We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food and a stunning location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Gaviota

La Gaviota
Paseo de Andres Segovia, 18697 La Herradura, Spain
958 827 550
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 38 Restaurants in La Herradura
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Tasty food and a stunning location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

La Gaviota was our favourite restaurant in town and we ate here a few times on our recent short holiday. It’s not haute cuisine but you will be served very tasty, fresh well cooked food by a happy band of waiting staff at wallet friendly prices in a stunning location – you would be having a very bad day if you did not enjoy a meal here.

If you are facing the sea in the centre of La Herradura you will find La Gaviota at the right end of the bay, about 15 to 20 minutes walk away. It’s the first of the small group of restaurants at that end, situated right on the beach with its own car parking area.

There is a bar at the front, where you can have a drink and tapas if you don’t feel like a full meal, with the main restaurant on a terrace at the back facing the sea – picture postcard location with views to match. On a sunny afternoon in late September with the restaurant to ourselves, an empty beach and a bottle of Albarino this seemed like paradise. As the weather gets more chilly the terrace is covered up and it’s quite cosy in the evening.

The menu is pretty much the same as you will find in other restaurants in town but the food here seemed much fresher and was particularly tasty. Fish is always a good thing to order so I’d advise have a chat with the friendly waiting staff to see what they recommend. Stand out dishes we tried were a starter of gambas pil pil which was enough for two to share, a very tasty garlic chicken and a wonderful plate of delicately fried mixed fish.

The wine list is good with some interesting wines at very reasonable prices. If you like sherry I’d recommend ordering the small bottle of La Guita Manzanilla as a perfect way to start your meal; enough for two generous glasses at only 4 euros. The house wine is very easy drinking at 8 euro and if you want to push the boat out a little there is a decent bottle of Albarino for 15 euro.

If you only have time to enjoy one meal in La Herradura I would recommend that you visit La Gaviota for a long lazy lunch followed by a leisurely stroll along the beach back into town - perfect.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    37
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wantage
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“At the far, far, end of the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

If you are staying in the Melia Fenicios Hotel, this restaurant is at the other end of the bay, hidden behind the bridge. It is probably the best of all the restaurants on the beach, although that really isn't the greatest recommendation in the world.....
The staff are friendly, the food is good, but it is all too damn English !! A bit more authentic Spanish would be wonderful. I had a lovely swordfish steak - what does it come with ? A great pile of chips.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth the trip for the pannacotta alone!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Not much to look at from the outside but the squid is the softest I have ever eaten. Really enjoyed our meal, the service was second to none and the pannacotta is to die for. Would thoroughly recommend you give it a try.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelling the World
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“This place is #1 in La Herradura for a reason!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

La Gaviota, a family run restaurant, is a real treat for foodies!

Set right on the beach, this place is one of the restaurants farthest away from the main strip of La Herradura, a small beach town in Andalusia, Spain.

The service was outstanding and the food truly unforgettable. And, personally, I think it's the best food you will find in La Herradura.

TIP: Get anything that has octopus or gambas (shrimp) and you will think you've died and gone to heaven. Also, their panna cotta the best I've ever tasted!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great food at a very reasonible price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We had a nice evening in this restaurant, directly situated at the beach.
Short menu with a good choice of local dishes like tapas, meat and of course - sea food. Our whole table ate fish and we had nothing to complain, the different dishes where delicate and prepared according to local recipes. We where served with local white and rosé wines of high quality.
As the father of the owner seems to be a local fisherman we understood the great quality and freshness of the seafood.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gaviota also viewed

La Herradura, Province of Granada
La Herradura, Province of Granada
 
La Herradura, Province of Granada
La Herradura, Province of Granada
 

Been to La Gaviota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Gaviota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.