We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cortijo La Fe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cortijo La Fe to your Saves list
Cortijo La Fe
Solana de Covaleda, 18270 Montefrio, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Montefrio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cullman, Alabama
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My wife and I had an unbelievable experience staying at Cortijo La Fe during our recent bicycle tour. We had cycled about 50 km to get there, and within 1 km of the hotel my wife took a spill on her bike on the rough and rocky road and received a small but scary head wound. After recovering enough to continue we arrived to see Dominique rushing out to meet us. After seeing we had a first aid problem, she rushed to get her very well stocked first aid kit and her husband Richard (Ricardo) to assist. Luckily, we got everything cleaned up and dressed without a trip to the hospital and were able to continue with our stay. We had already decided to spend the next day there at the Cortijo to rest and recover and had the unbelievable luck to be the only guests there during our 2 nights. So we had the place to ourselves and were treated to a wonderful & romantic dinner and fantastic conversation for too short a time. The turkish bath was fantastic, and I haven't been anywhere this quiet and relaxing in a long time. They helped us make arrangements for our next stop in Granada, getting Alhambra tickets, and reservations at Las Estrellas Mirador San Nicolas (which is THE place to splurge for a meal in Granada). Dominique & Richard have a fascinating life story, and were so entertained getting to hear it in Dominique's enthusiastic and inimitable style. We loved her to death!
If you're in the area, it's worth a stop for a drink or just to say hi even if you can't stay the night. Beautiful place and fantastic hosts we'll always remember.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
38
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darien, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Beautiful hotel in the middle of olive groves and countryside. Perfect for hikes and walks, on like for us, a stop on our way between Granada and the White Villages. High standards and comfortable rooms, incredible service from Dominique and Ricardo. The food is excellent, so make sure to book dinner in advance and have breakfast by the terrace if the weather is nice. Ricardo prepared fresh bread and gave us a sampling of local products. Book time at the hamam, is is beautiful and relaxing, this sets the place apart from all others! Owners were very accommodating with our 2 small children, they had a wonderful experience as well.
Thank you so much, we hope to return in the near future. Early spring was the best season to visit.

Room Tip: Our room was spacious for an extra bed and a crib. They also have a suite with 2 rooms, excellent fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Here you will find the peace, not only the one in the trees but the one inside you. I stayed here three times, and each time I enjoy so much. Food is delicious, owner are very kind and they always do the best for you. I highly recommend this place!!!
Arabic bath and food are so so wonderful :-)

Room Tip: Take the Nazari or the Mamunia, is the one I preferred or go on there website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Thank you Dominique and Ricardo. We stayed here 2 nights as part of a cycling country journey. It has been the highlight of our tour. A beautiful cortijo, lovely art and furnishings in a moorish style. The hamam was a wonderful experience after our long cycle. All food was local and the best/ most adventurous we have experienced. Great and helpful hosts.
Without a doubt we shall return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Beautiful setting after a 15 min drive down a dirt road and don't forget to give a days notice if its a hot meal you want,apparently 12 hours notice is not enough even though i offered to do the shopping myself as Dominique told us all the food was frozen :-(
Asked for a brandy after my cold soup and cold meal and gave me a bottle which said brandy on it but hard to describe what is was,think maybe wine dregs and port seems appropriate.
Off she went to find some "BRANDY" after telling us she was sure she had some somewhere and came back and asked did I want some whiskey in my coffee.
Rooms ok from 87 euro to 127 Euro per night but dont get the 87 one if you want a door on your bathroom !!!!!!!!!!!
Didn't see Basil but saw plenty of female version of Manuel
Would I return !!!!!! not even if it was free

Room Tip: 87 euro a night has no bathroom door
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

An amazing place. Our family of 4 stayed 3 nights in the Suite del Califato in late June. Dominique and Ricardo were excellent and friendly hosts, helping us plan our 3 days in and around Granada, preparing amazing dinners and breakfasts, and taking care of any other needs we had. The surrounding olive groves and spectacular views from the suite's balcony made this a perfect first stop after a grueling trip from the US. We'd love to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here as part of a Cycling Country bike tour. About 2 km off the main road, a very lovely and unique place to stay, a quiet oasis a midst olive groves. Dominique and her husband prepared an awesome dinner highlighting local products, cheeses, vegetables, ham and a stunning pear pie.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cortijo La Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortijo La Fe

Address: Solana de Covaleda, 18270 Montefrio, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Montefrio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Montefrio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's a place in Montefrio where silence and quietness invites you to relax. Dazzling and peaceful landscapes are mixed with architectural beauty. The influence of the Arab cultural heritage is a palpable reminder of one of the last Al-Andalus' strong holds.Cortijo La Fe will make you forget the stress of the city. The area has been renovated keeping intact the architectural tradition of the site, which is in the Andaluz style, meaning a mixture of Christian and Arabian culture. All the rustic rooms are carefully decorated, adding a special look, elegance and harmony. The countryside spirit has been kept in the 700 m2 of area cover by the site.Cortijo La Fe is a great place to stay, it exhibits a magic atmosphere, perfect for total intimacy.Cortijo La Fe noted for an exclusive accommodation in its splendid and spacious rooms: five double rooms, one for 3 people (triple) and one suite room for 4 people.A large dining room with TV and eastern lounge where you can enjoy a typical Moroccan tea, both the rooms with fireplaces, also give you a warm welcome.Rustic furniture in line with the surroundings makes up the furniture of house. The domain has central heating.You can enjoy many unusual places in Cortijo La Fe, like a "Hammam", the Turkish baths made of tiles from Morocco (Zellige Belli), the "Notre Dame of Angels", a chapel considered a little jewel of contemporary religious art, a multi-purpose lounge that can be used for meetings, cultural activities, relaxation or meditation, besides swimming pool and extensive gardens.There is also a kitchen garden with all kinds of garden products, aromatics and medicinal plants ecologically cultivated and fully furnished kitchen.Experience therapeutic and relaxation massages with a previous reservation.Free services: parking, wifi, outdoor terrace and multipurpose room (in case of a whole house rental). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cortijo La Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cortijo La Fe Spain/Montefrio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cortijo La Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.