We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plan Your Visit to Easter Island Around Availability at this Charming Hideaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabanas Pikera Uri

Save Saved
You added Cabanas Pikera Uri to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cabanas Pikera Uri
Tahai, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 2770000, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Jersey City, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Plan Your Visit to Easter Island Around Availability at this Charming Hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

We enjoyed 11 wonderful nights at this peaceful hideaway in Easter Island. Pantu and his lovely wife Karin are the owners of Cabanas Pikera Uri or the “Casa de Pantu” as it is known on the Island. Our stay in the Cabanas felt more like a comfortable stay with family members than a hotel stay. Pantu and Karin warmly greet their guests each day and are always available to answer questions or arrange transportation or advise about activities. In concert with their kind and hard working staff, Pantu and Karin made us feel very welcome and relaxed.

This property has a great location. The cabanas sit on a large lot with a spectacular view overlooking the sea. Although the location is only a short 20 minute walk to the town center, at Casa de Pantu you will feel like you are at a special remote retreat. The tranquil, quiet, property location is perfect. You will be afforded soundless nights of sleep, unlike some of the other popular hotels we spotted along busy, high traffic streets. The property currently includes three cabanas divided into five rooms. One new cabana with two rooms was nearing completion at the time of our stay. The largest room can accommodate a family traveling with children. Rooms are large, comfortably appointed, and spotless. We enjoyed a gorgeous view of the sea and the garden/horse corral (only used in the mornings to prepare for horseback tours) from our window and from the outside covered deck. Everything on the property is hand crafted and proudly cared for and maintained. The property is across the road from the Museo and steps from moai and the best sunset viewing spot on the Island. The property is a quick ride to the airport – Pantu or Karin will transfer you from and to the airport at no additional cost.

Breakfast is served every morning in the sunny dining room. The entire meal is home made, tasty, and very satisfying. A nice variety of fruit, breads, natural juice, coffee, tea, and sweets are provided. Each day there was something different to compliment the staples such as homemade dulce de leche crepes (yummy) or meats & cheeses or eggs done just right. Most days we were entertained at breakfast by some of Pantu’s beautiful horses prancing into the central corral during the morning roundup.

The friendly atmosphere of this property appears to be attracting some very fascinating travelers. The cozy breakfast room layout creates wonderful opportunities to chat with your follow travelers at breakfast. Cleverly designed outdoor spaces invite you to mingle with fellow guests or enjoy a moment of solemn privacy, if you prefer.

Another bonus to staying at Casa de Pantu is access to one of the best horseback riding services on the Island. Pantu has a huge herd of well cared for horses. Horses are thoughtfully paired with riders of all skill levels. Rides can be as short as 2 hours or as long as 2 days (weather permitting). Our horseback riding adventure was fun! Our guide was patient and knowledgeable. I had basically no horseback riding skills, but our guide was able to make me feel comfortable with the horse and learn some basic horsemanship. He spoke excellent English and was able to share very interesting information about the trail and the sites we explored. The trail was gorgeous and tranquil winding through a large area of the Island that is inaccessible by vehicular traffic.

Staying with a local family was a very special experience. We feel this has been a wonderful opportunity to experience first hand the beauty and the hospitality of the Rapa Nui people. Easter Island is a delicate environment worthy of preservation, as is the Rapa Nui culture and society. We encourage you to choose sustainable travel. Support locally run businesses, like Cabanas Pikera Uri, and ensure that your money is going directly into the hands of the Rapa Nui people. A stay at Pikera Uri is an authentic experience. Mega resorts do not belong on this Island despite their claims of being green!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    13
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
24
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

First, a grain of salt. There are two kinds of places to stay on Rapa Nui (Easter Island.) There's the $1,000/night Explora, and then a bunch of tiny little hotels/hostels/homestays. This is one of the latter.
Our cabin -- actually a duplex -- was simple but pretty clean. We saw a huge cockroach one night, but it probably came in the window, since we didn't see any of his friends the rest of the time we were there.
The windows don't have screens, as is typical in Rapa Nui. That means we had another friend -- a cat that marched in whenever he felt like it. He probably lived there, as he was a friendly purring machine. We named him "gato suave" and let him sleep on the floor as long as he liked. (Resistance would have been totally futile.)
The location was maybe a ten-minute walk from down down a dirt path. Yeah, it was a walk at night, but it meant you were far away from honking cars -- and it sure looked nicer than a lot of other places to say. We could see the ocean, and one day a rainbow, from our window. Bring a headlamp or flashlight for the walk at night; it's dark.
The owner, Pantu, was very nice. (Everybody on the island calls the place "La casa de Pantu.") He didn't speak much English, but was very patient with our bad Spanish.
His wife cooks the tasty breakfasts.
A word of advice: if Pantu quotes you a price in USD, then bring USD with you. We planned to pay by credit card, and then found out that he only takes cash. So we headed to the island's one ATM, which was broken. A frantic trip to the bank right before our flight yielded pesos. But when we went to pay, the rate he quoted in pesos was considerably higher than in dollars.
I don't think this was malicious -- it seemed more that Pantu and his wife don't keep up with the fluctuations in exchange rates. But we would have saved about $50 over our four-night stay if we had paid in U.S. currency.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

We stayed here with our 2 children aged 3 and 6 and had a wonderful time. We all slept very well as it was so quiet. The cabana had plenty of room and was very clean. Breakfast was very nice, sth extra every day and the kids loved Pantu's horses and the avocado tree!! Pantu also runs horsetours on the island. The view from the properties garden is amazing and you can easily walk to the museum and the village.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2008

After spending a fabulous week in a hotel on the island we wanted to experience a homestay/bed and breakfast a little way out of town - very close to the ocean, museum and Pantu maintains a lovely property. The rooms are authentic, breakfast yummy (they even saved us some when we told them we wanted to go to church on a Sunday).
Pantu and his wife were friendly hosts and made our last couple of days on the island memorable. We would recommend staying here to be closer to the maoi's which are fabulous for photographing at sunrise and sunset and yet only 15 minutes to walk to some of the great restaurants in the evening.

  • Liked — An authentic Chilean feel very near to some of the most stunning maoi - beautiful light
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Ligure
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

It was the perfect stay in Easter Island.
Calm, directly to Tahai site, museum and beautiful coast.
Pantu and Karen are the perfect people you ever expected!
You feel family, great breakfast, Lola is precious.
The rooms are clean, spacious, ocean wiew.
Thanks again Pantu & Karen, I have to come back!

  • Liked — all
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wr. Neudorf, Austria, Europe
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2008

Perfect spot for some quiet days outside Hanga Roa; about 20 min walk to town center, located near the museum and about 5 min away from a spectactular sunset scene with Moai - for your perfect vacation pictures.
Rooms are large, very clean and quiet; horseback riding is available and a lot of fun, too, with excellent guides who know both their job and the places to go to.
The owners are a lovely couple, very nice, friendly, helpful and flexible - we felt very welcome, and if we ever go back to Rapa Nui, we will surely go back to Karin and Pantu!
Thank you very much - muchas gracias - iorana!

Susan & Siegfried, Austria

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2008

I stayed here for a few nights in January 2008. The owner Pantu is very nice and will take you to and from the airport. The cabanas have hot showers, are impeccably clean and situated near the horse stables. One day one of them even popped its head inside my cabana window! The ambience can be characterized as rustic and quiet.

One highlight to its out-of-town location is that it’s very close to the best sunset spot on the island. It’s about a 3 minute walk to see the moai statues that everyone flocks to at dusk to view the spectacular sundown.

The main drawback to the place is its location. While some sites advertise that it’s “in walking distance” to town, it’s actually a 25 minute hike through some slightly rocky terrain which can also get very hot in the midday heat. Also, there’s nowhere around the place to eat or drink at night. I would have preferred a location closer to town for these reasons, especially at night when you need a flashlight to navigate into town. Another downside is the mediocre breakfast which consists of juice, a stale biscuit and a few slices of lunchmeat. However, for the budget price you pay, this is to be expected. It helps to speak some Spanish too if you want to clearly communicate with the owners.

If you’re traveling solo like I was, it gets a bit lonely at night with nothing around. In retrospect, I would’ve spent a few extra dollars to enjoy Hotel Taur’aa which some other travelers were raving about for its amazing buffet breakfasts and Honga Roa location. However, if you’re looking to save some cash and stay at a quiet, clean place with hot showers, look no further than Pikera Uri.

  • Liked — The price and cleanliness
  • Disliked — The far distance from town
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cabanas Pikera Uri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Pikera Uri

Address: Tahai, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 2770000, Chile
Location: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 Specialty lodging in Hanga Roa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a stone’s throw away from some of Rapa Nui’s magical stone Moai, Cabañas Pikera Uri overlooks the pacific ocean with a splendor you have to see to believe. Perfect for either a romantic getaway or a family vacation, this residence offers a tranquil and serene setting to start and end your day. Adding to the experience, breakfast is served as a family gathering with owners Pantu and Karin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Cabanas Pikera Uri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Pikera Uri Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabanas Pikera Uri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.