We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly locals and a good room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of John Barleycorn Inn

John Barleycorn Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Goring-on Thames
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
John Barleycorn Inn
Save
You added John Barleycorn Inn to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Manor Road, Goring-on Thames RG8 9DP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
South Bend, Indiana
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Friendly locals and a good room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Nicely run pub/B&B. We were given the "French" room which as the landlady, Monica, explained is a bit smaller but has a great attached bathroom with a huge tub. She figured rightly so that a soaking tub for us walkers would be welcome. Comparatively, the room was not that small. Gratefully we were assisted in carrying up our heavy suitcases which had been sent on via a luggage service. Both dinner and breakfast were nicely prepared. Enjoyed pub favorites of steak and ale pie at dinner and the 'full English' at breakfast. Locals were friendly and interested in real ales as are we.

Room Tip: Only have experience with the French room out of the three available. But would highly recommend it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    29
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
35
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The perfect small inn; this is as far from a chain hotel as it is possible to get.
I had booked the Miller at Mansfield on Booking.com, but got an email from them saying that they were full, that there had been a mistake made. they offered to find me an alternative and they booked me into the John Barleycorn.
Friendly small pub/inn, about four or five bedrooms I think. I was given 'Africa', a vaguely African themed room that was comfortable, clean and quiet, overlooking the beer garden at the rear.
Food was somewhat above average pub fare. I had the steak and ale pie and it was delicious.
The landlord and landlady are very down-to earth, friendly and hospitable people who are the perfect people to run a place lie this. You just feel right at home.
I used the John Barleycorn as a one-night stopover on a hike on the Thames Path, but I will return for a longer stay. My kind of place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were treated to a very warm welcome when we recently visited the John Barleycorn for an evening meal. The building simply oozes character and the landlord and his staff are extremely friendly and attentive. The atmosphere and friendliness is as close to "how pubs used to be" as you are likely to find in the 21st century. The quality of the food and value for money is considerably better than many similar pub type restaurants, with a good menu to choose from. Presentation of the dishes was very stylish, with portion sizes to satisfy all but the greediest of people. The desert offerings are particularly scrummy, mixing traditional and more adventurous choices. Thankfully they serve generous helpings of custard with a number of their deserts; something that many other restaurants menus could benefit from!
One small down side is that due to the age of the building, the seating can be a little cramped in places, but that is a small price to pay for the character that such an old building offers.
As a result of it's location being away from the high street, customers are less likely to happen upon it if they are passing through Goring, but I would encourage them to turn down Manor Road and seek out this little gem of a place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didcot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Three themed bedrooms - 'Chocolate', 'Africa' and 'French' - I chose 'Chocolate' a superb stay preceeded by a fantastic buffet in the restaurant and some fine real ale drinking in the bar - a late breakfast - service was excellent - Thank you so much.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

A quaint 'olde worlde' pub and restaurant where we were made very welcome. Three rooms available for B & B and our room was extremely comfortable and well appointed. The traditional pub was busy both in the bars and the dining areas, but was not 'noisy' as such with non of the usual games machine / loud music etc. but had a wonderful friendly atmosphere. Although there was no choice for breakfast, it was a well presented and well cooked traditional full English.
Will definately return again if in the area. Recommended!!

Room Tip: Three room available... no numbers just names "Chocolate" "Africa" and "Fra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Sunday lunch in an unfamiliar pub can be hit or miss. This was definitely a hit. Great terrine to start followed by tasty beef. Proper roast potatoes, crispy Yorkshire pudding and decent veg were served on hot plates with proper care and attention. Top notch.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Nice little pub to frequent if your trains running late or for a little bite to eat. The food and drink is nice, lovely atmosphere and not to dear considering the averege price for the area. definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to John Barleycorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Barleycorn Inn

Address: Manor Road, Goring-on Thames RG8 9DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Goring-on Thames
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Goring-on Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — John Barleycorn Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
John Barleycorn Hotel Goring-On Thames

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Barleycorn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.