We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“last night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Plage

Hotel de la Plage
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wissant
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel de la Plage
Save
You added Hotel de la Plage to your Saves list
1, rue Edouard Houssin, 62179 Wissant, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wissant
N lincs
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“last night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We chose this hotel from photo & fact that restaurant was advertised as mainly serving fish. We stayed on a Wednesday night and did not know that restaurant was closed, as were quite a few others in the town. Also the ones that were open closed very early evening- closing at 20.30.
But the boy on reception was very helpful and told us of the places that were open and what their specialities were. Our room was airy and light with 3 windows . Bed was clean and comfortable. Carpet on floor- first we had had on our travels through France. Good location with parking opposite the hotel. I am sure this depends on the time of year you visit. We did not have breakfast because we had an early start. All in all we enjoyed our night in this hotel and quiet Wissant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    18
    20
    22
    14
See reviews for
18
45
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
horsham
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The good points are fresh towels each day. A nice fresh breakfast each morning, A very nice helpful man on reception. nice area.
The bad points, A very very small bathroom with broken shower where you have to step up in to it. When booked we requested bed breakfast and evening meal. Don't bother with the evening meal as there is no flexible from the menu. You both have to have the same main course even if you have allergies. Breakfast is from 8:30 to 9:30 and don't think about turning up early.
One bedside table I moved the chair to be next to my side of the bed so that I could leave my book and glasses when finished.
No carpet on the floors and no pictures on the walls in fact no frills at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Booked this long week end with Half Board, the Front of House person always helpful, though no parking at all a nightmare. The Head waiter is just a person who will only say Non and his inability to even discuss anything will be their downfall. It is advisable that you are a fluent French speaker though. The room is very basic a Bed a cupboard and that is about it. The Bathroom needed a lot to be desired with the Toilet bowl being only 4 inches from the wall you would need to contortionist to sit on it.

Because of the inflexibility of the head waiter we complained and even the front of house manager was unable to change his dictatorial way and it resulted in a refund for all meals. This as it happened was a bonus as we found a wonderful place to eat near by and the food was superb.

In short don't stay here unless you want to stay in a real Fawlty Towers type hotel with a dictatorial Head waiter.

Room Tip: Book Somewhere else is the best tip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

What a dreadful hotel. Fortunetly we only had one night in this dump prior to travelling back to Blighty. Booked on strength of Trip adviser picture. (The water in picture is a smelly stagnant pond) Absolutley no frills in this place. Room had no furniture apart from a bed and a tiny rickety old table which was laughably descibed as a desk.No carpet, no mirror, no pictures on the wall You pay around £55 for a room and that is what you get no TV not even a chair to sit in The sloping roof and strange inwardly opening windows made it and obstacale course getting to the loo in the night especially as the light bulb on my side was broken. The room was accessed by two flights of narrow stairs. The fire information didn't instill confidence as everything is wood. The place has a restaurant be we never actually found out if it was open anyway it looked grotty. On seeing the room we know we should have refused it but at 5pm on a Sunday afternnon and after driving for 8 hours we just needed somewhere to lay our heads We certainly did not risk breakfast This place certainly makes you wistful for Premier inns or Travel lodges

Room Tip: Find aother hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My second visit to Wissant which is a lovely little town generally overlooked. The location of de la Plage was excellent and ample free parking. Check in was very welcoming.

Very little investment has been in made in the rooms and there is a crossover between charming and rustic and shabby and cheap. I suspect the hotel markets charming and rustic.

Breakfast is extra at 8 EUR and was fine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is the most basic Hotel I have ever stayed in. There was no carpet in our room, no pictures, no mirrors, only some very old worn furniture. The toilet had not seen bleach for years, the bath was old and tired. The light switch in our room and towel rail in the bathroom were hanging away from the wall. There wasnt even a headboard on the bed. The only mirror was on the bathroom cabinet.
There was no coffee, no tv, no radio - absolutely nothing in the room. How I managed to book here I do not know, I can only say it looked nice in the pictures.
On the plus side the location is good and the owner pleasant, but I will never stay here again, or anywhere like it.

Room Tip: Do not stay here, there are lots of other places much nicer for a similar price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is a no-fuss hotel to stay at overnight in Wissant. There are not many options for hotels in this tiny city. The service was efficient and friendly. After 11 pm one needs to use the back door entrance as the reception service clears after dinner. We did not taste the food here, however the lobster that was being serviced to other guests looked very good ! The hotel is located around a 5-10 minute walk from the beach. There are a few other eateries around the area so one is not limited to eating at the hotel. Definitely recommended as a basic place to stay, particularly if not a lot of time will be spent in the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Plage

Address: 1, rue Edouard Houssin, 62179 Wissant, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Wissant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wissant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Plage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.