will definitely visit Los Suenos again and will fish with Costa Rica Dreams. The boat was stocked with beverages, snacks and warm food for a good lunch, but we had little time to eat- but we're not complaining! Cesar was our guide and is a local with excellent knowledge of the ocean and very good English skills. Our first mate Luis was exceptionally hard working, very efficient when crunch time came in landing a fish and even did a little "dance" to get the fish to bite! He was areal pleasure. We recommend them highly.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
1 review
“21 Sail Fish-3 days!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Wow! What a great trip we just had to Costa Rica, Los Suenos. Costa Rica Dreams did a fantastic job of making the trip better than we ever could have anticipated. Very professional and spot on. We had a diverse group of fishermen. Everyone caught multiple fish. The crew did a great job of being in the right place at the right time everyday, all day.

Lunch provided was very good and plenty of cold beer. The boat was always on time. Great crew. Our family travels extensively to different parts of the world. I would highly recommend Los Suenos and the Costa Rica Dreams Fishing group. 5 stars.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa R, Owner at Costa Rica Dreams Sportfishing, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Really appreciate it! I'm sure happy you guys did so well and had a great time. Hard not to down in this country!! Thanks for coming!

See ya soon I hope. Dave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominical, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“BEST FISHING TRIP EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Costa Rica Dreams is a first class organization from the time they take your reservation till the time you dock at the Los Suenos Marina after a great day of fishing. They take your food and drink order before you arrive and stock the coolers with plenty of beer, which is nice...The boat is very comfortable, equipped with a head and an air conditioned quarters perfect for sleeping off the previous night's hangover. The crew is very accommodating, entertaining and professional. They found the fish that we wanted to catch. First we hooked up multiple sail fish then once that got old we went after the mahi mahi, where we had two hooked up at the same time, on two occasions. I had never seen anything like it. The fish were filleted and ready to eat sushi style if you were up for it. Finally we arrived at the Marina and greeted with a nice after fishing cocktail and then carted back to our hotel. Thank you Costa Rica Dreams! We will be back!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa R, Owner at Costa Rica Dreams Sportfishing, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Sounds like a fun trip! Can I go! haha. Thanks much for that great review. How can you say it better than "BEST FISHING TRIP EVER"! We really appreciate your coming and that we were able to show you a great time full of memories! See ya next time. Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
“Costa Rica Dreams Sportfishing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent the day fishing with this outfit and it was awesome! We woke up a little late but they were still waiting for us with a golf cart to take us to the dock from our condo. They had juice and coffee waiting for us at the dock. We head out to the fishing grounds around 8.00 AM. Smooth ride while the deck hands prepped the bait tying sinkers to and gutting the large sardines. We start fishing and it is a little slow at first but then the fish showed up about an hour later. First bite and the deck hands start yelling. I am down in the cabin playing with the radio so I figured my friend could handle the first fish. After about a minute or so the deck hands start yelling for me. Wow the first of two double sailfish hook ups. I get on deck and grab the rod and the deck hands are directing my friend and I immediately. Stand here, reel, move there all the time not loosing focus. 15 minutes later both fish are at the boat and we were able to pull them over the rail for a photo opportunity before releasing them back into the water. When all was said and done we were able to land 10 out of 12 sailfish that got hooked. One of the fish we lost spit the bait and the other was our fault not reeling fast enough. I guess we were to tired. The boat crew worked their butts off too find the fish always scanning the water the entire day. In fact we gave them a 15 minute mark to wrap it up and head back to the dock and in the last two minutes they found a fish off the side of the boat and swung around and sure enough hooked him up for number 10. They did everything for us to make sure every fish got to the boat I mean they were running all day. I will definitely book with them on my next trip to Jaco!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa R, Owner at Costa Rica Dreams Sportfishing, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
John! Thanks so much. Glad you guys enjoyed the trip and hope to see you next time! Dave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costa Rica Dreams Sportfishing also viewed

Herradura, Province of Puntarenas
Herradura, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Los Suenos, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Costa Rica Dreams Sportfishing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Rica Dreams Sportfishing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.