We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot to stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sir William

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sir William to your Saves list
Sir William
Sir William Hill Road, Grindleford, Peak District National Park S32 2HS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Grindleford B&B and Inns
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good spot to stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Friendly homely atmosphere with an excellent evening meal and Breakfast. My room (1) was warm with plenty of room and superb views across the valley. I will stay again when in the area. Price is also good for the area.

Room Tip: Best Views from superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    49
    14
    12
    5
See reviews for
27
75
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I have stayed at the Sir William twice. On both occasions I had a superior room which was very comfortable with superb views over the valley.

The staff were exceptionally friendly, both the evening meal and breakfast were excellent and I would highly recommend this as a good place to stay in Derbyshire.

I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We only called in for lunch earlier this week after spending the morning in nearby Eyam (well worth a visit) but the home cooked meat & potato pie, veg and chips was worth twice the £5 we paid for it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIGAN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The staff were very polite and helpful. The food was absolutely outstanding Huge breakfasts to get you going and a good sized meal at night. Rooms were very nice and comfortable and the hotel surroundings were just spectacular!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

At £80.00 per night we found the room dusty and tired and the shower had mixer taps which ran hot then cold.
The room we stayed in (5) was facing a noisy road so the spectacular views were not available to us.
Cobwebs from the ceiling and bad stains to the carpet made this room gloomy and shabby.
The food was good and the management friendly, but on the whole a dissappointing experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the building so you get the views and more quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here twice for weekends when we have had a weekend break from the kids. It's a lovely hotel with a warm and welcoming atmosphere, The staff have always been extremely pleasant and helpful.
The rooms are spotless and comfortable and the food is superb.
We will be returning again soon for another stay as we know we will have no problems here.

Andrew and Gina Doughty, Lincoln

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

From checking in till our departure from the hotel we found the whole experience to be extremely pleasant!
We were there for a wedding (not at the Sir William) so booked the hotel due to the close proximity to the venue. Our room was clean and comfortable (we have 2 children and they had really nice Bunk beds to sleep in) the food was very good, and the service was always polite and friendly!
Having read a couple of the bad reviews, of which there are not many I can only assume different management. or alien body swap!
Very happy, and thank you to staff!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sir William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir William

Address: Sir William Hill Road, Grindleford, Peak District National Park S32 2HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Grindleford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grindleford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Inn with relaxed dining facilities, real ales and beautiful surroundings of the Hope Valley. Accommodation is comprised of seven individual bedrooms. Ideal for a base for exploring the Peak District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Sir William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir William, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.