We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Puku Vai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Puku Vai to your Saves list
Hotel Puku Vai
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hotu Matua s/n, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 2770000, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hanga Roa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
England
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Just right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend this family run hotel with its very helpful and friendly team. We overslept one day and missed the breakfast deadline, however the kitchen conjured up an excellent breakfast for us despite the time. Rooms were good, with excellent air con and bathrooms, perhaps a little gloomy though with poor bedside lights. The hotel is in a quiet area, an easy 10 min walk to the airport and the wonderful Japanese restaurant Kotaro. Many good restaurants 30 mins walk away. We hired a small 4 x 4 and found driving here easy and stress free. A great place for independent travellers.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarkko S, Manager at Hotel Puku Vai, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate your words!

Hotel Puku Vai is a locally owned hotel, administrated and managed by a family. We believe it adds a nice touch when you might get to know the owner and manager in person. However, we run our business professionally and maintain the distance unless encouraged otherwise by our guests.

We're efficient both on-line and on-site, easy to approach and always engaged. Our specialty are tour programs provided by Kia Koe Tour - available as guided tours with a group or private tours only for you - always with a professional, native guide.

We appreciate your comments regarding illumination and certainly take them into consideration when we make changes (possibly later this year). Last year we already renewed illumination in bathrooms and passageways and we're now more energy-efficient due to led based technology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    49
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
69
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Hoathly, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Hotel Puku Vai is nice and modern, and we enjoyed the space in the room/bathroom with a sitting area with patio door onto the gardens and pool area. Jakob and his staff were excellent (and many thanks to whoever found the credit card I had mistakenly left in the safe). Eggs for breakfast were lovely. The drawback was the distance to the restaurants in Hanga Roa and the coast. We walked the first night, but it is quite a long walk and warm, and there are loose dogs everywhere (not threatening, but even so). We used taxis after that. However the excellent restaurant Tataku Vave sent a taxi to pick us up and paid the bill one way. It is only 3 minutes from the airport, but there is no problem with noise.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarkko S, Manager at Hotel Puku Vai, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for writing nice things about us!

Our tropical garden with a pool is a perfect option for you to relax after you've visited archaeological sites with your guide.

Unless you prefer to rest in our spacious rooms including air conditioning (provided by only a few hotels of the island), you might rest using free Wi-Fi internet on the poolside (that is available in your room, as well).

Hanga Roa itself is a small countryside town with dogs and roosters around every corner.

Thanks to our location, you might find your stay with us more peaceful than in case of most decent options of the island.

We're an easy walk from the restaurants and attractions of Hanga Roa but, if you prefer, a few minutes taxi ride might be more comfortable when the day is hot and humid. Taxi inside Hanga Roa has a fixed price, making it the most reasonable option to move around in town.

However, a good tip for anyone visiting the island and followed by dogs is that they're just begging for food: use your voice and make a gesture and you'll get rid of them for good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The hotel is near the airport and so it's quite a walk into town. On the other hand, Kotaro, the highly-rated Japanese restaurant, is within easy walking distance as is the solitary moai at Huri A Urenga. We spent our last sunny morning walking to this lovely atmospheric site which was devoid of tourists - highly recommended.

Very good breakfast, different choices every morning.

Comfortable room, spacious bathroom, good air conditioning and reasonable wifi. The manager and his young family are a delight - we wish them well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarkko S, Manager at Hotel Puku Vai, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for your time to write nice things about us!

Hotel Puku Vai really is a family-bysiness, even we run it professionally and, thus, you might not be aware of the fact.

Our location might turn out to be very practical if you do tours (or if hiking/biking is your thing) since you can head straight exploring the island.

Generally, there's only 1 daily flight after midday (and another daytime flight during the high season) so you shouldn't be able to hear any airport noises.

Unless you prefer walking, you might just take a taxi since the price is fixed in Hanga Roa (only CLP 2.000.-) excluding airport (that has airport extra).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

A excellent base for exploring this incredible place from the comfortable rooms to the variety at the buffet breakfast to the helpful staff especially in recommending local restaurants to the free and quick internet access (not common in many places south of the equator). Close to the town so you can easily walk to some of the sites as well as the restaurants, etc., but far enough out to give peace and quiet also.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarkko S, Manager at Hotel Puku Vai, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your review!

Your review nicely sums up the most important points and we're happy to hear you appreciated both our services and location.

Even it might not be obvious when checking us on internet, the location is really convenient whenever you're ready to explore the island with a guide or, alternatively, rent a bike or do some trekking.

Additionally, you will not hear any nightlife but you're still close enough to participate, if you prefer.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

My friend and I stayed at Puka Vai Hotel for three nights and found it to be a very well balanced hotel in terms of high quality accommodation and location. The hotel is located within walking distance from the airport (it took us about 10-15 mins walk). It would be a very short cab ride if you had lots of luggage. While the location is close to the airport we never had any issues with noise as there is only one flight a day which usually came in while we were out exploring the island. The island has lots of dogs and roosters so it’s not uncommon to hear some animals making noise but regardless it’s part of the island’s charm. The location in general is very peaceful compared to other locations on the island though.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful. My Spanish is pretty bad but upon check in we were greeted by the hotel manager (who spoke very good English) gave us a glass of freshly squeezed juice and was able to answer all our questions about the island tours, hiring a car and other miscellaneous questions we posed. He explained no car rental agency offers any kind of car insurance and pointed us to the better agencies on the island. We came back at a later time to ask about walking to the hire car outlet (walk to town from the hotel is about 15-20 mins) but the manager rang them and they came and picked us up at no charge to take us to the outlet directly. I thought that was a pretty good bonus. The price of taxis are pretty cheap and if you stick to the legitimate island taxi service it was a flat rate between hotel and the town centre. The manager went out of his way to help us at all times which was really refreshing and very thoughtful.

The room were very spacious and also had a bar fridge, room safe, air-conditioning, tv and free wi-fi. The internet was impressive for an island out in the middle of the ocean. I imagine it was satellite internet. The room was very clean and the shower had plenty of hot water. The beds were very comfortable and rooms were cleaned daily. All of the hotel’s features are modern and there was also an outdoor pool! It was great coming back from a long hot day exploring the island and being able to unwind in the pool. I doubt many of the hotels on the island have all these features and modern air-conditioning is a big plus for Puka Vai.

The breakfast buffet had a lot of variety and had plenty of fresh fruit, bread, cereals, juices, coffee etc The staff would also offer to make omelettes when we wanted something extra. There was a hotel bar which is open most of the day/evening for any drinks and you could also dine at the hotel restaurant but you needed to give the chef/staff at least one day of advance warning which was pretty reasonable request given the staffing requirements etc.

The hotel is very competitively priced compared to other hotels on the island and I would certainly recommend it if you plan to visit Easter Island and want a safe, clean and reliable hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarkko S, Manager at Hotel Puku Vai, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your impressive review!

It's a very good point that we have Air Conditioning. You really appreciate it when you'll get back after a long day you've spent exploring Easter Island. Naturally, you might refresh yourself in the pool, as well.

We're one of the few properties on Easter Island that has Air Conditioning and Free WiFi internet in all rooms.

In general, our hotel is fairly above most hotels of Easter Island.

Additionally, our hotel is priced very reasonably when compared to any other similar property on Easter Island. The main reason is that we've specialized in tours on Easter Island.

Our services include all tours by Kia Koe Tour (with group or private) that you might book in advance (recommended option) or, depending the availability, at the hotel.

We'll also assist you with anything you need at the hotel. That includes organizing rental vehicles, horseback riding, shows, restaurants and so on - and everyone you'll meet at the reception will speak English.

There were plenty of details in your email and we'll keep an eye on peculiarities of the island and, thus, give practical advices whenever you'll need them.

By the way, all telecommunications of the island are satellite based connections so internet speed is not what you get in cities.

All the best for your future endeavours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berthoud, Colorado
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Beautiful property - exquisitely maintained - spotless and tasteful. Pool area tropical, clean and inviting. Great breakfast each morning - freshly cooked eggs, fruit fresh from their own pineapple, mango and papaya plants, cheese, meat, bread, cereal and coffee. Jarkko (Finish hotel manager) is fantastic - goes out of his way to meet your needs, ensure your trip is going well and that the hotel is doing everything possible to make your stay on Rapa Nui memorable and fun. Some tips: Hotel is about 20 minute walk to the main part of town - or a $4 cab ride - so considering your overall trip expense - it is a non-issue. Also, for $30 you can do a round trip cab ride from the hotel to one of the worlds most beautiful beaches (Anakena) - about a 20 minute ride - and you DON'T PAY anything until you are safely dropped back off at the hotel (ensures you get picked up at the beach). Tours are worth it if this is your first trip. This hotel is a great base!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarkko S, Manager at Hotel Puku Vai, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your practical review John, we appreciate your words!

Tours by Kia Koe Tour are a great way to visit the archaeological sites of Easter Island - you can be sure that you won't miss anything important.

Additionally, the experience with a guide can be much more rewarding than just driving around with a guidebook.

Taxis in Hanga Roa are an easy way of moving around since there's no public transportation. The price is fixed so when you just remember to make sure the price before hopping in, you're fine.

There's airport extra (from and to airport) but otherwise, the price is good. Anyway, if you book your stay with tours, Kia Koe Tour will be receiving you at the airport with a collar of flowers and tour program.

However, taking a taxi outside Hanga Roa is a bit more complicated and if you're not careful, it might turn out to be very expensive, as well.

Personally, I always make sure to confirm the price before we'll order a taxi outside of Hanga Roa. Then I hand you a small note including the service details and total cost. In case your taxi driver tries to charge you more than agreed, you'll just show the note.

In case of Anakena, the main beach, there's no mobile network meaning that you cannot call from the beach. You just tell your taxi driver the time when he/she has to come to get you back. Like you wrote, we advise that you do not pay anything before you're back.

All the best for you and your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sf,ca
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We loved our stay here. Room was large and bed was comfortable. Had plenty of outlets for all the modern technology for two travelers. Internet was free though slow as to be expected on Easter island. Breakfast was great. Management couldn't be more helpful with arranging tours recommending restaurants etc. Several people mentioned the distance from town; we actually enjoyed the pleasant 20-30 min walk back from town after dinner. (And if you don't a cab is only $4USD). Highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarkko S, Manager at Hotel Puku Vai, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate it!

We offer all Tours by Kia Koe Tour without extra cost. That's what makes us special.

The most popular options are available as Complete Programs. You might prefer Guided Tours (with a group) or Private Tours (only for you). Please, check the offers and prices for 2014 on our website.

We recommend booking tours in advance since there's only a limited availability during weekends, national holidays and high season (including vacation periods in the middle of June and September).

We have a Free WiFi internet in your room, poolside area, lobby, bar and restaurant.

Naturally, internet is not as fast than in cities (there's no sea cables connecting Easter Island to continental Chile). That makes even calling quite challenging (sometimes all lines are occupied), some tv channels might not be broadcasted (there's only 3 national and 1 local channel, anyway) etc.

However, we provide the best there is and, at least you can get connected with your family and friends, check news and use email etc. while you're visiting the most isolated location permanently inhabited on Earth!

All the best for your future adventures!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Puku Vai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puku Vai

Address: Hotu Matua s/n, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 2770000, Chile
Location: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hanga Roa
#4 Family Hotel in Hanga Roa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Puku Vai 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Puku Vai invites you to explore the mysteries of Easter Island and enjoy the harmony of nature. Our services include Accommodation, Airport Transfer, Tours and Complete Programs. We offer Superior level rooms with all the modern comforts - including Air Conditioning and Free Wi-Fi Internet - a peaceful location close to the main attractions of Hanga Roa, and a pool surrounded by a garden full of tropical flowers and plants. Our Service Provider is Kia Koe Tour, the first and leading Tour Operator on Easter Island, founded 1984. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Puku Vai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Puku Vai Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Puku Vai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.