We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and Local” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hare Noi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hare Noi to your Saves list
Hare Noi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave Hotu Matua, Hanga Roa, Easter Island, Chile   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hanga Roa
Peace River, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fresh and Local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Hare Noi for a few days this past July, and had a fabulous time!

The staff are very welcoming, and the philosophy of the hotel is to bring people together. It is set up in 3 or 4 separate units, each of which (I assume) has a common living and dining area and kitchen, with private bedrooms (with bathrooms) going off of that. The decor is a beautiful rustic modern -- concrete floors and white walls, vaulted ceilings and whole eucalyptus trunks. The units are joined by decks and boardwalks, comfortable and funky patio furniture scattered amiably throughout. Fruit trees on the grounds provide fresh local produce, and the on-site restaurant carries on with the theme of fresh and local -- fresh-caught tuna, locally grown sweet potatoes, fish and fruits I'd never even heard of -- it was fabulous!

While we were there, the Hare Noi hosted a wine tasting of Miguel Torres (Chilean) wines. It was free to guests, the wine flowed freely, and music was provided by local musicians! It was a great way to spend an evening after a day of scrambling on volcanoes and beaches, and climbing in and out of caves.

I highly, HIGHLY recommend the Hare Noi!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
22
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

From the arrival to departure the experience was excellent - the only bug in the ointment may have been the hot coals dinner which was a bit bland. Otherwise the hotel team made an effort to make the stay as homely as possible; breakfasts bought to the patio each morning, an early breakfast for a dawn trip to see sun rise over the moai and friendliness throughout.

Room Tip: Look for the rooms higher up in the property - the hotel is spread over a large area and those rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

wow. this is a resort with rooms in homes( loving room, kitchen). we counted three separate " homes" and there appeared to be one suite all to itself on the hill. there are only nine rooms total so service is personal. privacy was never a problem. breakfast can be served at your "home" or the restaurnt few steps away.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Everything about Hare Noi is outstanding! The staff, the hotel, the rooms, the individualized service...We stayed for three days and had planned to try restaurants in Hanga Roa that had been recommended to us, but ended up eating every meal at the Hare Noi restaurant because they accommodated for food allergies - and the food is REALLY GOOD. The tuna is the best we have ever eaten. Anywhere. They also organized a day tour (with a lunch basket) for us, and the guide, Mario, gave us a comprehensive insight into the Rapa Noi culture - an unforgettable memorable day.
It was a bit of a hike (30 minutes) along the main road to Hanga Roa from the hotel, so I would recommend renting bicycles or a car.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stay at Hare Noi for 12 days. My daughter love it. The experience we had there was amazing. Joanna is the GM. She and her team at Hare Noi, made sure to keep you happy and comfortable since the moment you arrived at the airport. Rooms at each "hare" (house) are fantastic, no matter in which hare you end up. Your service and stay will be outstanding.
I do believe, that most people will agree that hotel foods are not the best...But at Hare Noi Restaurant, FOOD ARE GREAT! my daughter and son love their bacon in the morning. Hare Noi is a Must Stay for you and family.
Rest assured, that your stay will be AWSOME and FUN.
Thanks Jo, Anita, Conni, Victor, Gonzalo, Carmen, Seba, Gigi, Carito y a todo el personal...For a Fun Time! Carmen and John had a good time.
Saludos al Cazuelo...The Hotel Pet.

Room Tip: All rooms are great! Jo, GM will make sure you are place in the right room. Specially with family of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

What a delightful experience at the Hare Noi...I stayed for 4 days/3 nights, and wish I could have had a longer stay. The staff are professional and friendly. They went out of their way to make me feel special.
- There are 9 rooms/casitas, each offering privacy from the others. Each room has modern amenities, built out with a cozy island feel - earthy colors, multiple balconies, and magnificent views. The exterior is build to fit into the landscape.
- The Hare Noi is also eco-friendly, using solar power to heat the water and provide some electricity.
- The team grows some of its own organic produce (the arugula is incredible), as well as offering many local specialties, such as purple sweet potatoes and miniature pineapples.
- Each day the chef expertly prepared locally-caught fish. One day, I had the pleasure of joining them for the fish cleaning at the ocean, where we had an impromptu meal of sashimi. I will never forget this once in a lifetime experience!
- The hotel offers spa treatments; I enjoyed several and would recommend this to anyone traveling to Easter Island.
- The hotel also connected me with a local guide (Mattea) who showed me the entire island, provided an excellent history of the Moai, Birdman, and other island history. He is at the top my recommendation list for Easter Island tour guides.

I have traveled all my life and have stayed in many resorts and spa hotels. This hotel experience is in my top 5, and will remain there forever. Joanna, thank you and your team for the beautiful memories. I plan to come back again...all the way from Austin Texas.

Room Tip: All rooms are delightful...choose based on the number of people in your group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nigths (3 - 6 July 2013) and very much enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Everything is made very personal, from the moment you walk in till you leave for the airport.
Rooms are fantastic, up a little hill close to the airport. Rest assured, as there is only one flight a day, there is no noise from the airport. It is even an attraction to see the plane land or take off, knowing that this is about the only link to civilisation, far away.
We had room #5, but all rooms up the (little) hill have the same view. The first day, we sat on our terrace with the lovely welcome drink and watched the sunset over the ocean. After that, we gazed at the stars in the sky.
The restaurant is in the middle of the whole area and nicely architected. Meals are prepared to your order, in fact the chef is working right in front of you, could not be more personal. With the open fireplace on, this is a nice setting.
Every morning, a fresh breakfast - made to your order, do not forget to fill in the sheet at the restaurant - is delivered to the living area of your room, which is shared with other guests. As there were no other guests in the other room during our stay, we had the whole house for ourselves.
We really enjoyed our morning coffee talks with Joanna, who manages the hotel perfectly. Although we were well prepared, she gave a lot of extra tips on where and when to go, correct sunrise / sunset locations and timings, what restaurants to visit, local culture, etc, This made our visit even more worthwhile and personalized.
There are tours around, but we recommend renting a car and drive around yourselves. The car was delivered to the little parking area next to our room. The agency also picked up the car in the hotel, could not have been more practical and convenient.
We know there are a few other 5-star hotels on the tiny island, but the personal experience made this a perfect choice for us. As such, we can truly recommend this hotel.
Also our best regards to Joanna and the whole team for making us feel and treat as the Kings of the Island. Please keep up the good work and hopefully you now remember the Belgians as we remember you!

Room Tip: A room up the hill gives the best view on the ocean (and sunset)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hare Noi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hare Noi

Address: Ave Hotu Matua, Hanga Roa, Easter Island, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hanga Roa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hare Noi 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hare Noi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hare Noi Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hare Noi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.