We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff really went the extra mile, especially Stewart.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel to your Saves list
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Back Street, Cambourne CB23 6BW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cambourne
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“The staff really went the extra mile, especially Stewart.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We came here as a group of 11 for spa treatment and overnight stay. The spa was average however the food, staff and rooms where fantastic! Stewart assistant manger and his staff really went the extra mile by meeting all of our requests and doing it all with a smile and banter! Stewart's commitment was fantastic, he was here until all the guests where asleep and then greeting us at breakfast. Great stay and would defiantly return for another stay. Thanks Stewart and all the team you really made our stay!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Andrea-lake84,
Many thanks for your kind review. Really pleased that you and all your friend enjoyed your spa break with us. I have passed on your kind words to the team and have personally thanked Stuart for making your stay so special. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Cambridge Belfry in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Mike Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    368
    187
    83
    59
See reviews for
117
389
30
170
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Booked through work but not a good hotel. If I was paying, I'd stay elsewhere.
It has plenty of facilities, which provides its four stars, but those facilities are lacking, even after a refurbishment.
The good: some of the bar staff are friendly and helpful. Some of the restaurant staff the same. It has a gym.
The bad:
Rooms are shabby and not clean. My room had peeling wall paper, a plug in heater and the gap where the mini bar should be had been used by the previous occupant for rubbish. Having started three days, the rubbish had not been removed.
Breakfast is not as good as a Holiday Inn/Travelodge included breakfast, and based on the buffet approach and quality, it is clearly that standard this hotel aspires to achieve.
The gym equipment is poor, bits broken like head socket connectors or just damaged.
Dinner was average, at best. One night they couldn't fit in a table of four residents despite looking half empty, so we left to head to a local restaurant. One of the bar staff then stopped us and said we could eat in the bar. Well done him, but surely restaurant staff could have helped us do the same?
When we did eat, food was bland and over priced. Same with the wine list, a stock list of one wine from each country and all priced well over the odds. I've bought the same bottles in central London for lower. Service was poor, waiters having to be stopped to clear away plates as they walked past to their next conversation with other staff.
Still, the hen parties staying at the same time seemed to enjoy it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear AJR37,
Thank you for your review. I was disappointed your stay did not meet you expectations. I have been unable to identify which room you were in, but if you could contact myself direct at the hotel and let me know I will get this fixed immediately. I am very pleased you found the team to be welcoming and friendly. Please be assured that we will be using your feedback to continue to improve the service we offer to our guests.
Kind Regards,
Chris Marais
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Cambridge Belfry when visiting family for a long weekend. We had travelled quite a distance and were pretty tired upon arrival, but found a nice spacious reception with warm, friendly and efficient staff. Our room (one of the regular rooms) was plenty spacious for two people and we were pleasantly surprised to find a lovely big bath and a separate shower cubicle in the bathroom. Great choice of really good food, both in the bar and restaurant: they had a great variety and the food was fantastic in both. We had a couple of questions about the restaurant menu on the Friday night, but the staff knew their stuff! Can highly recommend the sea bass! Bar and restaurant staff were really friendly but unobtrusive and we never felt rushed to finish our mean. Have to admit that we opted for the room service on the Sunday night after a long day of sightseeing, but again there was a great choice and food was at the room door in no time. We sat in the bar for a while on the Friday night before dinner: amazing chairs (want some for home) and, man, did they make a mean mojito! I used the pool and steam room, while my wife had a spa treatment on the Saturday morning. Small pool, but just enough to work off Friday night’s meal. We didn’t find the spa/pool overly busy, but we went on the Saturday morning. My wife commented that the girls in the spa were lovely and she had a fabulous hour long massage. Easy car ride into Cambridge city – took us 20 minutes. Can’t think of anything bad to say about this place: will definitely stay here again. Just one thing to improve on for our next visit – cake for morning coffee!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear jmh244,
Many thanks for you review! I am delighted to hear you and your wife had such a good time with us. I have passed on your praises to the team. The bar guys do make a great mojito. Thank you for your kinds words, and we hope to welcome you back shortly!
Kind regards,
Chris Marais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Overall we were pleased with this. The (superior) room was spacious, modern, clean and quiet. We had dinner B& B. The dinner (guinea fowl/ sea bass) was very good in a restaurant that was well decorated and had some atmosphere (for a hotel). One disappointment for me was that the one real ale at the bar (Landlord) was off i.e.. run out and the next best thing for me (Guinness) was also not on. The one disappointment for my partner was that the spa was packed with kids having a swimming lesson (around 5:30pm) so she decided to give it a miss.

Room Tip: Our room on the 2nd floor at the very end of the corridor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Baggymike,
thank you for writing your kind review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed on your comments to the team. We hope to welcome you back shortly to the Cambridge Belfry hotel.
Kind regards,
Chris Marais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Just completed our third visit to the Cambridge Belfry and every time we've been, our stay has been completely faultless. Stunning setting, beautiful facilities, lovely, attentive staff, spacious and comfortable rooms; we enjoyed ourselves so much this visit that we ended up booking another night spur-of-the-moment! The spa can unfortunately get rather busy, but having popped down late on a very busy, fully booked Saturday morning the staff still managed to squeeze myself and my boyfriend in for a treatment each, and we still at some points had the pool and jacuzzi to ourselves! Our only negative was the state of the male changing rooms, which I was informed were not particularly clean, although as previously said we did visit during peak times. I didn't happen to notice this problem with the female changing rooms, although did notice that the floors did get very, very wet making it difficult to change. The rest of the hotel was spotless though!

The restaurant and bar are lovely, both serving beautiful and well portioned food, although if you do get bored or decided to try something else (Our booking for the second night was too short notice to include dinner!) we would recommend the Monkfield Arms pub across the road next to Morrisons which, although not quite as good quality as the hotel, is very good value for money. If you do get the dinner inclusive deal the menu is very extensive with each guest being allowed £26 each, anything above which will be charged to your room. This amount however easily allows you a 3 course meal if you fancy one so can't see this being a problem for many. This amount doesn't include drinks however, which can be quite pricy, especially spirits, with a vodka and lemonade costing almost £5 a drink!

Our only other problem was with the bed, which is completely personal preference as we both strongly dislike hard beds! Other than this the Belfry really is excellent, we would definitely highly recommend it and will certainly be returning ourselves for the fourth time!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Michelle M,
Thank you for your review following your stay with us. I am delighted to hear you had such a good time with us. Your particular praise for the team is much appreciated and It is great to hear they made such a positive impression on you. I hope to be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards,
Mike Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Just had two night stay here with friends, our 3rd time away in a Q Hotel and we were not disappointed. Although a fairly large hotel, the service is very good, excellent staff at dinner and breakfast and very friendly throughout the hotel.

Spa good - unfortunately the Jacuzzi was out of order on the Friday, but luckily working again on the Saturday so relieved at that! Not too busy even though there were a lot of girls away on spa days/weekends.

The restaurant lovely - very good meal included in the weekend package, allowance of £26 per person for 3 courses which is plenty. Drinks fairly expensive, but no more than the average hotel. Breakfast good - although quite busy and we had to wait on Sunday to be seated although only for about 5 minutes and had to wait for our breakfast to be cooked to order, but didn't mind as it was worth the wait - poached eggs on toast for two of us and breakfast omelette for the other two.

Would stay at a Q hotel again - this was very near to the park and ride for the town centre, enjoyed a shopping trip on the Saturday, very nice shopping centre (Grand Arcade).

Only problem with the rooms were that they are a little on the cool side!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear NorthantsAquababe,
Thank you for your kind review, and taking the time to write to it. I am really pleased that the hotel and team in particular made such a positive impression on you. They will be very pleased with the feedback. Glad you enjoyed the shopping and hopefully we will see you again soon.
Regards,
Mike Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southend - on - sea
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Our stay in this hotel was relaxing due to the spa facilities after along drive , and a near home stop so it was a quick visit but nevertheless enjoyable ,on top of all this a lovely meal was enjoyed . I think it was very busy that evening due to being a Saturday and a lot of parties being attended .our waitress was a lovely bright chatty cheerful girl who was more than helpful. We enjoyed a very large breakfast with PLENTY of variety.our room was very nice and spotless with a bath as well as a shower, the usual facilities for tea making .i was very happy that they had provided toiletries as I had left mine in the van so this was an added bonus .overall our stay was restful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear linda k,
Great review, thank you. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us, and will share your feedback with the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Cambridge Belfry soon!
Kind regards,
Mike Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel

Address: Back Street, Cambourne CB23 6BW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cambourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cambridge Belfry is located in Cambourne in Cambridgeshire. It is only a short distance from many major road networks including the M1 and A1. The hotel is oh so close to the famous city of Cambridge, so whether you fancy punting on the river or a tour of the famous University, you'll be there in no time at all. The hotel has 120 bedrooms, a state of the art leisure club, a relaxing spa and 8 meeting and conference rooms. Take advantage of the sophisticated meeting rooms equipped with the latest technology to help your meetings run smoothly.When it comes to dining, you can enjoy seasonal specialities that the talented Chefs create overlooking the lovely, edge-of-the-village lakeside view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cambridge Belfry - a q Hotel Cambourne
Cambridge Belfry Cambourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.