We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful cloud forest lodge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bosque de Paz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bosque de Paz to your Saves list
Bosque de Paz
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Bajos del Toro, Bajos del Toro, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful cloud forest lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I recently stayed at Bosque de Paz during a photo workshop. The lodge is a beautiful remote place in the cloud forest of Costa Rica where it's fairly cool most of the year. I was there during June and especially during night it cooled down significantly while day-time temperatures were pleasant. The lodge is surrounded by a wonderful garden with lots of hummingbirds and there are various well-maintained hiking trails along the nearby streams. There's also a trail through a beautiful orchid garden.
The room I got was very clean and spacious with comfortable beds and a large desk right next to the window. One highlight was the big shower with excellent water pressure. The staff was very attentive and friendly, so overall it was a pleasure staying at Bosque de Paz.
The only thing I didn't like as much was the food. Unfortunately there were no choices with respect to the meals and no buffet. For my taste the meals included too much meat, eggs and rice, while I would have preferred more salads and fruits.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    10
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
19
33
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Bosque de Paz during December 2012. It is certainly a peaceful place. Our room was comfortable and well maintained. The food was tasty, plentiful and well prepared. Frederico, the owner, was friendly and welcoming. Indeed this applied to all of the staff we encountered too. Kenneth, the resident bird guide took good care of us and is clearly very knowledgeable. We enjoyed Kenneth's pre-breakfast nature walk immensely. His expertise enabled us to see many exciting bird species - and use of his telescope added to the experience. The location suited our requirements perfectly. We particularly enjoy active holidays and the well marked trails radiating from the hotel were perfect. None were arduous and all delightful. One of the longest took us to an attractive waterfall while the shortest was around an orchid garden adjacent to the hotel. One afternoon we took a walk along the road outside of the property. Although not as tranquil as the forested trails it was an interesting contrast because it afforded scenic views of the local open countryside and more distant volcanoes. Any time spent close to the hotel was rewarding too. The covered terrace was a perfect place to relax over coffee while watching the huge range of hummingbirds on the feeders. They appeared unperturbed by the guan and agouti on the lawn below. So, in summary, we would recommend Bosque de Paz to travellers who are looking for a small hotel in an off the beaten track location where entertainment is in the form of nature watching and gentle walking. Just remember that the altitude makes it cooler than some lower level places in Costa Rica though it was pleasantly warm during the day when we were there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Bosque De Paz was the first lodge we stayed at on our trip to Costa Rica. We truly could not have asked for more! The staff are very nice and very knowledgable about the animals and birds. When we were visiting, we talked a lot with Kennith who identified many birds for us and told us where all the good spots for birds are. The food is great!

And of course... there are tons of birds! We saw eight species of hummingbirds, many different types of tanagers, and lots more! If you really want to experience the birds, make sure you wake up birght and early when there is the most activity! You will be blown away by the hummingbirds and other birds out early in the morning. If you get out early enough, the hummingbirds will even land on your camera (a few did!).

Definetly go to Bosque De Paz on your trip to Costa Rica if you are an eco-tourist!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monica E, Public Relations Manager at Bosque de Paz, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments!
Nothing is as delighful as the satisfaction of our clients.
We are at your service, as always!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 3 days at Bosque de Pas on a photography workshop and we were overwhelmed by the beauty of the surroundings and the gracious hospitality of our hosts, Federico and his wife, Vanessa, as well as their friendly and attentive staff. We would rate this location better than excellent and it exceeded expectations in every aspect. We were pleased with the spacious and comfortable rooms while each meal was presented as a traditional Costa Rican home style meal that was of the highest culinary standards. Our host, Federico blessed everyone and the food at each meal which further enhanced the overall feeling that we had been welcomed into their home. The cool, high elevation cloud forest ecosystem, the forest trails with beautiful streams, the orchid garden, as well as the beautiful and numerous hummingbirds gave us a sense of divine peace which was a complete blessing!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monica E, Public Relations Manager at Bosque de Paz, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments!
We love to know you had a nice time over here, and we love the way you feel about it!
As a hotel we have the intention of making excellence our signature.
Always at your service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Bosque de Paz Ecolodge during our recent
photography trip and had an extraordinary time. Frederico and his wife were wonderful hosts and very knowledgeable about the country and their love for Bosque de Paz. Rooms were very comfortable and roomy. Loved the hiking and birds. The staff were friendly and very helpful and the food out of this world. Would definitely stay their again.

Room Tip: We had a corner room so we had windows on 2 sides which I loved as we had water next to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monica E, Public Relations Manager at Bosque de Paz, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments!
The satisfaction of our guests is our main goal and the reason of all our efforts.
Always at your orders!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at Bosque de Paz. The Frederico and his wife were very hands on with every detail of the pristine Ecolodge. The scenery and wildlife were exquisite. I felt like we were family by the time we departed. The rooms were perfect and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monica E, Public Relations Manager at Bosque de Paz, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your review!
We love when our guests feel confortable and cozy at the lodge.
Always at your orders!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrales, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Bosque de Paz is a superb eco-lodge in the cloud rain forest in the mountains of Costa Rica. I have been there 3 times in the last 3 years with photography groups (FotoVerde). We found the rooms elegantly simple, comfortable and beautifully appointed. The owners and staff are friendly and helpful, the food is fresh and delicious. Everything was done to accomodate our special needs to take pictures of the myriad of bird species that thrive in this area. It is so quiet and peaceful but there is access to the internet in the comfortable library/game room. I cannot wait to return for another visit. We were a group of about 15 but other smaller groups of couples and families seemed to be having a great time too.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a lovely view of the surrounding forest and gardens and are quiet and comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monica E, Public Relations Manager at Bosque de Paz, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for your nice review!
Our main goal has always been the satisfaction of our visitors. Comments like your make our efforts worthy!
We are at your service, as always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bosque de Paz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bosque de Paz

Address: Bajos del Toro, Bajos del Toro, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Bajos del Toro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Bajos del Toro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bosque de Paz 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bosque de Paz Biological Reserve is a 1000-hectare natural biological corridor, located on the Central Volcanic Range, Continental Divide, between the Juan Castro Blanco Watershed National Park and the Poas Volcano National Park. It is a rain and cloud forest, located 1 1/2 tour away from San Jose, 35 minutes from Sarchi and 25 minutes away from Zarcero. It has excellent access to the Arenal and Poas volcanoes, and the area of Sarapiqui, San Carlos, Carara National Park, Jaco Beach. At this lodge, you may enjoy the exuberant biodiversity of centennial trees loaded with orchids, bromeliads, mosses and ferns, surrounded by an unforgettable setting filled with impressive mountains, valleys, rivers and waterfalls. Guests breathe the pure mountain air, while they hike through the trails though the lush rainforest, and then enjoying the exquisite food at the Bosque de Paz restaurant, which is a sample of Costa Rican hospitality offered through the personal attention of the Gonzalez family, owners of the lodge. Accommodations: Bosque de Paz counts with 12 spacious and exquisitely decorated rooms, with Costa Rican exclusive designs and handcrafts. Each of the rooms has two double beds, and a private bathroom with hot water. Outside the rooms, there are large balconies with a spectacular view to our mountains. Guests can be surprised to be awakened by the song of tropical birds and the sound of howler monkeys. At Bosque de Paz, guests enjoy a comfortable terrace, with a spectacular view to the mountains, where they can see birds, the hummingbird gallery, butterflies, mammals....... The lodge has a library with books on natural history, a research laboratory, and a comfortable meeting room. There is an interesting research Project at the Dr. Stephen Kirby Orchid Garden, which has become very popular with orchidologists and naturalists. Activities: Birdwatching; mammals, hummingbirds, and orchids observation; hiking, honneymoons, photography, annual family meeting, anti-stress program, yoga, meditation. Day Trips from Bosque de Paz: Canopy, rafting, horse back-riding, volcanoes, hot springs, safari river boat, National Parks, among others. We receive small groups only, to protect our Reserve biodiversity. For that reason, we are able to offer personalized attention to our guests, who expects to come back to live another unforgettable experience in contact with nature at Bosque de Paz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Bosque de Paz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bosque De Paz Hotel Bajos Del Toro
Bosque De Paz Costa Rica/Bajos Del Toro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bosque de Paz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.