We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit Apoyo AND Stay at Paradiso” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradiso Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Laguna de Apoyo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paradiso Hostel
Save
You added Paradiso Hostel to your Saves list
Laguna de Apoyo, La Laguna de Apoyo, Masaya 48000, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Visit Apoyo AND Stay at Paradiso”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

The dorms are a tad pricey for Nicaragua at 10 dollars, but you can't do Apoyo any cheaper AND it is definitely worth it! The Laguna is incredible at the atmosphere at Paradiso is amazing.

The food is wonderful! Probably the best hostel food I've ever had, easily restaurant quality..

The staff is nice and helpful!

Check it out, you will not regret it!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    46
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
61
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Immaculately clean and tidy rooms. Great set-up - nice terrace with look-out over lake, and excellent beach bar/restaurant on the side of the lake. Good food. Nice atmosphere. Only complain was that workmen started construction very early in the morning (6:30AM) so there was no chance of sleep after that. Though, had we been in another room this would not have been an issue. Facilities on the beach (kayaks, loungers, etc.) are excellent. All in all, an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The laguna de apoya is really fantastic. Great for swimming! The hostel has basic rooms but comfortable, they even changed bunk beds into a double! Staff is very friendly and knowledgeable! The food is great, especially the pizza. A great place to relax and swim.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto,ON
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

This place was perfect. I organized a pickup from the airport 40$ straight there from the airport at 9pm. The security guard was sweet and welcoming, he showed me around. I stayed in the dorm, lookers where provided. Nice bed. The food is pretty good and well priced since most places put up the prices when it's the only restaurant. Nice sun Chairs, and a nice dock to hang out on the lake. Calm atmosphere, attracts families, couples and solo travellers.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Isidro de El General, Costa Rica
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Of all the hotels and locations my family and I stayed at in our 3 weeks in Nicaragua this was the place we felt most relaxed. My 3-year-old loved jumping off the platform in the laguna, we loved the food. Our room was small for the four of us but our main memories will be overwhelmingly positive - the staff were friendly, the facilities excellent.

Room Tip: I didn't see any other rooms but the 3-person room felt a little isolated and a tad too cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

My family just stopped by to utilize their beach for a day trip (around 7 USD a person). They were extremely hospitable and the beach was lovely. They provided tubes to float in and kayaks to paddle around in (although I would not recommend venturing far out into the lake as it is MUCH bigger than it looks). They had a great little restaurant and bar, although we didn't actually try the food because we just had lunch, we heard many other people talk about how good it was. I had a chance to snoop around and the guest rooms looked very clean. The bathroom was so/so but that is to be expected at a beach side location. We had a small child with us and they were very hospitable with him, although I wouldn't necessarily recommend staying here over night with a child due to the dorm style rooms. I would certainly consider staying here in the future, even though I do not consider myself much of a hostel dweller, this would be a great place to stay with friends for a night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, UK
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Only stopped here for a couple of hours but would have liked to have stayed longer. We had hired a driver for the day and he recommended this place. Lago de Apoyo is a great place to relax, with warm water and lake breezes and Paradiso is the perfect spot for that. We had a nice lunch looking out over the lake, used their facilities to change and went for a refreshing swim. Cant comment on the accommodations but looked clean and very reasonable prices.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradiso Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradiso Hostel

Address: Laguna de Apoyo, La Laguna de Apoyo, Masaya 48000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Masaya Department > Masaya > La Laguna de Apoyo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in La Laguna de Apoyo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have you had a chance to wake up in the middle of nature?We give you the chance!We offer the option of spending the night here, with a price to suit every budget.For our overnight guests we offer triple, double or single rooms with private or shared bathroom, as well as a spacious room with an amazing view of the sunrise over the lake. Our well-stocked bar & restaurant serves refreshing cocktails and delicious homemade comfort food at a great price.We have direct access to the water with a nice sandy beach, free kayaks, floating dock and some water toys as well. Come here to play volleyball, table tennis or to try the only 'petanque' (boules) area in the south of Nicaragua. We offer awesome patio views, landscaped gardens, a wonderful shady ranch with sun chairs, hammocks and a bar right on the water's edge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paradiso Hostel Nicaragua/La Laguna De Apoyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradiso Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.