We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot on Hanga Roa's sea front for lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Te Moana

Te Moana
Atamu Tekena Road, Hanga Roa, Easter Island, Chile
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 35 Restaurants in Hanga Roa
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Caracas, Venezuela
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely spot on Hanga Roa's sea front for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Good sea front location. We liked the mixed passionfruit & guava juice. The kana kana (local fish) in coconut & pineapple sauce was very tasty - although could have lived without the mound of mashed potato served with it... Shrimps in garlic were delicious. Relaxed fun atmosphere and quite busy. Reasonable prices, service a little slow but friendly

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    118
    28
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great view but ....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The restourant is beautiful decorated and the location is fabulous but they don't quite have it with the food, ordered the meat to get away from the fish but could not regreat it moré. My husband had the raviole ( terrible ) not fresh :( would not recommend this place ) much better going next door.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
472 reviews 472 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Wish i found this first”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This was my other restauran i visited and wish i had visited first, i had steak "perfect" with sea food which was mussels prawn in a cream sauce plus 3 crab claws and this was on smashed pototos Rapa Nui still and the staff where realy good would recommend

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Super view and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

A great presentation for my first experience with Ceviche. This dish also was presented with three large tempura prawns and rice. Two pisco sours (or was it a glass of that wonderful Chilean wine?) rounded out the meal. I ate there twice. The view was wonderful. There was a raging storm outside and the restaurant was pretty much right on the shoreline but I just relaxed and enjoyed it. Service is unhurried. The facilities are clean and well appointed. Got a little discount from my hotel the Taura'a. Had an awesome volcano dessert with chocolate cake/brownie and a dollop of ice cream in the middle. Yum/ This restaurant is a good idea after a day of walking at that end of town up through the cemetery to the historic museo and through a group of Moai near Tahai.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Watching the sun go down and listening to the waves was one of my highlights on Easter Island. Recommend the tuna especially!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Te Moana also viewed

Hanga Roa, Easter Island
Hanga Roa, Easter Island
 
Hanga Roa, Easter Island
Hanga Roa, Easter Island
 

Been to Te Moana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Te Moana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.