We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sol Los Fenicios, La Herradura” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Los Fenicios Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sol Los Fenicios Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sol Los Fenicios Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Andres Segovia, s/n, 18697 La Herradura, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in La Herradura
Bolsover
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sol Los Fenicios, La Herradura”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and I and 2 friends spent 2 weeks at the Sol Los Fenicios hotel, La Herradura, 23/9/12 to 07/10/12 and we had a wonderful time. The staff at the hotel without exception, were friendly, caring, very pleasant and made us feel really special. The hotel was spotlessly clean everywhere, one of the cleanest we have ever stayed in. It s a small hotel which is really nice and we appreciated the warmth and friendliness of every one of the staff members including the Manager who was 'hands on' each day, Also, the bedding was changed daily which was great! The hotel occupies a lovely position, situated next to the beach and the views are breathtaking.

If I had to complain about anything, it would be that the hotel is not open all year round, such a pity!

Well done all of you and we send our very best wishes to you,

Mavis & Neil Ryder and our 2 friends.

Room Tip: Nearly all the rooms have a partial or sea view, except the ground floor, All the rooms are very spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenicios_Calidad, Manager at Sol Los Fenicios Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Mrs. Ryder, Mr. Ryder and 2 friends,
Thank you very much for taking your time to write a comment regarding your recent stay at our hotel, Sol Los Fenicios. It is a huge pleasure to read that the whole experience among us was to your full satisfaction, which is exactly what we try every day harder.
These feedbacks are the strongest motivation for us to continuous improvement in all areas. We really look forward to welcoming you the soonest possible.

Best wishes from the whole Sol los Fenicios staff!

Carlos Moralo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    30
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
81
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were staying in La Herradura for a wedding and this hotel was recommended by the family.
They were doing a special rate of 62 euros per night for room and breakfast. That was value enough and as long as the rooms were clean we weren't too worried about the breakfasts.
Well the rooms were spotless, staff very friendly and the buffet breakfast were superb.
There is a swimming pool on the roof with a fabulous atrium going from ground floor to roof.
I must mention Arantza who was the receptionist and was very helpful.
We stayed 5 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenicios_Calidad, Recepcionist at Sol Los Fenicios Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear DrTedLondon,

Thank you very much for writing your recent experience among us on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know you felt welcome and very comfortable at our hotel.
I personally would like to thank you for your kind comment about myself.
If you are planning to come back to Sol Los Fenicios Hotel, please, do not hesitate to tell me and with pleasure I will do all our best to ensure a very pleasant stay with us.

Looking forward to welcome you back to the Sol Los Fenicios Hotel.

Arantza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent a week at this lovely Hotel mid Sept. (just avoiding the biblical floods which arrived the next week). The weather was superb 28 degrees most days. If you are after a super chilled break this place ticks all the boxes. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and well appointed with comfortable beds, fridge, sea view etc. The Hotel is just across a quiet road from the beach and in Sept. we had no problem parking our hire car right outside for free. The beach is pebbly or coarse sand and slopes steeply into the water, swimming was fine the 1st few days until a plague of jellyfish arrived making swimming dangerous. The rooftop pool offered a good alternative and although not large was never crowded, having it to ourselves most days. The hotel has a large roof terrace with superb views over the beach and bay with ample sun beds tables chairs umbrellas etc,. The food at the hotel was OK but not outstanding and being a buffet seemed to vary depending on when you arrived. We went for the half board option as it seemed good value but if we stayed again we would go for the B & B. One good thing is you can substitute your evening meal for lunch and choose from a small menu but all the food is freshly prepared. Although buses to Almunecar pass by the Hotel, a hire car is a real boon as it allows one to travel from the relatively quiet village of La Hurrendura to the bustling town of Almunecar about 5 miles away. All in all a lovely hotel in a superb location, we shall probably be back!

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor have a terrace but no sea view. There are about 4suites with sea views and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenicios_Calidad, Manager at Sol Los Fenicios Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear David S,

First of all we thank you thoroughly for having spent your holidays at the Sol Los Fenicios Hotel.

Your kind words are an incentive for all of us in our daily efforts for improving quality and service.
If you are planning to come back to Sol Los Fenicios Hotel, please, do not hesitate to tell us and with a great pleasure we will do all our best to ensure a pleasant stay with us.

Have a nice day and kind regards,

Carlos Moralo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Not to be too boring but I second all the good reviews below.
A lovely small hotel with pleasant and friendly staff. The rooms are large and very clean and the breakfast buffet very comprehensive indeed - you can sit outside overlooking the bay whilst you eat.
If I had one issue at all, it was the jellyfish in the sea - but I can't really blame the hotel for this !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenicios_Calidad, Manager at Sol Los Fenicios Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear CJA58

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are really proud to know that you have full enjoyed your stay at Sol Los Fenicios hotel.

If you are planning to visit us in the future, please, let us know it in advance and we will try all our best to ensure a pleasant stay.

Kind regards,

Carlos Moralo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Set at the end of a beautiful bay the hotel is superbly run by friendly staff, nothing was to much trouble. The staff have managed to take a well appointed hotel and give it a homely feel. Cleanliness is superb, room staff clean the room daily without any disruption to your chosen holiday timings. The rooms are large with a living area and a balcony all with some sea views.
The breakfast buffet is endless with all dietary and tastes catered for as is the evening buffet.
The roof terrace pool has views of the sea and mountains, very clean and with a food/drink service. If I could take this hotel to every holiday destination I would be a very happy traveller.
Just Perfect!!

Room Tip: As far as I could tell each room had a view of the sea from the balcony. I stayed in 213. Large livi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenicios_Calidad, Manager at Sol Los Fenicios Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear DiPChapman ,

First of all, we woul like to thank you for having spent your holidays at Sol Los Fenicios Hotel.

It has been a great pleasure for us to have you here. We are proud to know that you felt very comfortable in our hotel and you enjoyed our services.

All your comments will help us with our continuing effort to improve the service quality for our guests.

Looking forward to welcome you back to the Sol Los Fenicios Hotel.
Sunny greetings from La Herradura,

Carlos Moralo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

La Herradura has a lovely little bay, it's quieter that its louder larger neighbour Almuencar. And this small well run hotel tucked at the castle end is a perfect hideaway. Large rooms with small balconies on either side have adequate ( because of the trapezoid layout) but partial sea views. The hotel operates an adults only policy with a buffet dinner which means great value. The hardworking staff were unstintently helpful and pleasant. The roof top swimming pool seems adequate for the size of hotel but just across the road is Joaquin's really great 'super chiringuito' for drinks and lunch and beach beds too. Remember La Herradura can be quiet...realxing! All of which means it was great for a short break just right for re-charging batteries.

Room Tip: The rooms with the number in the teens have IMHO a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenicios_Calidad, Manager at Sol Los Fenicios Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear TJA44,

Thank you very much for having shared your opinion about, Sol Los Fenicios Hotel and La herradura, with other users of this web.

We appreciate your kind words, specially regarding the staff. I have informed them about your positive comments and they really appreciate them.

We look forward to welcome you in a near future at Sol Los Fenicios Hotel.

Kind regards,

Carlos Moralo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have just spent a week in this hotel with my husband and elderly mother. The staff were superb and we were well looked after. My mother had room 311 which has a walk in shower while very conveniently we were given the room next door. Lovely big rooms with sea views from the balcony. We could not have been closer to the sea if we had tried, a nice clean beach in a beautiful bay and a fabulous beach restaurant nearby. El Chumboa de Joaquin provided us with sun loungers and a chair for Mum and we ate there every day. The seafood casserole was divine, order in advance and be amazed at how much seafood they can pack into this sizzling dish. A buffet breakfast was included with a great selection of fruits, cereals, cooked eggs and bacon, toast, ham, cheeses. No complaints there except the fruit juices were way too sugary for my taste. We ordered fresh juice which we paid for but was a big improvement on the buffet juice provided. The swimming pool and sun terrace on the rooftop was delightful. We would definitely return. La Herradura is a beautiful village and great location to explore the surrounding beaches and coastal towns.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenicios_Calidad, Manager at Sol Los Fenicios Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Mrs. KatrinaGranada;
First of all we would like to thank you for having spent your holidays at the Sol Los Fenicios Hotel.

We are glad to hear that you have full enjoyed your holiday in our hotel.

Your words are an incentive for us in our efforts for improving our service.
If you are planning to come back to Sol Los Fenicios Hotel, please, do not hesitate to tell us and we will try all our best to ensure a pleasant stay with us.

Greetings from La Herradura,

Carlos Moralo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sol Los Fenicios Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Los Fenicios Hotel

Address: Paseo Andres Segovia, s/n, 18697 La Herradura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > La Herradura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in La Herradura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Los Fenicios Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Melia, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sol Los Fenicios Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia La Herradura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Los Fenicios Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.