We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pottery House Loch Ness B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pottery House Loch Ness B&B
Save
You added Pottery House Loch Ness B&B to your Saves list
Loch Ness, Dores IV2 6TR, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Dores B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Our second visit on our way north and again we thoroughly enjoyed it. The rooms are attractively and luxuriously furnished. Never have we enjoyed a breakfast more. Whether you enjoy the traditional Scottish breakfast or a more original dish you are spoiled for choice. We mean to spend longer at Pottery House on our next visit to explore the surrounding area on the quiet side of Loch Ness. Good to be close (a short walk) to Dores Inn.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a view over the Loch. Back room has a view over the garden. All equally goood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    26
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
349
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shellharbour, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Great stay at this B & B and what a great location. We only wish we could've stayed longer. John and Glen were great, our flight was delayed meaning we arrived at 10pm but it was no problem and the breakfast was nice. The Scottish highlands are fantastic. Hope to go again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Our stay at Pottery House B&B Loch Ness was simply magnificent from start to finish. The house is beautiful, the garden is beautiful, the scenery is beautiful and the setting is tranquil. The room and bathroom was both spacious and spotless. The attention to detail amazing, from quality bedding, plenty of mirrors and sockets and fresh milk and iced water in the silent fridge. The hosts are very warm and welcoming and the breakfast was the BEST we have ever had, ANYWHERE! Home made bread rolls, home made jam, home made marmalade and eggs from the hens out back. Locally sourced produce and a well deserved gold eco award.

Room Tip: A room at the front has fantastic views of the Loch and the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottery_House, Owner at Pottery House Loch Ness B&B, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review, we put a lot of effort into making Pottery House the best we can and it's great to hear that people enjoyed their stay. .

One small change since your visit, our hens were getting old and struggling to keep up with the demands of a busy B&B. They have gone to new/good homes, so for the moment our breakfast eggs are coming from a local farm, free range of course. We will have some new chooks in the Spring.

It's great that you enjoyed the front room, but we think there's room for improvement. So this autumn it's having a refresh, with new, bigger shower, new handbasin with mixer tap (often asked for) , it will all be redecorated and once that is all done the bedroom carpet will be replaced.

Thank you taking the time to write a review, we don't reply to every one, but we do always read them.

John & Glen
Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Pottery house is situated in a beautiful, tranquil part of Loch Ness, in the village of Dores. The b&b is spotlessly clean and very pleasing to the eye. I liked the fresh milk and jug of water in the silent fridge, an excellent addition to the beverage making facilities. Breakfast was always a varied menu and high standard, delicious. The bed was utter luxury, the most comfortable bed we have ever slept on. We took advantage of the picnic basket service and it was well worth it, what a wonderful feast! We felt very welcome and looked after. There is a top notch bar and restaurant called the Dores inn, which is just a few minutes walk away. This far and above exceeded expectations. The choice and standard of food was phenomenal and the staff were very attentive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed up in this area before but never in such an amazing tranquil spot as the Pottery house!!! My reservation for the Pottery house was made very easily over phone due to no internet connection on my rig and even a reservation at the Dores inn (5 min walk) was also made for our evening meal. We were made to feel welcome from start to fin. Room and on-suite was beautiful, very comfortable, spacious, clean and warm we stayed in the large king overlookin garden. I must say the welcome and information pack is the best and most informative ive seen. Breakfast was lovely so much to choose from ...the wholemeal and apricot bun is to die for i would put in request for this bun night before as different fresh buns everyday...fresh eggs and sausages mmm...(just missed my beans) thank you so much for having us ..we will b back!!! :0)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

It was all perfect, one of the best B&B, the room was beautiful, breakfast fantastic, always was confortable.
It was all perfect, one of the best B&B, the room was beautiful, breakfast fantastic, always was confortable.
It was all perfect, one of the best B&B, the room was beautiful, breakfast fantastic, always was confortable.
It was all perfect, one of the best B&B, the room was beautiful, breakfast fantastic, always was confortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I traveled from Australia and stayed here for one night. The welcome was great, the room was immaculate and comfortable.
Went to the Dores inn over the road and had a great feed, and good beer, right on the loch.
The breakfast the next day was amazing, Haggis was great and the service was second to none.
This stay was the best we had in the 7 B&B's we stayed in, we will most definitely be coming back for another visit, and will be staying at the Pottery house.

Thanks to John and Glen for making our stay a great one!

Scott and Carly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pottery House Loch Ness B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pottery House Loch Ness B&B

Address: Loch Ness, Dores IV2 6TR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Dores
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Dores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pottery House is a modern, friendly and comfortable B&B overlooking Loch Ness. Our rural location is on the edge of the village of Dores and yet Inverness and many Highland tourist spots are within easy reach. Our rooms are large, our en-suites luxurious and our breakfasts extensive and include freshly baked home made rolls, and preserves. Plus one of the top rated Highland restaurants, The Dores Inn, is just a 5 minute walk away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pottery House Loch Ness B&B Dores, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pottery House Loch Ness B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.