We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break in Cambridge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel to your Saves list
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Back Street, Cambourne CB23 6BW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cambourne
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Short break in Cambridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had an excellent short break here. Staff were friendly professional nothing was a trouble for them and they all smiled and spoke to us. Would recommend to friends any time This was an ideal location to visit Cambridge - Ely and Newmarket

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Angus B,
Many thanks for your review. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the location to your liking. Look forward to welcoming you back to the Cambridge Belfry in the near future.
Warm Regards,
Chris Marais
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    368
    187
    83
    59
See reviews for
117
389
30
170
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We attended an event here and were suitably impressed with all aspects of this hotel.
Check-in was dealt with quickly and efficiently and we were given precise directions to our room.
The room was very clean with all those little touches to make your stay comfortable.
Tea and coffee were replenished at our request. Linen and towels were perfect and the free Wi-Fi very helpful.
We attended a set menu meal which was served quickly and was hot which is often a problem with large numbers being served together. The food was a good standard and space on each table enough so as to be close but not on top of your fellow diners.
entertainment brilliant and although the drinks were pricey we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The included breakfast was excellent and the staff very efficient.
I would recommend this hotel and will look for others in this chain for future bookings.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear EssexDavidos,
Thank you for your kind review. Very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed on your kind words to the team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Cambridge Belfry in the near future.
Warm Regards,
Chris Marais
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I travelled to the area for a 60th birthday, so decided t book this hotel on a Friday night Dinner bed and breakfast special. From the moment we arrived we were delighted with the hotel and service. At check in, I think the lady was called Petra and she was extremely friendly , helpful and very professional. The room was very comfortable, well equipped and immaculately clean with a lovely large bathroom with both a shower cubicle and separate bath. We managed to take advantage of the leisure facilities which were also very clean and well ran. The evening meal in the restaurant was really nice and the staff were all again very friendly and professional. After a very comfortable nights sleep we enjoyed a really nice breakfast. The hot buffet was very good quality and was all hot and replenished regularly which was a refreshing change from the usual cold and stale buffets we have had at other hotels. There was also a large selection of juices , pastries , cakes , cereals etc all of good quality. We really enjoyed every aspect of our stay except that we were ply there for one night !! We would certainly choose this hotel again if we were staying in the Cambridge area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear roeby,
Thank you for your kind review. I was very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed on your kind words to the team and personally showed Petra your review, they are all very thankful for this. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Cambridge Belfry in the near future.
Kind regards,
Chris Marais
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed at this hotel recently on a business trip. On check in I was given the penthouse suite instead of the standard room I had booked. The suite was lovely with 2 bathrooms, one with a huge jacuzzi bath,sitting room,hallway and lovely large bedroom.
Dinner in the hotel was excellent but breakfast slightly disappointing. There wasn't a good selection of fruit on display and the hot drinks took a long time to arrive.
I would recommend staying here as the hotel itself has good amenities and is reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Penthouse Suite....lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear UKNiclac,
Many thanks for your kind review. I am really pleased you enjoyed upgrade! However I am disappointed your breakfast experience and will address this with the team. Pleased you enjoyed your dinner and hope you will be back soon to try our new menu!
Look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel shortly,
Kind regards,
Chris Marais
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Had a wonderful time at this hotel we found the staff very friendly and very helpful the room we were given was fantastic even had two tv s one for soaps for me one for my husband we even had a fart bath could not fault the room at all . The breakfast was very good plenty to choose from this was our first stay will be going back for sure.

Room Tip: Try a get a junior room they are BRILL
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Val L,
Thank you for your kind review. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed on your kind words to the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back shortly!
Kind Regards,
Chris Marais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Very disappointing for a supposed 4-star hotel. Room was OK but communal areas, particularly the bar, nondescript and lacking in atmosphere. Check-in and heck-out n and cbrusque and hotel staff generally young and lacking in experience. Main course at dinner had to be returned as fish was half-raw. Will not be returning in a hurry.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Jimbo263,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear your stay did not meet all of your expectations. I am particularly disappointed that your experiences in reception and the restaurant were not up to scratch. I am glad that we were able to replace your main course so quickly but clearly it would have been much better to have got it right in the first place. Please be assured that we will be using your feedback to continue to improve the service we offer to our guests. I hope that perhaps some time in the not too distant future, you give us the opportunity to show this improvement to you by coming and visiting us again.

Kind regards,

Chris Marais
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Visited this hotel on the weekend of the 28th Sept and it was fantastic. We got there at 11am and technically could not check in until 3pm, but since the rooms were already ready they let us in straight away. The room was spotless, and the twin beds very comfy. Not a great view, but I wasn't planning on spending much time in the room! We went straight down for coffee and a pastry in the bar, sat outside by the patio by the lake in the sun which was wonderful. The fish in the lake are fab.! Loved how they have clearly put a lot of thought into accomadating wildlife in their wild areas, there were Goldfinches everywhere. Also information about the Wildlife Trust in the lobby was great. Then we had lunch, a tasty buffet. And we went down 20mins before it ended and for both the main course and the dessert they staff came to check we were done before they cleared anything away. Then we had our treatments, I had a back massage and a facial, both of which were great. After the treatments we chilled in the pool, steam room, sauna etc. Very nice, very clean pool. There were a few kids about which was a surprise, but we also noted they are not allowed in first thing in the morning or in the evening. No problem, more excuses to hang out in the jacuzzi! Then we went for the dinner, £26 of which was included in our spa deal. It was so delicious, came out very quickly we were very very pleased. There was a wedding on in the spa and that just added to the fun! After a great night's sleep we were up at 8am to use the pool before an all you can eat breakfast. I had a breakfast of champions but there was also toast, cereal and pastries galour to choose from. Unlimited coffees and tea of any variety, made from Costa machines which was brilliant. Then we had more treatments in the spa. There was a mix up where my friend wanted hot stones with her massage but they didn't have it writted down. Not a problwem, they swapped around something, and got her sorted immediately, and then didn't charge for the hot stones! One of my treatmetns slightly over ran the check out time, so the desk said we could stay in the room an extra half an hour. I was sad to leave, every single member of staff was warm, friendly and helpful. I want to go back immediately! We are going to get more friends invloved and make it a yearly trip as it was truly splendid. Thank you so much for a great break!

Room Tip: We had a twin room on the first floor, which was convenient and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Sarah P,
thank you for your very kind review. I was very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay so much! Special thanks for acknowledging the work we do with the Wild Life trust, its a key focus for us to look after our surroundings and community. I have passed on your kind words to the rest of the team and really were very thankful for your kind words. We all very much look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Cambridge Belfry.
Kind regards,
Chris Marais
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel

Address: Back Street, Cambourne CB23 6BW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cambourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cambridge Belfry is located in Cambourne in Cambridgeshire. It is only a short distance from many major road networks including the M1 and A1. The hotel is oh so close to the famous city of Cambridge, so whether you fancy punting on the river or a tour of the famous University, you'll be there in no time at all. The hotel has 120 bedrooms, a state of the art leisure club, a relaxing spa and 8 meeting and conference rooms. Take advantage of the sophisticated meeting rooms equipped with the latest technology to help your meetings run smoothly.When it comes to dining, you can enjoy seasonal specialities that the talented Chefs create overlooking the lovely, edge-of-the-village lakeside view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cambridge Belfry - a q Hotel Cambourne
Cambridge Belfry Cambourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.