We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Longer Open” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Capitana

La Capitana
Harbour | El Cotillo, El Cotillo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 30 Restaurants in El Cotillo
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“No Longer Open”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This used to be an excellent restaurant, but on my recent stay I noticed that this was no longer open in its ol format, but is now a Mexican style eaterie called Pancho Villa!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    12
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Changed to a Mexican reasturant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This has changed from a place that did wonderful spanish food to a mexican restaurant that is below average. They used to have the best Cabrito on the island and now it has nothing noteworthy atall to be honest. Everything is fried and bland. The servers were awful.. just did not care..! A big shame as last time we visited when it was still La Capitina it was absolutely 5star food and 5star quality. A real shame.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“el capitan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

it was not cleen but drinks are cheep and for a famely is a good place to drink also see the showes over the road in barcelo hotel

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Harbour view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Above the old harbour the terrace here gives lovely views and sounds to accompany good food. Staff here have changed since our last visit and have raised the standards, though the menu is similar. It is traditional in style and presentation with an emphasis on local fish and meats. This does mean that the fish is cooked a bit more than we do it home, but it was not enough to be a problem. This chef is good; eat there before he retires in 3 years time! Do not over-order as portions are large. Downsides? A bit soulless inside on chilly evenings, wine stocks may differ from the menu.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Stunning sea views family friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

A favourite lunch venue for all members of our family. It does boast the most stunning views of the harbour while still providing shade from the hot sun. Staff made our kids feel welcome and provided a kids menu. The starters are simple and unique combinations. Fish platters are an obvious choice. Do recommend the kid meat stew. But is the iced glass beers that have won this venue my heart and holiday memories

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Capitana also viewed

El Cotillo, La Oliva
El Cotillo, La Oliva
 
El Cotillo, La Oliva
El Cotillo, La Oliva
 

Been to La Capitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Capitana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.