We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient hotel with amazing staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taura'a Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Taura'a Hotel to your Saves list
Taura'a Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Atamu Tekena s/n, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 2770000, Chile   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Hanga Roa
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient hotel with amazing staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The staff - namely Edith - was exceptionally involved in making our trip one to remember. She helped us with all inquiries and went above and beyond to ensure we had a wonderful stay. She gave us the tips and suggestions we needed and arranged our tours and activities. The ambiance was one of relaxation, and the food was delicious and healthy.
The hotel is conveniently located in Hanga Roa, a walking distance from the seaside restaurants and dive shops.
The rooms are simple and comfortable, and appear new. Anyone traveling to Easter Island should expect to hear roosters and dogs, and to experience a slow Internet connection. These do not affect the hotel's quality and personal touch.
We were very happy with our stay and would gladly return to Taura'a.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
editheasterisland, Propietario at Taura'a Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Iorana Thank you for your comments, all our staff work very hard to make sure your stay in rapanui is wonderfull, the staff also enjoy sharing the culture of the island with the guest.
mauruuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    69
    23
    11
    7
See reviews for
52
131
54
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Having just left the hotel there's not much else nice I can say that hasn't already been said. The hotel pickup and drop off went smoothly. The grounds were appropriately tropical. My room, while basic, was very clean and functional. (no lizards, no bugs) The bed was comfortable. The linen was in good shape. The mini fridge stayed cool. Hot water and water pressure were plentiful. The served breakfast was very good, which included an entire, fresh, French baguette and their breakfast black tea had just a hint of fresh lemongrass. (It was the owners secret ingredient) I didn't get the chance to use their in-house tour guides because I had booked with Green Island Tours several months earlier. (What a great day we had) The hotel guides seemed nice from the conversations I overheard while eating breakfast. The room rates must have changed since my original booking, but the owner took me at my word when I questioned the bill. (I had the email) She was gracious and redid my bill without any issues.
I forgot to tell them that fan in room two was making an annoying tap tap tapping noise the first night, then a constant grinding noise the second night. Luckily it was cool enough both nights that I didn't need the fan, otherwise I would have had to change rooms. Only one suggestion for improvement, soft soled shoes for the Edith, the owner. The clomp clomp clomping of her shoes on the tile floors..., well you get the idea. (Sorry Edith)
If asked, I definitely would suggest this hotel to friends and strangers.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
editheasterisland, Propietario at Taura'a Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Iorana
Thnak you for your comments, you are right the hotel is not a 5 star but it is comfortable , clean and very well locate , we try to give our guest 5 star service, anythings mecanic on the islanf has a very short life and we are due to replace the fans yet again with night time temperature of 20 degress celsius are very comfortable.
mauruuru,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I was distressed to read the Moscow review since we stayed here three years ago and it was absolutely wonderful. No, it is not fancy but for our family of four it was perfect. Great location and wonderful owners. We stayed four days and were very glad we did since it gave us much more opportunity to go for walks, go to church, and meet so many fine people. This hotel was a wonderful base.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
editheasterisland, Propietario at Taura'a Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Iorana
Thank you for your comments, and answering the moscu comments, as you will know it is not possible to please all the people all the time, We think Mr. Moscu was on the wrong island due to lack of research as the island did not live up to his expectation.It is wonderfull you are still reading the comments after 3 years. honestly rapanui did live up your expectation.
mauruuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We booked this hotel based on reviews and price. If you want amazing service, convenient location and a great place to stay the Taura Hotel should be your choice. Bill and Edith (taura owners) along with our tour guide, Larry made the trip perfect. I would suggest getting in touch with Edith and tell her what you would like to do and let them take it from there. You will have zero problems and definitely let them arrange your tours. Larry was our guide and he could not have been better. Not a bad thing to say about anything from the minute we arrived until the minute we left. Thanks again Bill, Edith and Larry.

Brian Efird.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs just in case of barking dog and/or chickens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
editheasterisland, Propietario at Taura'a Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Iorana,
Thank you for your generous comments, we do work hard to make sure your stay on the island live up to your expectation. For many people it is a destination they have dream about for many years and it is very important we do our best to make sure you enjoy rapanui.
mauruuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is hardly a hotel but an amazing Bed & Breakfast. If you are looking for shiny room, amenities and someone to be on your disposal 24/7 - look elsewhere. I heard there was a 5 star property at $1500 per person, a night.

What you will find at Taura'a is very personal service from the owners, basic but clean rooms, great central location in Hanga Roa. No TV but if you are there for CNN..., WIFI was slow but this could be expected on this remote location. They are improving it by installing new equipment, a dish and so on. Still, it was enough for a quick skype call or basic browsing, forget heavy duty video streams and etc. Breakfast was basic but sufficient. For the price paid, I found this B&B great value for money.

Now, the absolute highlight of our 4 days and nights there was the full day tour with Bill. He is one amazing ozzie and the tour he provided for us was totally amazing. Edith, his wife was very friendly. We had tours with other local guides but Bill was totally of the world. So much great info and great humor. Absolutely amazing day. This almost sounds like I am not reviewing a property but a person. If you book this property, make sure to arrange your tours with Bill or Larry.

Would I recommend this place? For sure!

Location, value for money, BILL!

Room Tip: All rooms were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
editheasterisland, Propietario at Taura'a Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you very much for chosing Tauraa for your stay on Easter Island, we apreciate your comments, we accepts we are not 5 star hotel , but we try to service our guest needs to the best of our ability.
The internet is slow on the island and we have upgrade the equipment as far is posible, but we still recomend you used it in the morning.
We are very pleased you have enjoy your tours with Bill.
mauruuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We just got back from our incredible trip to Easter Island -- the remotest place on Earth. And the TAURA HOTEL (with owners Bill and Edith) had a lot to do with the fact that our trip was “Incredible”. Prior to arriving, I was in contact with Edith via email to set everything up beforehand (pick-up/dropping off transportation for airport –which they included with the room price, room bed types, dates and tours for the island). We had 2 rooms for our party of 4 and Edith/Bill arranged for us to be right next to each other where we had a small shared patio so that we could hang out, talk and relax together. Breakfast was delicious and varied each morning (summary: omelets one day, crepes another day, plentiful fresh rolls with butter & jams, fresh fruit, coffee, tea, fruit smoothies) and they changed their menu for us to accommodate our eating habits (no sugar for one of us and vegetarian for another). They went out of their way to allow us to change our tours to accommodate our needs and desires and even helped us get better seats on the LAN flight out from Easter Island. Just wanted to say per another review, showers are small but….. Taura Hotels showers were actually larger than what we had in Santiago (so it’s all relative). Wi-Fi worked in the rooms depending on where you were located (i.e. better closer to the window and not as good in a corner), but again, this is the remotest place on Earth! There was a small mini-mart as well as a tasty bakery across the street. Plentiful restaurants and shopping stores walking distance, too. Very centrally located. Our tours that we had with Bill (1/ 2 day tour) and Larry (full day tour and half day tour) were excellent, quite complete and very informative. Very good for English speakers (when we were out I could hear other tour guides talking and their English was not as easy to understand). I do wish I had read the book Collapse by Jared Diamond prior to coming or some other similar book, but otherwise, would not change a thing for our trip to Easter Island. In all, a WONDERFUL trip!! Thank you Taura Hotel, Bill, Edith and Larry for an excellent, warm, fantastic, and memorable once in a lifetime trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
editheasterisland, Propietario at Taura'a Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for chosing Tauraa, it is our policy to acomodate our guest needs and to make sure they get the best oportunity to apreciate this wondefull island and it people.
Once agin mauruuru for your positive comments on the hotel,tours and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The property itself is very nice. The owners are incredibly friendly and will even, as a courtesy, offer to drives us from and to the airport, which is about a 5-7 minute drive. The rooms are nice and spacious - I stayed in a three bed apartment - and they are equipped with a fan, which is rather necessary. Bathrooms are simple - in the sense - that they are quite small. Breakfast was delicious: the juices and omelets made by the owners literally made my day.
However, when you go to the Easter Island you need to remind yourself that you should not expect in any way a 5* hotel, or even a 2* motel for most of America standards. Yes... the owners were nice and treated us with respect, however Easter Island still lags behind the rest of the world when it comes to communication. The wi-fi internet connection in the room was bad in a good day - I could not load my gmail account or Facebook for that matter. Trying to access my college's website was literally impossible and watching Youtube is something that I could only dream of. Also, no TV in the room... which in my case took some getting used to.
All in all, is a nice place to stay - specially compared to the rest of the Easter Island hotels... but do not go there with high expectations. It is a simple family hotel. Also, one advice -- do not say long in the island, you will run out of stuff to do after the 2nd day,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
editheasterisland, Propietario at Taura'a Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Iorana
Thank you for your comments, it is necessary to do some research on your destination specially when you are coming to a place as isolated and unique as Easter island, internet access is painfully slow, and there is not satelite TV coverage on the island.
We have 2 channel 1 in spanish and a local channel in rapanui.
We are having the latest wireless system conected to the hotel .

mauruuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taura'a Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taura'a Hotel

Address: Atamu Tekena s/n, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 2770000, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Hanga Roa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Taura'a Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tauraa Hotel, is locate in the center of town, run by rapanui family, we specialice in english speaking guest and also our staff speak french and spanish, the rooms are large,comfortable with private bathrooms,has a fridge,cieling fans,hair dryer,safe beach towel and coffee making facilities in rooms. Close to all amenities and just a short walking to Pea Beach and Tahai the most complete archaeological sites in town, also free wifi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Taura'a Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tauraa Hotel Hanga Roa
Taura'a Hotel Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taura'a Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.