We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hammam heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cortijo La Fe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cortijo La Fe to your Saves list
Cortijo La Fe
Solana de Covaleda, 18270 Montefrio, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Montefrio B&B and Inns
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hammam heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed one night here prior to visiting a horse riding school near Montefrio - we wished we had stayed longer. Our French host has a beautiful home with a stunning view over the valley. On our arrival we were shown our spacious, clean room before we enjoyed a private hour in the onsite hammam, which was incredibly relaxing and had the feel of a genuine Arab baths. We ate dinner at the house, exquisitely prepared by our hosts, and there was also a comfortable livingroom to relax, read and listen to music with other guests. The house is reached via a long track which is bumpy in places but well worth the effort. Dinner and the hammam cost extra, so ask before, but worth the money in our opinion.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
35
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed here with two other couples in late March for one night during our tour of the white villages. The setting off the beaten path among thousands of olive trees is very special. Two of us booked the hamman and thoroughly enjoyed the refreshing warm and hot waters heated by "olive bones". We had all planned in going into town for supper but rain and slick roads changed our minds. So we asked Dominique if they could throw a little something together for us for supper. They provided a delightful table of breads, cheeses, ham and wine for us. It was the perfect conclusion to our first full day in Spain. After a fine sleep in our fine rooms in the quiet of the olive groves and a hearty breakfast we reluctantly said goodbye to a special place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Nicest place we stayed at during our 2 weeks in Spain. Totally out of the way, 2 km on a dirt road in gorgeous mountains surrounded by olives and almonds trees with unbelievable views from the terrace to your room. No noise, only birds and nature. The owner will make you a degustation menu for dinner on request. Just a few rooms and the owner Dominique and Richard are extremely welcoming. Nicely decorated with a mixture of Andalusia and Morocco giving the place a very relaxing feeling. If you like special places off of the beaten track, just go. AMAZING !!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have spent one of the best vacations in our live at Cortijo la Fe. The owners: Dominique and Richard – are extremely positive and pleasant people. Their care makes the guest’s stay truly relaxing. Guests find themselves in the middle of olive groves, in the atmosphere of culm and peace. What was really important – there were no neighbor dogs barking at 6 a.m. so you can be sure that nothing will disturb your sleep. You also have an opportunity to relieve your stress at relaxing and wonderfully decorated hammam.

The place is perfectly well located in relation to the points of interest like Granada (1 hour drive), Cordoba (2h). You can also reach not so well known, but sometimes even more wonderful places like Montefrio with it’s nice cathedral and old castle, Alcala la Real wit it’s Fortaleza de La Mota, Alhama de Granada with it’s hot springs and medieval walking path, Jaen wit’s wonderful cathedral and Castillo de Santa Catalina wit it’s spectacular view over the city.

The food is great! You can be sure that at the afternoon you get wonderful plates of French, Andalusian or Moroccan cuisine accompanied by well-balanced choice of a wine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lommel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night last august, during a 3day car trip through some of the Andalucian innland. That was the only mistake we made, we should have stayed several nights more in the idyllic Cortijo la Fe. Of course there is no highway up unto the front door, but that"s just part of the charme. Totally of the beaten track, rest, authenticity,calm, luxury, honoust fresh rural cuisine made by the host and hostess, what do you need more? Next time we will book a session in their home made BEAUTIFULL arabic bath as stated on their website. I loved the eager of the hostess to make everything to her guests liking, as I admired her husbands quiet background work. we had a great dinner and an even better breakfast on the terrace in the shadow of the cover provided by some very old vines. I just hope I can return to them again, someday...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitburn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Such a beautiful hotel, remote, unspoilt, peaceful. A fantastic place to unwind. We booked the suite for a week. We were well looked after, Fresh water, fresh towels as required. We had the place to ourselves a lot of time and therefore felt like we had our own personal service. Dominque and Richard are amazing, friendly, helpful hosts full of informative tips etc for sightseeing around the area.

Turkish bath very relaxing. Home cooked dinner with home grown veg. It was delicious. I think what did it for us was sitting outside under the stars with a cool breeze and a bottle of wine after dinner .

Definitely a place to go if you really want to get away from it all.

Thank you Dominique and Richard for a fantastic holiday

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I will begin by saying that if you end up staying here, the road going in from the highway is unmarked. Look for a two-story white stucco restaurant called "La Plaza" with a (as I recall) a grape arbor behind a wall ON the highway ...this is the SECOND major road past the town of Montefrio (on google maps, it was labeled Camino Peru). The views coming in on the highway are exactly what you'll get, and they're wonderful. This is a villa nestled in the hilly groves of olive trees, and on the surface, it's the perfect place to unwind. But I'll come back to that point in a bit.

Our drive in was white knuckles on a single lane, very steep dirt road. As we ascended the first of two steep hills, an ATV came barreling over the hill. Had we been further along, I'm SURE one of the two vehicles would have gone over the unguarded embankment. In retrospect, it was fine, but I'd warn against approaching at night or in the rain without knowing this small fact. The only direction you'll have are the hand painted "cortijo la fe" signs about 2 feet from the ground (brown lettering on a beige background is a pretty silly color scheme for a country back drop, but if you know to look for them, you WILL see them).

The compound is very attractive and clean. The vistas are wonderful. There was one party when we arrived, and they had opted out of staying an extra day (our first clue). The hostess gave us an extensive tour, proudly recounting the many tales of building the compound from a broken down farm house, and I'm sure it was quite an effort, but we were pretty tired from the trip and a bit harried from our dance with the ATV. I was really hoping to just check in and relax. No such luck. She really is very charming, but has not learned the art of the arms length distance from guests.

We had chosen one of the rooms listed on the site. In fairness ... all of the prices ARE there, so I really should have made an effort up front to find them. Apparently, I chose THE most expensive one, and for the life of me, I can't figure out how they get away with charging 120 Euros for a double room in the middle of nowhere. They promote the turkish bath thing, but we were told that we couldn't use it while the other guests were there (why?), and she absolutely needed to know whether we were going to take a bath by dinner time, or else she'd turn the "works" off. This makes a certain amount of sense, but it seemed like every time I turned around, I was being asked to commit to some future use of some feature without knowing what I was accepting/declining..

First ... I needed to commit to dinner there ahead of time because of shopping and such. OK, even though I wasn't told the price of it, nor was I given the menu. Whatevs ... it'll likely be good, because ... it's Spain, right? Then, the bath. Then the wifi, which had recently been installed and needed to have the bugs worked out. I think I'm pretty relaxed, but the hostess is a bit on the intrusive side, which makes relaxing a task best done behind a locked door.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cortijo La Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortijo La Fe

Address: Solana de Covaleda, 18270 Montefrio, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Montefrio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Montefrio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's a place in Montefrio where silence and quietness invites you to relax. Dazzling and peaceful landscapes are mixed with architectural beauty. The influence of the Arab cultural heritage is a palpable reminder of one of the last Al-Andalus' strong holds.Cortijo La Fe will make you forget the stress of the city. The area has been renovated keeping intact the architectural tradition of the site, which is in the Andaluz style, meaning a mixture of Christian and Arabian culture. All the rustic rooms are carefully decorated, adding a special look, elegance and harmony. The countryside spirit has been kept in the 700 m2 of area cover by the site.Cortijo La Fe is a great place to stay, it exhibits a magic atmosphere, perfect for total intimacy.Cortijo La Fe noted for an exclusive accommodation in its splendid and spacious rooms: five double rooms, one for 3 people (triple) and one suite room for 4 people.A large dining room with TV and eastern lounge where you can enjoy a typical Moroccan tea, both the rooms with fireplaces, also give you a warm welcome.Rustic furniture in line with the surroundings makes up the furniture of house. The domain has central heating.You can enjoy many unusual places in Cortijo La Fe, like a "Hammam", the Turkish baths made of tiles from Morocco (Zellige Belli), the "Notre Dame of Angels", a chapel considered a little jewel of contemporary religious art, a multi-purpose lounge that can be used for meetings, cultural activities, relaxation or meditation, besides swimming pool and extensive gardens.There is also a kitchen garden with all kinds of garden products, aromatics and medicinal plants ecologically cultivated and fully furnished kitchen.Experience therapeutic and relaxation massages with a previous reservation.Free services: parking, wifi, outdoor terrace and multipurpose room (in case of a whole house rental). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cortijo La Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cortijo La Fe Spain/Montefrio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cortijo La Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.