We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The cozyest and best B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pottery House Loch Ness B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pottery House Loch Ness B&B
Save
You added Pottery House Loch Ness B&B to your Saves list
Loch Ness, Dores IV2 6TR, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Dores B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
“The cozyest and best B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was one of the best B&B's we have stayed at, and we have stayed at alot around Europe. John & Glen were really sweet and nice, and very hospitable. Despite the small car accident we had driving up to Loch Ness, they made it worth the trip. Everything was ready for our arrival, with information on what to go and see, and there were even cupcakes for our arrival, it was awesome.

We went to Foyers Falls, and went to see the view over the lake, and for dinner it was a 5 min walk to Dores Inn, with great food and hospitality, they had the best haggis we tasted in Scotland, and from there was a great view of the lake.

Breakfast was the best, with a menu to choose from, besides the granola/youghurt. We had delicious pancakes and scrambled egg and bacon, and from there we went back to Edinburgh.

It was a great one-night stay, and we made the most of it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    26
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
57
356
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed for one night but wished it had been longer. The owners are great guys, very hospitable and made the stay very warm & friendly. The rooms are tastefully decorated, very clean with great facilities. Breakfast was delicious and the the restaurant down the road served excellent food. Many thanks x

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Is not a word you would use to describe this hotel!
Location is excellent for Loch Ness and it is very easy to find from Inverness.
We booked the front room overlooking the loch which meant we could do some monster hunting. Must say though that we didn't see a thing!
The room was a good size and was immaculate with good quality furniture and plenty of tea and coffee. I don't drink caffeine and quite often have to use my own tea bags but they had both decaf coffee and tea in the room.
Bathroom had a lovely powershower and again was immaculate.
Breakfast was a real treat with good quality food and plenty of choice with home made bread, jam and marmalade.
Can't recommend this hotel enough. B&B owners of the UK could seriously learn something from this place about how to run a hotel.
Thanks John and Glen, hope to see you again one day.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottery_House, Owner at Pottery House Loch Ness B&B, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Lesley,

I must confess my heart sank when I saw the header of your review, especially as you are the first person to leave a review after staying in our newly refurbished front double room.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you again one day soon.

John
Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Pottery house was even better than we hoped. The little touches made a great stay perfect. The pottery house was a comfortable drive from Inverness and a very short stroll to the local pub which we also served great scones in the afternoon.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and I stayed here during our honeymoon. Location was convenient, quite and serene. Breakfast was excellent, room was comfortable. We walked up the street to the Dores Inn for drinks on the lake edge and then dinner at the inn. A wonderful tranquil experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

John and Glen provide the perfect blend of hospitality and privacy. Spotlessly clean and every detail is attended to. The breakfasts are simply amazing. Myself and my wife found ourselves discussing the night before what breakfast we were going to try!! Freshly baked homemade bread is provided too with an ingenious voting system to enable you to choose your favourite type. The amount of effort John and Glen put into running this B&B is astounding, but it makes all the difference. Highly recommended, we shall certainly be back. John & Sidonie. London.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed at the Pottery House in September while on a four day trip to the Highlands. Could not have wished for a more perfect B&B. Great attention to detail, fresh jug of milk and filtered water in the fridge, lovely soft white dressing gowns and comfortable quality bedding. Fantastic choice for breakfast, homemade jams and bread rolls. Room is spotless and spacious. Great hosts, make you feel very welcome and nothing is too much trouble. Have recommended to my friends who are planning a trip to Loch Ness.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pottery House Loch Ness B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pottery House Loch Ness B&B

Address: Loch Ness, Dores IV2 6TR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Dores
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Dores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pottery House is a modern, friendly and comfortable B&B overlooking Loch Ness. Our rural location is on the edge of the village of Dores and yet Inverness and many Highland tourist spots are within easy reach. Our rooms are large, our en-suites luxurious and our breakfasts extensive and include freshly baked home made rolls, and preserves. Plus one of the top rated Highland restaurants, The Dores Inn, is just a 5 minute walk away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pottery House Loch Ness B&B Dores, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pottery House Loch Ness B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.