We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish,peaceful retreat with welcoming hosts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elm Grove Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Elm Grove Country House to your Saves list
Elm Grove Country House
St. Florence SA70 8LS, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book direct - save 10%
Ranked #1 of 6 St. Florence B&B and Inns
Oswestry
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Stylish,peaceful retreat with welcoming hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Set in its own grounds of 30 acres and approached via a tree lined private drive Elm Grove is a welcome escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday living. The only thing that might disturb you here at night are the owls! Yet Tenby and its many attractions is very close, and a number of other great places to visit virtually within walking distance.

The house which dates from the 1840s has high ceilings, chandeliers, beautiful mouldings and many paintings; unsurprising given that the owner is an artist. Our room with a four poster bed was both comfortable and spacious. Our host was most welcoming and kind and this greatly enhanced our stay. Our young grandchildren enjoyed the opportunity to use the playground equipment in the grounds.

We will certainly return!

Room Tip: Look at the website photos and speak to the owner about your preferences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    19
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
75
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

What a comfortable, relaxing B and B! Every little detail is taken care of, the beds are comfortable with lots of pillows, my room had a bath and shower to soak away the aches of a busy day, the breakfasts are delicious and well cooked and most of all the hosts and staff are friendly and welcoming.

I booked a single room and on my arrival was given a large double room as I was staying for a few nights.

I most defiantly recommend Elm Grove House to anyone, and will be back some time to explore some more of this beautiful part of Wales.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just returned from a stay at The Elm Grove. My bedroom was like something from a Jane Austen novel - beautiful views from my windows. Stunning location, delicious breakfast and the owners are SO hospitable. Go there!

Room Tip: Room 4 has stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledbury, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I was going to Wales to find somewhere to "run away to the seaside" as I am living a long way away from my roots in Northumberland. We were very well looked after, with tasty breakfasts and comfortable beds, very relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We have just returned from the most amazing week at Elm Grove! Having never done a holiday in Wales before we were excited to explore the surrounding areas with the most relaxing, comfortable Guest House to come back to each day!
The room was just exceptional, king size bed with more pillows than I could count! Bath robes, water and biscuits everyday and even a teddy bear on the bed to welcome us which is great value to buy and take home! (He now sits on my bed at home!) Elm Grove does a number of small things which make your stay so relaxing and welcoming, from putting a flask in your room for you to use during your stay if your going for walks to having a DVD collection and Book collection for you to use throughout your stay!

The breakfast was lovely, every morning the staff were friendly and helpful giving us tips on where to visit, the choice at breakfast is fantastic and quality top notch! Alan and Jane are brilliant hosts, giving you daily tips and getting anything you need throughout your stay. The house is so welcoming, a great place to stay to explore the local area.

The location is perfect, 5 mins from Tenby and Manobier Beaches, We loved Saundersfoot for an evening walk along the harbour and had some fantastic meals in the local restaurants. Elm Grove is in the perfect position to explore all the fantastic sites and walks in South Wales. We were really impressed with the amount of things to do, there are 2 theme parks within 10 mins drive, a zoo, water park and lots of castles to visit. We usually do an action packed holiday so this was very different for us and we absolutely loved it and met some lovely people at the guest house. The grounds it is situated in are beautiful, we enjoyed sitting out at the end of the day having a drink in the gardens.

We will definitely be visiting again and recommending to our family and friends. Can't wait to go back, after a 7 night stay we were sad to leave! A fantastic holiday........a hidden gem!

Hayley & Rick

Room Tip: All rooms are different so ask about which would suit you best. We loved our top floor double with l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Fantastic stay. We stayed twice - at the beginning of a cycle trip round Wales and at the end. Lovely people, fantastic service, beautiful place. Would recommend to anyone! Excellent food, the location is nice, very convenient for travelling around, pretty village, nice couple of pubs but I'd really recommend eating in Elm Grove - not that the one pub we tried wasn't good, it was fine but Elm Grove was really very good for dinner and the breakfast will last you all day! Well worth a visit - you'll feel great as soon as you start to drive up the driveway!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Have been to Tenby several times but this was our first stay at the Elm Grove and safe to say, it will not be our last. Stayed for the Long Course Weekend from Friday to Sunday. The owners were welcoming, lovely people who could not do enough for you. The property is a lovely period mansion, with all the mod cons. Food delicious. Surroundings soooooo relaxing. We took advantage of the evening meal on Saturday night which you need to pre-book. Again, food fantastic. After a long day on the bike it was just what the doctor ordered. Couple of pubs in the village if you fancy a local wander. After the hub bub and chaos of Tenby it was nice to chill in the countryside. Well worth the money, and we will definitely visit again when I'm less busy and able to take advantage of the facitlities :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elm Grove Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elm Grove Country House

Address: St. Florence SA70 8LS, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St. Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St. Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elm Grove is a family run, four-star Country House. This elegant Georgian house is situated in its own grounds in the picturesque village of St. Florence, 3 miles from Tenby. All the individually decorated rooms are en-suite with excellent facilities including TV, DVD player,satellite TV, telephone, tea and coffee, bottled waters and bath robes. Guests can experience a tasteful mix of marble fireplaces, paneled doorways and large picture windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Elm Grove Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elm Grove Country Hotel
Elm Grove Country Tenby
Elm Grove Country House St. Florence, Wales - Pembrokeshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elm Grove Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.