We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stay in Easter Island!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mana Nui Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mana Nui Inn to your Saves list
Mana Nui Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Peterep Atamu, S/N | Tahai, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 100, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hanga Roa
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful stay in Easter Island!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

This place is a gem - located slightly outside of the small town of Hanga Roa (15 min walk), Mana Nui is located just based the cemetery with beautiful landscaping and views of the ocean from your window. We ended up taking the 1 bdrm / 1 bath cabana which was very private, spacious, clean and comfortable - all with a kitchen and wrap around porch!

We fell in love with the little kitty/gatita - Turi who was also happy to see us and with the view from our balcony. The breakfast was also great. Most resorts on Easter Island include airport pick-ups/drop-offs and we were even greeted with a fresh flower necklace.

The Island is stunning - we highly recommend renting 4 wheelers which are great for groups of 2 people to get around the island! We also booked an all day tour through our friends hotel (Hotel Vianny) and it was EXCELLENT - ask for Patricio, who is an excellent guide. full day tour (10 - 7 pm) for about US $60 and provides an excellent introduction to the island that prepares you to explore more yourself during the remaining days on the island.

Room Tip: Ask for the 1 bdrm / 1 bath private cabana
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    45
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
13
60
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Paty and your mother are very atencious. Good place, nice view, simple accomodation very clean. Near center.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

The grounds are really beautiful, we could watch the sunset over the ocean from our room.
Becki and Patricia are super nice, and so are the maids.

Being concerned with the environment, we loved the solar hot water system as well as the recycling bins. We understand that there are no sewage on the island and therefore that we couldn't throw the toilet paper in the toilet bowl but in a trash (although we felt annoyed for the maid who had to deal with it).

The room was large, receives lots of light, the terrace is great to enjoy the sunset.
Breakfast is nice, served in a room, already on the table. There's fresh guava juice, fruit salad, bread and jam. There's also ham, cheese, coffee and we had pineapple pie or eggs once.

On the downside, we found the bathroom to be outdated, the toilet seat was weird, the floor was dirty in the corners, the fridge was rusty but worked, the bed was not comfortable (too soft but of course, some might like it) and for people who want to watch TV, it's very old and small. We shouldn't "complain" about that because we are aware that it's a very isolated island. We also camp so it's not that we're fancy people. I believe it might be because we had come from another place where we couldn't stay the whole time and those things were the exact opposite.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Overall I really enjoyed my stay here. Peaceful location, away from the main town street meant it was fabulous for star gazing and listening to the sound of the ocean. Rooms were very big and each had a terrace and a private safe. The bd was very comfortable and the breakfast was ok, something different every day but plenty of fruit and fruit juice. The rooms aren't soundproof so you hear the dogs and the cockerels and anything else that is going on late into the night but I doubt anywhere here is any different.
I liked being away from the main strip and the walk home was fine (take a torch at night) although you do have to pass the cemetery but that itself is a sight to behold! It's also a great location for being able to quicky go and watch the sunset. I went most nights.
Sometimes it was hard to find any staff to help you out or ask questions but I guess that would be my only complaint. This magical island is small and easy enough to figure out on your own!

Good value for money given the cost of the other places on the island, nothing here is cheap!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Escaping from the unbearable, claustraphobic Kaimana Inn, we were relieved and impressed to find Mana Nui Inn, a gem. Comfortable, very clean, bright, great service, peaceful, private, the sound of the ocean, gentle breezes, GREAT location, and even a beautiful view from our porch! And all for less money than we were being charged at the dark, stifling dump we ran from. This inn delivers what it promises, something that I, as a travel consultant, really appreciate.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Patricia, the manager, was at the airport to meet & greet me and a group of 4 Spanish guys who were staying at the cabins. On arrival at Mana Nui Inn, we were given a "welcome drink" of fresh pawpaw juice which was so refreshing after the flight. From my cabin, I could hear the waves breaking on the shore, and from the balcony, I could see the moai at Tahai Complex - magical! First impressions of the accommodation - very homely island-style decor, very clean (floors smelled of bleach), wonderful tropical garden. There was a bar fridge in the room - a nice surprise! Location - easy walk to main street and restaurants, but if walking back at night, it helps if you have a torch. Breakfast was such a treat! In the 5 days I was there, the menu varied and there were bread rolls, fresh fruit juice, fresh fruit salad with a dollop of cream, a couple of slices of ham and cheese, home-made jam, pastry drizzled with caramel sauce - enough variety and a very tasty breakfast. The fresh food comes from organically grown fruit/veg/eggs from Patricia's family's farm. If I ever come back to Rapa Nui, I would stay here again without hesitation. The staff kept the rooms clean & the gardens tidy. My only negative point would be that the ensuite was small - it was fine for me, being of petite build, but may be an issue for others. However, the accommodation was good value considering prices of other properties on the island and its location in relation to the town centre.

One evening, I went to the Victor Ika cultural show and discovered Patricia's 2nd job, a beautiful dancer in the troupe! The dance & music are not to be missed - very energetic & entertaining. Another evening, Patricia invited guests for a BBQ and we all threw in some money into a kitty to buy steak, chicken, sausages, bread rolls & wine. Patricia made a few large dishes of salads and we had a huge meal. It was a lovely evening under the starry skies and we all enjoyed the BBQ, wine & socialising. Now, where else in the world would a hotel manager initiate this sort of spur of the moment function for guests?

Room Tip: Room next to communal kitchen is handy if you want to cook meals and eat on the balcony while the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Mana Nui, great service for a good price (we were a little shocked at Easter Island accommodation prices). The rooms were comfortable with good showers. The breakfast was really nice - fab juice.

We highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mana Nui Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Nui Inn

Address: Peterep Atamu, S/N | Tahai, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 100, Chile
Location: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hanga Roa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mana Nui Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with familiar environment near the Tahai area with ocean view. We have a complete kitchen to be use only for our guest with no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Mana Nui Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Nui Hotel Hanga Roa
Manu Nui Hotel
Mana Nui Inn Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mana Nui Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.