We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real mixture” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Mar Menor Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Mar Menor Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
InterContinental Mar Menor Golf Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Calle Ceiba, s/n | Mar Menor Golf Resort, 30700 Torre-Pacheco, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Torre-Pacheco
Kent
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A real mixture”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a nice hotel, clean, good beds and linen, decent gym, large safe pool area, lots of places to sit and watch the world go by. But if you come during the school holidays be prepared for the crowds of young children and the continual screaming that is to be expected. Also i have never seen as much bad sun lounger behaviour from the British. Every morning while enjoying a very good breakfast the majority of Brits head out to reserve their loungers from about 8.30. One family this week has reserved 7 loungers by 9am every day and numerous others have taken 3s and 4s !

Also numerous people from outside the hotel seem to be able to use the pool despite it being advertised as residents only. Again these tend to be British families who think if they sit and use the bar they can send their multiple kids off to scream, shout and generally crate mayhem around the pool. This should be monitored far better than it is.

We had a good meal in Nomad the main restaurant, both the service and food were very good.

There is no reason to pay 10 euros per day for parking as there is plenty of space outside the hotel. Free wifi is good as most hotels still charge, the staff around the hotel are very friendly, the reception seems to be rushed off it feet and the instant service advertised on the internal telephone is anything but as it often remains unanswered.

We would come back but not during the school holidays.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mar Menor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear NickfamilyKent,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback about your recent stay. It is great to know that our rooms met your expectations and your dining experience was up to par. Your additional comments about our Wifi fees and service have been noted and will be used to consider for improvements.

I hope we get the opportunity to host you again soon!

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    102
    31
    22
    17
See reviews for
75
157
3
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed on the golf resort this summer and decided to dine in the hotel restaurant on the final night. Having read reviews, I prepared for it to be 'average'. From the minute the waiter noticed us waiting for a seat, we could not have received better service. The waiter was happy to describe some of the dishes to us to make sure we knew what to expect as as the chef obviously enjoys making the food a little different. Everything we ordered was excellent, very creative, some quite fun and excellent flavours. The wine was good value and perfect temperature.
Having decided that I would like to bring my mum out for a short break, I was really dissapointed to here that the hotel will be closing in September but am unable to find out if this is permanent. This hotel ( we have stayed in it for a couple of nights before) and the restaurant are the best Intercontinental I have experienced. I did stay in Hyde park earlier in the summer which was comparable but the food in the Theo Randall restaurant was not as creative as La Torre and the staff were not as attentive and friendly.
I do hope the hotel opens again soon so that I can book a short trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intercontinentalmm, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at InterContinental Mar Menor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Pam J,

Firstly I would like to thank you for your time and valuable comments regarding your stay at Hotel Intercontinental Mar Menor Golf Resort & Spa. Customer satisfaction is our main goal and your feedback helps us make sure our guests have a pleasant stay.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future


Please do not hesitate to contact me, should you require any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This Hotel is, without doubt, the most beautiful hotel within the Murcia region. We stayed in July and had a fantastic 2 weeks.
The view from the rooms overlooking the swimming pools and 18th Golf hole were stunning. We found the 3 restaurants very good. The actual Hotel restaurant had great choices on the menu - and a table outside by the pool is a must. The sushi bar, again by the pool, is outstanding - even if you're not keen on Sushi try the cooked options. I personally wouldn't eat in the Irish Pub themed bar- but you get pub style food and would be disappointed if you expected gourmet from this sort of environment!
A rental car is advised as there are lovely beaches near by.

Room Tip: Ensure you get pool views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intercontinentalmm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at InterContinental Mar Menor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Dominic,,

Firstly I would like to thank you for your time and valuable comments regarding your stay at Hotel Intercontinental Mar Menor Golf Resort & Spa. Customer satisfaction is our main goal and your feedback helps us make sure our guests have a pleasant stay.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future


Please do not hesitate to contact me, should you require any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Modern and clean, small hotel in the middle of a golf complex (approx 10 minutes from the beaches of the Mar Menor and Murcia Airport).
Positives were :
* Excellent and clean rooms, with a large majority of them overlooking the pool and golf course (and just a few looking over the road)
* Probably the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in
* Lovely pool area - plenty of sun loungers available during the day (even in August). Staff clearing away towels from unused (but 'reserved') sun beds was good.
* Nice restaurant - we had a 3 course lunch in the main restaurant one of the days which was good
* Friendly and efficient staff
Negatives were:
* Maintenance around the pool area looked to be falling behind. Plenty of loose tiles, worn sunbeds etc
* Noisy on an evening, with lots of kids from the housing development (not from the hotel) coming into the hotel area for discos etc

Overall - would recommend

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intercontinentalmm, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at InterContinental Mar Menor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Family Rids,

Firstly I would like to thank you for your time and valuable comments regarding your stay at Hotel Intercontinental Mar Menor Golf Resort & Spa. Customer satisfaction is our main goal and your feedback helps us make sure our guests have a pleasant stay.

We have improved the maintenance around our main pool.


Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future


Please do not hesitate to contact me, should you require any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Recently visited this hotel with a friend on a last minute 2 night break. Have to say we had the best 2 days. Just 15 mins from the airport, check-in was quick and easy, Our room was on the 4th floor, next door to the suite. We had a fab view of the pool and golf course, The room was beautiful, clean, beds comfy, air con, TV, mini-bar. Bathroom had a spa bath and separate rain shower with lovely toiletries and a little box of useful freebies such as toothbrushes, needle, cotton, lip balm etc. We were sat round the pool within 10 mins of arriving. The pool was just gorgeous and only those staying at the hotel were allowed to use it, so it never got too busy. We totally relaxed for 2 days, swimming, sunbathing, reading and sipping the odd cocktail. Initially we were going to eat out due to the poor reviews of the restaurants here. But we decided to chance it and we weren't disappointed. We just shared a pizza on the first night and OK it wasn't anything spectacular but it was tasty and rioja went down a treat. The second night we had a meal in the main restaurant and both enjoyed it, steak was beautiful and lamb chops really tasty. Service was good and atmosphere warm and relaxing. Breakfast had everything you could want and much more. We never used the spa but it looked amazing and all the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and will be returning ourselves.

Room Tip: It is a drive to the main resort so if you want to venture outside the complex would recommend hirin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intercontinentalmm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at InterContinental Mar Menor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Mr Jo T,

Firstly I would like to thank you for your time and valuable comments regarding your stay at Hotel Intercontinental Mar Menor Golf Resort & Spa. Our guest satisfaction is one of our most relevant objectives; this also has a direct impact in our staff satisfaction, therefore they are willing to provide the guest with the most pleasant stay possible.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future


Please do not hesitate to contact us, should you require any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a stunning and very comfortable room with separate lounge area and a dual aspect terrace overlooking the pool.
Sadly we didn't use the terrace as much as we hoped as the 'entertainment' tended to start at 7/7:30pm and of the four evenings we were there, there were two 'teeny-bopper discos' (each with four renditions of the Macarena), one children's magician show, and one relaxed saxophone player (hurrah - something adult, although would the ambience have been improved without the amplifier). At this time of evening, when the sun is still beautifully warm, we would have liked to remain by the pool, but instead were driven into the room with the (excellently soundproofing) windows closed.
There is no quiet, adults only place (the 'chill-out' bar is next to the teeny-bopper disco and none of the bars are adults only), and it seemed (purely from our observations) that many of the children being entertained were residents of the nearby villas rather than the hotel. We were not prepared for the children's priority from the descriptions on the hotel's website.
The hotel spa is very good (although a little maintenance is required - missing tiles etc), and we enjoyed an excellent massage each.
Dinner and breakfast in the main restaurant was good. Disappointingly, our room service breakfast was missed despite hanging the request out at 7pm the previous evening. Food in the other restaurants in/around the complex is fair-middling (although we enjoyed the recommended Syrah in Fontana). Only one of the hotel bars stays open after midnight (and we'd advise timing your drink orders carefully or be prepared for a very long wait.)
It is a beautiful hotel, but our experience was not 5*.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intercontinentalmm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at InterContinental Mar Menor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Customer,

We are contacting you regarding the comment you submitted at Booking.com with reference to your stay at InterContinental Mar Menor Golf Resort & Spa

Firstly I would like to thank you for your time and valuable comments regarding your stay at Hotel Intercontinental Mar Menor Golf Resort & Spa. Our guest satisfaction is one of our most relevant objectives; this also has a direct impact in our staff satisfaction, therefore they are willing to provide the guest with the most pleasant stay possible.

We are now wroking to developed more activities just for adults to increase their satisfation

I apologise for any inconvenience you might have suffered and we hope to have the opportunity to improve your perception of our hotel in the near future

Please do not hesitate to contact us, should you require any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Great location, beautiful pool, and a couple of nice bars to sit out in the evening. We have stayed before at the hotel and have had a pleasant stay, but it is Often let down by the staff at the Italian (we waited 20 minutes at the table before even getting the menus, even though the place was very quiet)... And don't ever bother going to Olivo as the staff there are the worst in any hotel I have experienced. On a positive note the golf bar and staff at the kids club are very attentive and were great with the kids! I would go back but the manager needs to a serious word with his staff or at least listen and act on the feedback, as its a common theme that has still not been addressed. We are due back in October ... I will wait and see...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intercontinentalmm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at InterContinental Mar Menor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Customer,


Firstly I would like to thank you for your time and valuable comments regarding your stay at Hotel Intercontinental Mar Menor Golf Resort & Spa. Our guest satisfaction is one of our most relevant objectives; this also has a direct impact in our staff satisfaction, therefore they are willing to provide the guest with the most pleasant stay possible.

We haveincrease the staff number in El Olivo Restaurant in order to improve our customer service

I apologise for any inconvenience you might have suffered and we hope to have the opportunity to improve your perception of our hotel next October

Please do not hesitate to contact us, should you require any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Mar Menor Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mar Menor Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Calle Ceiba, s/n | Mar Menor Golf Resort, 30700 Torre-Pacheco, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Region of Murcia > Torre-Pacheco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Torre-Pacheco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Mar Menor Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Mar Menor Golf Resort & Spa is located in Murcia, along the Costa Calida or "Warm Coast". It is a refuge of peace and tranquillity inside the Mar Menor Golf Resort complex, where you can combine business with pleasure, leisure with sports, spa, culture and rest The hotel has 64 spacious luxury rooms, 7 are suites. All of them with private balconies and large bathrooms that offer an independent shower and whirlpool bath. With 8 restaurants and bars, the hotel also offers a full range of gastronomic options and entertainment including a traditional Irish pub. The luxury accommodation is complemented by our Spa of 1100 square metres which offers 3 thermal suites with revitalising pools, sauna, steam room and lifestyle showers, a relaxation room, fitness area and a nice indoor pool with 15 meters of free access for hotel clients. Moreover, 7 treatments rooms with an exclusive range of Spa treatments that combine modern techniques with ancient therapies. The hotel is surrounded by Mar Menor Village Golf an 18 hole Par 72 golf course, part of the celebrated IRM Nike Golf and designed by Jack Nicklaus IRM Nike Golf is completed by 5 golf course 18 holes in 25 km surrounding the hotel: La Torre Golf, El Valle Golf, Hacienda Riquelme Golf, Saurines de la Torre Golf y Alhama Signature Golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your InterContinental Mar Menor Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mar Menor Golf Hotel Torre-Pacheco
Intercontinental Mar Menor Golf Resort And Spa
Mar Menor Hotel
Intercontinental Torre Pacheco
InterContinental Mar Menor Golf Resort & Spa Region Of Murcia, Spain - Torre-Pacheco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Mar Menor Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.