We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Balcon de las Nieves

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added El Balcon de las Nieves to your Saves list
El Balcon de las Nieves
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Alayos, 174 | Cumbres Verdes, 18140 La Zubia, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in La Zubia
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We have just spent three nights at this hotel. Lovely quiet location within 15 minutes drive from the centre of Granada. Great views from our bedroom window. Enjoyed the freshly squeezed orange juice in morning. Staff very helpful. Would have been nice to have had a kettle in our room or bottled water but other than that all great.
Julie Gray
Scotland

Room Tip: Choose one with view over Granada
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    6
    1
    3
    4
See reviews for
8
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. John
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

This small (9 room) hotel with resident dog ( Enzo) in the lobby is great if you like rural with a view and close to town and hiking in Mountains. The staff could not have been nicer, arranging tickets for the Alhambra at the last minute.
We stayed 3 nts and enjoyed it. The breakfast is basic. The rooms are Adequate but could use new towels . It is in a quiet neighborhood.
I would return. Good value for the money

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

We stayed just one night on our way through Andalusie. Very nice lodge/hotel on a great location. It is in Cumbres Verdes national park and close to the Sierra Nevada. You can start hiking right out of your hotel. Breakfast buffet was basic.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

Potentially very charming hotel, with great views from Sierra Nevada over Granada. Broken toilet seat (clearly not recently), dubious bath and lack of undersheet indicated a lack of investment not matching the high price. We declined to stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Long-term broken toilet seat!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

This is a great little rural hotel set up in the mountains close to the Sierra Nevada. I have stayed here twice, first in August 2006 and in June of this year.
The standard rooms with the balconies are the best in my opinion, but take a jacket as it gets pretty cold in the evening even in August. Last time we stayed in the upgraded room which has the best views and a jacuzzi bath. Yes the views are amazing, but you dont have a balcony to sit outside other than at the front. I don´t think its worth the extra money apart from the size, bathroom is a little dated too.

The pool looks nice, but I have not been in. There are a few sunloungers to relax too. Breakfast in the morning is served alongside the pool, buffet style. Not a great choice but fairly standard in Spain.

There are some great little bars in La Zubia itself, only a 10 minute drive away, and of course you get a free tapas every time you order a drink..

I havent eaten in the hotel, but the owners are very friendly and she offered to cook us a menu of the day if we wanted. there is a restaurant close to the hotel as well although it has been closed both times I have visited.
One tip, if you want to visit the Alhambra book in advance!

  • Liked — Sipping a glass of wine on the balcony looking out over Granada
  • Disliked — Dated bathroom in the suite & lack of hot water for the jacuzzi
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Balcon de las Nieves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Balcon de las Nieves

Address: C/ Alayos, 174 | Cumbres Verdes, 18140 La Zubia, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > La Zubia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in La Zubia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Balcon de las Nieves 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Balcón is located between the Alhambra and the Snow, in the heart of Sierra Nevada Nature Reserve, at an altitude of 1.250 meters and just 9 kilometers far from the monumental Granada. It is surrounded by a pine grove, there are some wonderful views….… A paradise!You will find a family and personalized manner as well as the services and comfort of a modern holiday resort. There are a swimming pool with a summer terrace, and a spacious and comfortable lounge where to spend some pleasant and warm winter evenings thanks to its fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your El Balcon de las Nieves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Balcon De Las Nieves La Zubia, Spain - Andalucia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Balcon de las Nieves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.