We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chile, belgium , rapanui” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Au bout du Monde

Au bout du Monde
Calle Policarpo Toro | B.P. 10, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 2770000 , Chile
(00)56-32-255.2060
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 35 Restaurants in Hanga Roa
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Vitoria, ES
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“chile, belgium , rapanui”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Well a bit of French Polynesia with South America taste , very welcome place , food above the average on Hanga Roa , a very little more expensive
The view at twilight time is amazing

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    75
    27
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A bit of French”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This place would be more likely in French Polynesia. But it is a very welcome place with very upscale food right here on Easter Island. The food is a little more expensive, but isn't that always the way with French restaurants. And for someone from NYC, I left very satisfied.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Our reservation meant nothing, we meant nothing to them”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We made a reservation to eat here months in advance, checked it about 2 weeks before we left, and then even stopped by in person 3 days before to confirm it! I think somehow we already had a bad ju-ju about this place...
Anyway, we showed up for our reservation on time and the gate and doors were shut. There was a sign saying they would be open at 7pm but it was already 7:30. It was the day of the Tapati festival parade, which is a huge all day and night event on Easter Island, and the parade also goes right by the restaurant. So, maybe that had something to do with it. Nevertheless, it is inexcusable to take & confirm a reservation and then close your doors to your customers with no attempt to contact them.
We went to La Taverne du Pecheur across the street and they were happy to serve us during the parade, and we had a great meal & service there.
Boo!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenze
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, not so great management”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We ate at Au Bout du Monde twice last week. The first was a great experience: the grilled tuna (atun a la plancha) was excellent--the best we had on the island, and the rice on the side was also tasty. We also had mousse au chocolat belga, which was delicious. The restaurant has a nice view of the ocean. The service was great as well.
The second time, only three days later, we had the same dish--which again tasted great--but we were charged 50% more for each main dish (approx 30$ per dish instead of 20$). When we inquired about it, the manager told us that it was because they had a special menu for the Tapati festival. We explained that we had the exact same dish a few days ago, and that their sign outside still had the old price, but nothing changed.

We heard from others that they too were charged excessively, so beware. The management doesn't seem to understand how much honesty and reputation count. All in all, we liked the food there but you better inquire about the price before you sit down.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food near the Ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Delicious seafood and interesting cocktails. A very pleasant atmosphere with friendly service. We enjoyed the place so much, we ate dinner here twice in 6 days. It's also conveniently close to one of the Easter Island "dance shows" (which was fun to see after dinner).

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au bout du Monde also viewed

Hanga Roa, Easter Island
Hanga Roa, Easter Island
 
Hanga Roa, Easter Island
 

Been to Au bout du Monde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Au bout du Monde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.