We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than Excellent, More than you can imagine!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jonquieres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat
Save
You added Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat to your Saves list
Chemin de l'Escarrat, 84150 Jonquieres, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 3 Jonquieres B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“More than Excellent, More than you can imagine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is my first travel since my son born 12 months ago. We're from Hong Kong and stayed in Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat for 5 nights. All the positive comments of the other guest are ture. Other than those, I am not gonna to repeat, I would like to give an great thanks to Charles and Andree for their help, service and advise that are best out of our expectation, as following:
~Thanks for the entertaining toy (clean and functionable) for my 12 months old son. He is so happy with it.
~Never expect to have a baby high chair and baby bath tub for using in the room, but we got! Surprising!
~We haven't join the wine tour, but Charles and Andree is still happy to give and share his advise for us to do our own winery visit. How can you imagine that I got a bottle of Rose form Charles and VIP coupon of a winery, and so I got 1 other free bottle.
~The day before we left Provence and departure to the next stop, Paris. Laundry is so important. With the laundry machine opened and the hanger provided, we done 2 loads (1 for my wife and my and another for the baby) in a morning. After hanging the clothes, we went out to travel at afternoon. At evening, clothes dried, cleaned and ready for packing. Thanks Andree for your kindness! Thanks for the Sun!

To sum up, if I visit Provence again, I will go back to Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat. Highly recommended.

The only regret is that I have missed the pool as the baby is not ready to use it.

One last advice: Don't miss the chance to talk and share your journey/plan of visit when you meet Charles and Andree. Their advice always help you make a better plan.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
escarrat, Propriétaire at Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear HK guests we are very pleased to read your review and your very positive comments. It's true that travelling with a young baby is not always very easy, so we do our best to provide our guests with all the necessary stuff : cot, chair, toys, bath tub... And of course, free laundry service !
Please inform your friends that we'll always be very pleased to host guests from your country. Thank you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    9
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
12
77
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

An ideal location, close to Avignon, the Ardeche and the coast (and quiet garden with sheltered pool). Quiet, clean, comfortable room with a balcony overlooking vines and le Mont Ventoux on the horizon. Our week passed too quickly!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
escarrat, Propriétaire at Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear British guest... We are very pleased to read you because most of our English speaking guests are North American or Australians. So it's very important for your compatriots to read a review written by an objective and very fair British couple that we have been delighted to host.
Merci beaucoup !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We enjoyed comfortable rooms decorated with personal touches, personal patios and kitchens for each unit, a pool surrounded by foliage, breakfast in the garden accompanied by the music of the cigale crickets of Provence, and warm, multilingual hosts who provided excellent council about the regional sites. Our vacation in Provence would not have been the same without our wonderful hosts and their delightful farmhouse villa.

Room Tip: Ground floor is roomier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
escarrat, Propriétaire at Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Merci K and R for this very sincere review. We have been SO pleased to host both of you not only for informing you about the places to visit etc... but also because you were both surprisingly so exceptional French speaking Americans !!! We know that you are also excellent hosts at your VRBO rental in Oregon. (Wind song at the Sea Gypsy). We do hope to visit you in the near future !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerport
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

A gem nestled in the vineyards of Provence. Private, romantic yet close enough to drive to all the towns in Provence. In a week we went from Barcelona to Italy, . and found this place to be ideally located for our ambitious itinery- Barcelona, Sete, Avignon, Orange, Arles, St Remy, Apt, Isle Sur la Sorque, Nice, Monte Carlo and a quick entry into Italy for gellato... We found this B&B to be cozy, charming, convenient and the hosts helpful with the friendliest cat in France. We went to the market bought food and celebrated Easter with a meal cooked in our own little kitchen . The patio has beautiful uninterrupted views. We like our vacations to be as far from the usual hotel experience as possilbe. This was the ideal setting to enjoy Provence, If only for a week we sampled what it's like to live among the grapes.

Room Tip: Make sure you have good maps, you cant always rely on the GPS.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Propriétaire at Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
I must admit though a bit embarrassed to comment it as the owner of le Mas du CLos de l'Escarrat, that this place is indeed very romantic : secluded in the middle of the vines with a breathtaking view over le Mont Ventoux (a famous Tour de France biking mountain), a shadowy garden and a great relaxing pool with salt water. Just open a bottle of Cotes du Rhone wine and ENJOY the pleasure to stay in a 17th century restored Provence farm house!!!
Thanks to "TheWanderers1931" for their nice review !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonquieres, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Charles and Andree have developed the perfect location to relax and enjoy Provence. After just one evening we decided to extend our stay another night. Quiet and peaceful. The B&B is situated near to all the wonderful sights of Provence, yet secluded enough to provide the relaxation needed on a vacation. Tomorrow is the wine tour and we expect the same level of expertice and experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
escarrat, Owner at Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
T and K we also have enjoyed very much your company ! What a good idea you make me thinking of : guests must ask a prescription to the Doctor in order to get some rest days at le Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat in Provence ! Unfortunately, the Social Security will not refund...
Merci again for your very kind words. We are expecting your visit at your earliest convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We were looking for a unique place to stay for our 5 days in Provence and found Charles and Andree's B&B. From the moment we arrived we felt very welcomed. We stayed in the Mistral room - it was great to have a large place to call home for a few days. The bed was comfortable and the shower was great. Having a fridge was very handy as well.

Both Andree and Charles were great resources for exploring the region and their Mas was perfectly located for day trips. We were also fortunate enough to take the wine tour and enjoy a fantastic home-cooked dinner afterwards. Charles is very knowledgeable and his tour was so much more than just wine tasting - it was a wonderful afternoon. Andree is a fantastic cook and her dinner was a great treat! It really was an unforgettable experience.

All in all, we enjoyed our time in Provence which was enhanced by our stay at the Mas. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
escarrat, Owner at Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Dear Cory & Theresa,
Thank you so much ! Your words are very rewarding for both of us. I'm glad that you have found that the additional documents sent by email after the wine tour were interesting. That is a good means to deepen your wine tasting knowledge. MERCI again for staying with us !

Charles & Andrée
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

If you are looking for a charming experience, this is the place to stay. We loved the quaint, yet equipped apartment which contained all of the essentials that we needed for our 3 day stay - and boasted an amazing view of a vineyard. The location is ideally situated between a few small towns including Orange and Avignon, which we explored during our stay, and is surrounded by local wineries and tasting cellars. The owners of the property, Charles and Andree were very accommodating, and were kind enough to give us recommendations for local restaurants and attractions. Their two dogs were also very sweet and added to the charm of their countryside home! We will definitely return to Mas du Close de l'Escarrat when we are able to vacation in the south of France again. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
escarrat, Owner at Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Canadian guests : your compliments about le Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat are very nice and we are always so proud to get the 5 stars rating from most of our guests ! I will also give a special treat (on your behalf..) to Titus and Auguste, our 2 dogs. They are always very polite with the guests and the invisible fence prevents them from visiting the guests in their room or while they are eating on the terrace. Before installing the invisible fence our previous dog (Dear white Lab" Hortense") was immediately paying a visit when she was hearing plate, glass or forks noises... Now she rests in peace in our garden at the foot of 3 beautiful Florence cypresses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat

Address: Chemin de l'Escarrat, 84150 Jonquieres, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Jonquieres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Jonquieres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Jonquières 6 miles from Orange antique theater, and 20 minutes only from Avignon in the heart of Popes's Provence and northern sunny Vaucluse, the Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat is a lovely old stone farm house, of typical Provençal style, which incorporates buildings dating back to the 17 th Century. This bed and breakfast has been carefully renovated to preserve its authentic, rustic character and charm, without compromising the need for modern comfort in all the accomodations. Breathtaking view over Ventoux Mount. Comfortable self-catering accommodations. Lots of tourism and visits in Provence. Beautiful landscapes and lavender fields in the Luberon area. These accommodations are located near Avignon, Chateauneuf du Pape. Tour the wine route with us and enjoy unforgettable wine tasting of Cotes du Rhone wines including the prestigious Chateauneuf du Pape. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mas Du Clos De L'Escarrat Jonquieres, France - Provence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.