We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love the outdoors, getting off the beaten track and experiencing local hospitality this is for you.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Geco Verde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added El Geco Verde to your Saves list
El Geco Verde
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Paraje Gorro, Manuel Diaz | Campo Cebas, 18816 Castril De La Pena, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“If you love the outdoors, getting off the beaten track and experiencing local hospitality this is for you.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We had a wonderful four days over Easter at El Geco Verde. In the heart of Andalucia with easy access to national parks this is an off the beaten track must do. We loved the peace and quiet, absence of people, amazing views and local knowledge shared by Ilaria and Derek. Easy to drive to from local airports and nothing a problem for the hosts.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lorca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

What a marvelous find.. 3 km down a very safe and leval track As you come over the final rise there glistening in the sun is this absolute gem of a hotel. Its not luxurious and doesnt offer gold fittings and jacuzzi baths but it is such an oasis of peace and tranquility. The hosts quickly become your friends and nothing is too much trouble for them. As already mentioned the home cooked food is delicious there is an honesty bar so drinks are available 24/7.Our bed was very comfortable and we had 2 very good night sleep Breakfast is continental so not huge, but ample. The surrounding area is amazing. So much to see and do we run out of time and will definatly be returning.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fanwood, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Beautiful area, beautiful house. I stayed for a week in October with my kids, 8 & 10. Ilaria and Derek renovated the house brilliantly. It sits atop a hill overlooking almond and olive trees. they were so helpful in planning our time there. Ilaria booked horseback riding and stargazing for us. The star gazing was spectacular. The astronomer came to the house one night and brought telescopes and a laser pointer to show what he was talking about. It actually worked to point out stars. The kids really enjoyed it. We took an overnight trip to Granada to see the amazing Alhambra. Ilaria is a wonderful cook, as well. We had dinner at El Geco Verde every night. My daughter is a very picky vegetarian, and she was very happy. Ilaria made pizza with the kids one night. Their kids are very well-behaved, nice boys. They have four friendly, outside dogs. They are the official welcome committee and patio and walking companions. My kids and I loved them.

It is quite high up, and was cooler than I expected. We went in late October, so there was no swimming. But if you dress for it, it is lovely. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

What a stunning location for a family run hotel. You can spend hours just sitting on the terrace and admiring the panoramic views. It is so peaceful, a wonderful place for birdwatching or while away the hours with a good book and a cool drink, have a dip in the pool to cool off and then prepare yourself for a beautiful homemade meal. If you want more activities Derek can arrange, mountain biking, canoeing, walking etc. Both Derek and Illaria are excellent hosts and ensure your stay is one to remember. The location is off the beaten track, but do not worry the track is very good, it takes you past olive and almond groves, you may pass the local shepherd with his sheep or the odd tractor tending the fields, all idyllic.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in October 2011. The first thing to mention is to make sure you get directions before you depart as it is difficult to find especially at night, as it is well off the beaten track. The setting of the hotel is sensational. You will be warmly welcomed here. The rooms are large and tastefully designed and spotlessly clean. Home cooked food was good. The hosts and their young family are very attentive and very helpful, offering you help and guidance about what to see in the area and where to go. Above all, the hotel is very good value for money. We would definitely love to return for longer next time.

Room Tip: You will always be offered the best available room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We spent 6 enjoyable days here and really loved the peaceful location of the hotel. The rooms are very spacious, clean and thoughtfully decorated. The outdoor terraced area is perfect for lounging or dining, with panoramic views of the surrounding olive and almond trees and hills beyond. We thoroughly recommend the home-cooked meals and selection of great wines offered by the owners. Highlights of our holiday were exploring the national parks, plunging into freezing cold river pools, Huescar market, Castril - and it's honey! and canyoning.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We absolutely loved staying at this beautiful bed and breakfast. It is new and has been renovated with excellent taste. In addition, the views are spectacular and very peaceful. Ilaria and Derek are warm, welcoming hosts and they are excellent chefs! Their food is homemade and so refreshing, like eating at your favorite friend's house. We were traveling with small children, and we were totally taken care of. El Geco Verde is very quiet and romantic too if you are looking for that kind of getaway. Close to El Geco is beautiful national park, and the charming village of Castril.

Room Tip: Each room is unique, charming and they all have views. The hosts can recommend the best room for yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Geco Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Geco Verde

Address: Paraje Gorro, Manuel Diaz | Campo Cebas, 18816 Castril De La Pena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Castril De La Pena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Castril De La Pena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Geco Verde 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Geco Verde is an ecological country hotel with stunning views in the magical Altiplano region of Granada, Andalucia. Our little hotel is fully off-grid, family run and family friendly. We specialise in tailor-made walking and activity holidays, so you can go at your own pace and get the right balance between action and relaxation. The nearby natural parks of Cazorla and Castril offer fantastic terrain for all outdoor activities, from idyllic mountain walks to lovely calm lakes for kayaking with the kids. Let our inside knowledge guide you through this fascinating and authentic corner of rural Spain, from sleepy whitewashed towns to curious troglodyte villages, discovering along the way a wealth of archaeological treasures and gastronomic delights. We offer twin/double rooms, family rooms or the whole hotel to hire, with capacity for up to 20 people. So whether you are longing to get off the beaten track, seeking adventure with the kids or planning a special get-together for colleagues or friends, have no doubts; El Geco Verde is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your El Geco Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Geco Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.