We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sir William

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sir William to your Saves list
Sir William
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Sir William Hill Road, Grindleford, Peak District National Park S32 2HS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Grindleford B&B and Inns
WIGAN
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not a good experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Having stayed at the Sir William 12 months ago (and given it 5 stars then) we thought we would stop for a meal on the way back home from Bakewell. I was looking forward to a terrific meal, nice pint of Guiness whilst looking at the marvellous view,We arrived at 15:00pm When someone eventually came to serve at the bar we were informed that they stopped serving meals at 14:00pm - not even sandwiches were available, the Guiness pump wasn't working and when I asked for a pint of cask ale as an alternative I was told that had run out. Still the view was still marvellous. We finished our drinks quickly and had a wonderful meal further along our journey.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    44
    14
    11
    5
See reviews for
21
69
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Only stayed for 1 night, but was very impressed. Lovely room, if a little small, but clean, comfortable & cosy. Staff very friendly. Great breakfast. Excellent value for money. Would definately go back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 6 and had a wonderful view of the hills. It was a large room with a sitting area and comfy bed. Only slight downside was the shower, which froze and burned us in equal measures. We gave up in the end and used the bath!

Lovely food in the evening and the following morning. Very friendly staff and a good value night away in the beautiful Peak District.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We called at this place for refreshment while we were out walking, we couldnt believe the excellent views down into the valley while we sat and had a coffee, seriously going to consider stopping here one night, place is nice and clean with friendly staff....with views to die for.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and went walking around the peak district, great location and could easily go on walks from the hotel. Stayed in the family room which was a nice size,clean and comfy. Only downside is it is near a road so can be a bit noisy. Otherwise great stay for what we paid. Breakfast lovely too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We booked a two night stay and opted for one of the superior rooms.

The location was lovely and the hotel offered ample parking. We were greeted by friendly staff and shown to our room which was a good size and had a wonderful big window and seating to enjoy the views. The bed was comfy.

In the evening we had dinner in the bar.. Again friendly staff. We had steak and ale pie which was good if not a little to big and roast chicken which I found to be not so good... Poor quality and dry (you definitely need the gravey it's served with) but the chips were homemade and good. I had a large glass of the Zinfandel which tasted like it had been open too long... I should of said something!

Morning 1 we went for full breakfasts which was good but too much for us so the second day we went for eggs on toast and beans on toast. The toast wasn't buttered which wasn't so good, I'd assume guests would want butter unless they stipulated otherwise and not the other way round. It's hard to butter the toast once the beans are on...

The bathrooms were a good size and in good order but the cleaning was poor.. Hair and dust around the bath and when when I ran my fingers down the side of the bath you could feel the tide marks from previous bathers. The sink had what looked like coffee splashes and tooth paste in it and when lying in the bath you can see under the toothbrush holder and that was pretty grim. The tea cups in the room need to be washed up properly and either a better vacuum cleaner, house keeping or carpet is needed in the rooms as it was covered in dusty fluff and crumbs... Oh and the ceiling lampshade ... Really? For a superior room? Looks like something from an 80's bedsit!

It seems a lot of grumbling but they are small things that could easily be changed. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We recently stayed at the Sir William for a 4 nights with other members of our walking group. The hotel was selected for its central location in the Peak District walking areas. As has been mentioned in previous reviews, the views from one side of the hotel are spectacular offering distant vistas across the Derwent valley.

Unfortunately, the hotel seems to be confused as to what it is offering customers and guests. Whilst we found the staff friendly and helpful, they were totally untrained in the standards of service they should be offering. We had booked 7 rooms but we found that they were only superficially clean on our arrival. We found layers of fluff under the bed, mould and cobwebs on the windows and dead flies on the floor. Beds were made but rooms were not cleaned during our stay. Bathrooms were not cleaned during our stay (3 rooms even ran out of toilet rolls!) Heating was intermittent and we found the rooms cold.

Whilst the food on offer is good and helpings are generous, the menu could benefit with some more simple options as some members of the group found the food too rich and the portions too large. The menu is also expensive compared to other nearby establishments. Unfortunately, the surroundings in the bar are shabby and quite depressing and in need of refurbishment.
We raised many of these issues during our stay and most of them were deal with immediately. As the manager seemed to be absent during our stay we contacted the hotel on our return home to raise our concerns. It is unclear from the response whether the management accept that they have problems or were even going to address them.
In order to gain repeat bookings the Sir William needs to focus more on the accommodation and service side of the business and bring everything up to an acceptable standard.
Suffice to say our group is unlikely to return to the Sir William in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sir William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir William

Address: Sir William Hill Road, Grindleford, Peak District National Park S32 2HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Grindleford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Grindleford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sir William 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Inn with relaxed dining facilities, real ales and beautiful surroundings of the Hope Valley. Accommodation is comprised of seven individual bedrooms. Ideal for a base for exploring the Peak District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sir William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir William, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.