We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice on the outside...but on the inside” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau du Lac Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau du Lac Hotel to your Saves list
Chateau du Lac Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avenue du Lac 87, Genval 1332, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Genval
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice on the outside...but on the inside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

On the outside it looks amazing you walk in expecting a Cinderella castle - on the inside however the disappointment grows the more you experience

The rooms are basic and threadbare needing an upgrade and the first room I was put in smelled of stale air and the electrics did not work, the second room at least had working power

The gym was fantastic , but the staff grumpy and I got gruffly challenged that I was coming in for a second time that day (why this would be an issue I )have no idea and it was 06.30 am so hardly likely to be a second visit"!

The breakfast was really extensive with organic and gluten free options - but once again disappointment loomed. A simple request to the elegantly dressed waitress for hot water was answered with a surly answer and a pointing finger 'hot water is over there help yourself '

A hotel that promised so much and under delivered so badly

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    173
    109
    49
    14
See reviews for
37
285
10
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

If you think about a Chateau you imagine , history, charme, elegance. From the outside,at night it has all of it but inside is a huge disappointment! It is perfect for a Company kick off meeting, infact during my stay there were some Companies having meeting all over the place. The room with a very old forniture was a bit sad. With a huge lake just infront the Castle we had a first floor room with a view of the garden. I spent only one night there and to be honest i wouldn't come back. The staff was very nice and friendly and professional.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mons, Hainaut, Belgium
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is pleasantly located along a lake, an ideal place for walks.

The room was quite large, very nice and well-equipped, except perhaps the bathroom.

The only problem we had was we had to wait to get our room cleaned. The hotel did compensate offering us late check-out.

The staff at the hotel was nice and helpful.

Unfortunately, we could not get any massage at the health center. Our fault as we did not book in advance.

The best surprise was the restaurant as we had a 4 course dinner on two and everything delicious. So was the buffet breakfast also.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The staff was friendly but not remarkably so. During breakfast the restaurant was not busy at all still - our used dishes piled up on the table and were still there when we left. No one came to ask if we would like a second coffee.

The room: The quality of the mattress was horrible. had back pain for 2 days after our stay at this establishment. The room was advertised to have several items that it did not have. A water boiler is NOT an espresso machine.

This did not feel like a luxury hotel and added nothing to our romantic getaway.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We enjoyed our stay @ Chateau du Lac in general:

Check in : Professionnal and friendly, thanks Celine!
- We received an upgrade because I have asked for a bath and the first room they gave us there was only a shower. There is a huge (really there was a big difference) difference between the first small room we get (small bed, small room, small bathroom) and the second with the free upgrage who was twice the size. So ok, bigger rooms are really nice with a large bed (queen size) huge flat screen tv and everything that you need. It's a shame they don't provide a Nespresso machine or a good quality coffee in these rooms!

Spa: We had access to the spa. The spa is really nice but: If you would like to have some massages reserve a long time in advance otherwise you won't have anything available. The pool is ok, there is a Turkish bath and a sauna (really small: up to 10 pers max). So if you're lucky and there is nobody it's ok. That was the case for us so we enjoyed this time!

Restaurant: that's certainly the point of satisfaction of our stay. The food is really good (quite expensive but ok). Nothing special to say maybe one of our top 3 restaurant for the moment. Thanks to chef!
Top breakfast also, plenty of choices : a good point in the B&B rate for sure.

Check out: no formalities, really quick, thanks again to Celine.

In resume: nice room (thanks for the upgrade), top restaurant, nice but small spa : it can be a good 4* but certainly not a 5* (the structure are not appropriate for a 5*).

Room Tip: if you are in couple ask a bigger room or you gonna be disapointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This is a beautiful Hotel in a beautiful location and very professional Staff. All our request from calling reception desk were fulfilled within 10 mins. The Room was very spacious with a Super Super King Size bed, mini bar well stocked, a LCD TV, very clean and modern bathroom. I wold definitely recommend the place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I imagined a fairytale chateau appearing out of the mist by a beautiful lake! Well the beautiful lake part was correct, as for the 'chateau' it was lit up like a Christmas tree! All the restaurant windows were surrounded by light bulbs , rather garish we thought! However, the ladies in reception were delightful and most helpful, until we asked if we could book a table for dinner. We were told no tables were available until 9.30, it was then 5.30 and we had left England at 9 that morning . Surely, my husband reasoned, most 5* hotels kept a certain number of tables available for residents and at no point when I booked was it mentioned that I should also reserve a table! The lady was not for turning and recommended a restaurant five minutes walk away on the lake. We then trudged what seemed like miles along fairly well used corridors to our room. It was ok, ticked all boxes but should the wallpaper be peeling away in the corners. Not in a 5* hotel, and there we get to the crux of the matter - it is not a five star hotel in my opinion and I have stayed in enough to know the difference! Perfectly adequate for a one night stay en route to Germany, and lovely views - would we stay there again - definitely not! 5 * hotels go above and beyond what is required to make the guests happy, here they certainly did not.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau du Lac Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau du Lac Hotel

Address: Avenue du Lac 87, Genval 1332, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > Walloon Brabant Province > Genval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Genval
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau du Lac Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Château du Lac - Martin's Conference & Spa Hotel offers 121 elegant 5 star rooms and a breath-taking landscaped park in the vicinity of Brussels. Featuring extensive wellness and meeting facilities, our hotel is the ideal destination for corporate meetings, incentives, or relaxing retreats. The hotel is a peaceful retreat where you can enjoy an indoor swimming pool, a fitness centre and tennis courts. Martin's Spa BodyWealth wellness centre includes a sauna, solarium and a range of relaxing treatments such as massages and facials. For dining, you can choose between the stylish Genval Les Bains restaurant, bar and tea room, and The Kingfisher casual lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chateau du Lac Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Du Lac Resort
Chateau Du Lac Brussels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau du Lac Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.