We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect and relaxing location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Finca del Castillo Arabe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lecrin Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Finca del Castillo Arabe
Save Saved
You added La Finca del Castillo Arabe to your Saves list
Camino de Las Eras | Murchas, 18656, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Kent, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect and relaxing location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

This wonderful B&B is located only 30 minutes south of Granada, which provides a perfect location to explore not only Granada, but the nearby Sierra Nevada mountains and the beaches to the south. Scarlett and Chris provided excellent local restaurant recommendations which were all delicious. The breakfasts on the terrace complete with eggs cooked to order (and meat if desired) was the best part of the day. This was the perfect place to unwind from a hectic life and recharge. Take a walk down the road to the river or explore the nearby castle ruins. Of all the places we visited in Spain and Portugal on our trip, this was the best! Thank you Chris and Scarlett. Steve and Kathi.

Room Tip: They are all great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScarlettFarrow, Owner at La Finca del Castillo Arabe, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you Steve and Kathi for your kind review. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting you both, are delighted that you loved being at La Finca as much as we do and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Traveling with two other couples we wanted a day away from the towns, museums, cathedrals, and mosques, and were fortunate to find a cooking class with Scarlett, assisted by Chris.
Chris met us at the Alhambra and two cars brought us out to La Finca for a great lunch, a 3-hour cooking class on how to make garlic soup, traditional paella, and orange cake. We then walked the property, shared some more wine, and had a delicious dinner with the guests at the B&B, followed by a drive back to Granada.

Had we known how wonderful Scarlett and Chris and what a great facility they provide as a B&B, we would have stayed the night. Next time I guess.

If looking for a break from the cities while touring Spain, this is great respite, with two really nice people who truly open their home to their guests.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScarlettFarrow, Owner at La Finca del Castillo Arabe, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you all for choosing La Finca del Castillo Arabe for your cookery class - we had a ball meeting and spending the day with you all. Wish it could have been longer - so you will have to come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

If you are looking for a quiet and individual place right in the middle of hundreds of orange and olive trees you should stay at La Finca and have a great breakfast on the terrace. Enjoy lovely views over the surrounding mountains and relax at the fire place in the evening.
We really recommend this B&B. We would have liked to stay for longer.
Julia&Chris

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScarlettFarrow, Owner at La Finca del Castillo Arabe, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Julia and Chris - it was a great pleasure to welcome you here and to see you enjoy La Finca del Castillo Arabe and its surroundings. Thank you for your kind words and we do hope we will see you again for longer. There is so much more for you to see and do around here - as well of course to relax and restore at La Finca itself. All the best to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Our only regret about our stay at La FInca is that it wasn't longer! We arrived there a bit bedraggled and Scarlett and Chris welcomed us with open arms to their lovely home. They prepared what was probably the best meals we had in our 10 days in Spain. They were so accomidating to my various dietary requirements, as well as kind and nurturing to my travel companion, who was feeling a bit under the weather. Our room was clean and charming with all the little details that make someones house feel like a home. Their amazing hospitality began before we even arrived, with Scarlett painstakingly assisting me with our itinerary. She even helped us after we left! All of her recommendations were spot on. Scarlett and Chris are incredible hosts - we could have spent even more hours being entertained by their stories of life in Spain. We loved them and we loved our short, but memorable stay at La Finca. If we ever return to that part of the country, a much longer stay here will be a requirement! It was indeed perfection.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScarlettFarrow, Owner at La Finca del Castillo Arabe, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for your kind words Judy. It was our pleasure to have you to stay - albeit for a short stay. We love to look after our guests the best we can. Some people have an easy time when they travel in Spain - others are not so lucky. We just want to make sure that everyone's experience with us is a good one. If guests have received less than excellence elsewhere the least we can do is our very best to make up for it when they stay at La Finca!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Had the most wonderful time here for 6 days. Off the beaten track with only the sounds of fiestas in nearby towns to 'disturb' the peace. Scarlett and Chris are wonderful hosts, available to answer any questions but respectful of your privacy also. The pool is a dream, the rooms truly comfortable, the guest kitchen better equipped (by far!) than my one at home, the ethos of the finca inspiring and the animals great fun. And Scarlett's food.... Highly recommend this as a base to get back in touch with yourself.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScarlettFarrow, Owner at La Finca del Castillo Arabe, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
We enjoyed having you both Naomi and hope we will see you again before too long. We are so glad that what we have created here provided you with the rest and relaxation you were looking for. Its all we ask!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bognor regis
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed with Scarlett and Chris last september for 3 nights and were made to feel thoroughly comfortable and at home the complete time we were there.
A delightful pair of hosts that nothing is too much trouble for.
Do try Scarletts cooking in the evenings - you will find it hard to beat!
Location excellent for visiting Granada and the Sierra Nevada mountain region.
Very peaceful setting with wonderful views which is why Chris and Scarlett built there.
Rooms very well apportioned and appointed - top notch quality all round.
For peace quiet and relaxation - unbeatable

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScarlettFarrow, Owner at La Finca del Castillo Arabe, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and appreciation of La Finca - it is always so good to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. We look forward to your next visit before too long!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraira, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We spent just 2 nights at Chris and Scarlett's finca while on a short break in Andulucia. We were the only guests, and having contacted us to find our approximate arrival time, the log burner in our suite was already lit and very welcoming. Our suite was very spacious with a double bedroom, a large family room and very spacious wet shower room. Chris and Scarlett are exceptional hosts who have worked extremely hard to make the perfect home in an area of exceptional natural beauty. Nothing is too much trouble and they gave us much advice on what to see when we drove to explore the Alpujarras region.

The breakfasts and evening meals were excellent. Evening meals started with tapas and a drink in the main lounge and wood burner, before moving to the dining area. Scarlett is a superb cook, and we do like our food!

In short, this is a great place to stay for a relaxing break in superb countryside with excellent hosts who really enjoy what they do , and are very interested in communicating with their guests.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScarlettFarrow, Owner at La Finca del Castillo Arabe, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. It was really a pleasure to meet you both and we very much look forward to your next visit. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Finca del Castillo Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Finca del Castillo Arabe

Address: Camino de Las Eras | Murchas, 18656, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Lecrin Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lecrin Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Finca is located in 10 tranquil acres among orange and olive groves with stunning views of El Valle de Lecrin - only 30 minutes drive to the centre of Granada and the Alhambra, the picturesque "hanging" white villages of the Alpujarras or Costa Tropical National Park beaches and 45 minutes from the most southerly ski slopes in Europe.El Valle de Lecrin was called the Valley of Happiness by the Moors who lived here after their evacuation from Granada. Three rivers run through the area and it has many water falls. It is an area full of Moorish and Civil War history and is outstandingly beautiful.La Finca adjoins National Park and fantastic low-level walks, wild fauna and flora are literally on the doorstep. Enjoy sights of eagles, wild boar and deer from the terraces while sipping a glass of wine and tasting some of La Finca's tempting treatsIf you are feeling energetic other activities at La Finca include Tapas and Spanish Flavours cookery classes, Granada Wines tasting and watercolour painting - all of which are liberally interspersed with periods of relaxation by the pool, good food - even massages by our visiting masseurActivities near to La Finca are high-level walking, horse trekking, beach time, skiing, jewellery making, herb walks, sailing, diving, sightseeing the Alhambra, shopping in Granada, Tapas Touring, even rock climbing and motorcycle trekking - so much to see and do! Just contact Chris and Scarlett - they are really good at pointing you in the right directionOf course you may decide to do nothing but retreat, relax and revive in the comfort of La Finca, spend time to snooze in a hammock, float in the pool, a massage, chat and share a delicious organic meal with other guests on the terrace, or a romantic meal in a private patio…. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Finca del Castillo Arabe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.