We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in Italy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Il Gallo nel Pozzo

Osteria Il Gallo nel Pozzo
Piazza Umberto I 10, 06064 Panicale, Italy
+39 075 837285
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 10 Restaurants in Panicale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $34
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Osteria 'Il Gallo nel Pozzo' occupies the ground floor of an old aristocratic house situated in the heart of the historic centre of Panicale.The ambience is very welcoming, wooden beams, original exposed stonework mixed with plastered walls painted in a delicate shade of pastel orange, small tables mainly on a mezzanine floor which has views out onto the piazza, and soft background music.
Adelaide, South Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best meal in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

After nearly a month travelling, I was surprised to find such am amazing meal. Veal with mushroom and truffle. Brilliant.
Service was excellent as well. Can not recommend too highly. :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    30
    6
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely location; lovely food & wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We were made very welcome and had a delicious meal. There was a great choice of wine and I found my new favourite Italian wine - tabarini montefalco. Our friend is a vegetarian and there was plenty of choice for her, too. We'll be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant and authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

As a long time resident of this area I have to say this is one of the great additions to local dining. Wonderful location in the lovely piazza of Panicale, a high end wine list, and a menu that never fails to capitalise on the best and freshest produce from the region.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burwarton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Panicale restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Having visited Panicale many times with my wife and eaten at its restaurants I have to say this is by far the best. The steak I had was top quality and the pasta dishes superb. The other two restaurants are good, one is basic the other overpriced for the quality. All offer excellent service but you won't be disappointed if you chose Osteria. The only thing negative to say is the house wine from the bar Gallo is far superior to the restaurants house wine so don't have a glass there first but maybe slip across the square for a last glass, coffee and ice cream!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perugia, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“special location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Unique location in the piazza of Panicale, very atmospheric in summer sitting outdoors with no traffic. Menu with a special twist on traditional dishes. Sicilian cuisine a speciality.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Il Gallo nel Pozzo also viewed

Panicale, Province of Perugia
Panicale, Province of Perugia
 
Panicale, Province of Perugia
Castiglione del Lago, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Osteria Il Gallo nel Pozzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Il Gallo nel Pozzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.