We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Wedding Anniversary Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Maynard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Maynard to your Saves list
The Maynard
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Main Road, Grindleford, Peak District National Park S32 2HE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Grindleford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“First Wedding Anniversary Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Lovely room, clean and tidy with very nice decor. Dog friendly, which was a real bonus. Very nice grounds to have a wander with the dogs. We had the most amazing evening meal, the food was divine. Breakfast was very good also. Plenty of off road parking. Friendly, helpful staff. Will definitely be visiting again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaynardHotel, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your extremely complimentary review of the hotel.

I am glad that you were able to take advantage of the hotel being dog friendly - next time ensure to ask one of the staff to take a photo of him/her for our website and facebook pages.

It is always a pleasure to read that everything met a guests expectations and that you found the quality of the food and staff so high.

We are delighted you will be visiting again and it will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Kind Regards
Hugh Skelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    58
    19
    7
    5
See reviews for
38
128
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night as a birthday retreat from my wife. Stayed in a superior room (10) with fantastic views over the Hope valley. Food , service and hospitality were excellent with knowledgeable and friendly staff. Will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaynardHotel, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your birthday retreat here at The Maynard.

I am delighted you had such an enjoyable stay with us and the staff looked after you. We are proud of our standard of service and it is always a delight to read that it has exceeded a guests expectations.

We will look forward to seeing you again - if not before then in the New Year!

Kind Regards
Hugh Skelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Would just like to say thank you to the maynard for making our stay last week a little bit special. The food was amazing and considering its a dog friendly hotel it was all immaculate. Our 2 labradors loved their treats and felt relaxed and comfortable taking our pooches into the bar. Will definitely go back and we would recommend staying in room 6 the view from the bedroom window is fab! Thanks again see u soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaynardHotel, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your review on The Maynard. I am thrilled you brought your labradors along and that you felt comfortable bringing them. Being a dog friendly hotel we always aim to ensure that dog lovers feel at easr bringing their dogs whilst ensuring it does not intrude on others without lovable pooches.

The view from Room 6 is indeed breathtaking and I am glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the Derbyshire countryside.

We will look forward to welcoming you all back in the future for another stay and more treats!

Kind Regards
Hugh Skelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Friendly staff and lovely room with great bed. Would recommend for anyone wanting to stay in this lovely setting. Also the breakfast was fantastic! Would definitely stay again.
Sure I'll return next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaynardHotel, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for reviewing The Maynard.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend the hotel.

The Derbyshire breakfast is a favourite...especially the homemade black pudding so I am pleased you thought it fantastic!

We will look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the area.

Kind Regards
Hugh Skelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

From our first phone call we knew we would get a nice welcome. I was offered a choice of rooms- one with a lovely view or one with. Shower. This place is very dog friendly (they are allowed everywhere other than the restaurant - you can eat in the bar). The room was lovely, we booked a superior room, the only negative about the room is that the towels and bed sheets were tatty (but clean). The food in the restaurant nice but I wouldn't describe it as fine dining. The wine selection was very well priced and our choice was nice. Breakfast always nice (we are this in the bar with our dogs and another couple). Staff were really friendly but professional. We would certainly go to stay again

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaynardHotel, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Maynard.

I am pleased that you had an enjoyable experience with us and brought your dog along for the stay.

I apologise that the towels were tatty and will ensure to pass this on to our head housekeeper.

We hope to be able to welcome you to stay again in the future.

Kind Regards
Hugh Skelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I booked this hotel for myself and sister; the reason being that we wanted to go to Eyam (the Plague Village) this hotel was nearby. It was a late booking and the only room left was a suite at the back of the hotel which looked out onto the garages/ car park and the main road, the rooms with views are at the front. We got the room at a reduced rate (£135.) I must say that we were not that disappointed on seeing our room, ok so we didn’t have the view but as it was an overnight stay it didn’t matter. There were two rooms, on entering the suite the first room has a single bed and sofa in it, with car park view we didn’t use this room. The twin bedded room had the road view. The beds were clean and comfy, tea/coffee/ biscuits bottled water all in room, decent enough shower and big corner bath with toiletries. The bar meal in the evening was superb, the staff in bar and on reception were a delight and very helpful as good staff should be, we had our glass of wine in the large lounge all very nice.
After a good peaceful sleep and a photo shoot around the garden with the lovely views the breakfast was plentiful and scrumptious.
Eyam is a beautiful, historic plague village in Derbyshire Peak District loved it.

Room Tip: Rooms at front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaynardHotel, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your positive and detailed review of The Maynard. I am glad you had a good sleep and enjoyable bar meal.

If you decide to visit us again in the future the reservations staff would be happy to describe the rooms we have available looking over the valley that can be twins. We are proud of the standard of service wer offer and are glad that you found all the staff to be helpful and friendly.

Eyam is indeed an extremely interesting place. I would also recommend Peveril Castle/Caves at Castleton and of course a tour around Chatsworth House for future visits.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Hugh Skelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I hosted my daughter's wedding breakfast here for a party of 100. From start to finish the Maynard, helped by some lovely September weather and stunning views over the Derbyshire hills, excelled.

Reception canapes and drinks in the garden were superb: tasty snacks and attentive service.

The wedding breakfast was held in a beautiful, wood panelled room and the meal was excellent, from starter to coffee and petit fours with attentive, white gloved service throughout. Many guests commented that they had never been to a better reception!

The hotel's planning was detailed and thorough and was executed faultlessly and unobtrusively.

A big plus was that the hotel only hosts one wedding per day so we had exclusive use of most of the hotel's facilities. All this and with real ale too!

The wedding party used all ten of the hotel's rooms on the night of the wedding and ours was comfortable, contemporary, well equipped and with a great view. All the guests got together for a communal breakfast on the Sunday morning which was a great way to finish a memorable weekend.

Thank you The Maynard. All the staff were great but I must give a special mention to Kate, the wedding planner, who is a star!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaynardHotel, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your daughters wedding experience. I am immensely pleased that the whole day was so enjoyable - we always aim to give every couple and their guests the day of the dreams and are glad that everything exceeded your expectations.

Kate is a great asset to our company and really aims to turn a couples ideas and requirements into the day they have always wanted to I am glad she was such a star.

I hope that we will be able to welcome the happy couple and their families to The Maynard again in the future and hope they had/have a wonderful honeymoon!

Kind Regards
Hugh Skelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Maynard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maynard

Address: Main Road, Grindleford, Peak District National Park S32 2HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Grindleford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grindleford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maynard 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peak District hotel and restaurant, The Maynard, was refurbished in March 2008 to become one of the best independent hotels in the Peak District. The building dates back over 100 years and during the refurbishment we have tried to respect this heritage whilst at the same time bringing the accommodation up to 21st century contemporary standards. The Peak District views from the garden, restaurant and bedrooms are stunning, and may leave you wondering if you’re miles from civilisation. Fortunately, as well as benefiting from a beautiful and tranquil location, The Maynard is very well located for visitor's from the outside world; The Maynard is less than 15 minutes from Sheffield by train (you can hop off at Grindleford station a couple of hundred yards from our door), and within easy reach of the M1, A57 Snake Pass and A61 by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Maynard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maynard Hotel Grindleford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maynard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.