We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets on the Lake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Secrets on the Lake to your Saves list
Secrets on the Lake
207 Narrows Road, Montville, Queensland 4560, Australia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Montville B&B and Inns
Buderim, Australia
1 review
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This is truly the most relaxing place to spend time - just being here brings true relaxation. It is a very special place with very special hosts & staff! Not just stunning views from the room but wherever you wander it is beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secretsonthelake, Front Office Manager at Secrets on the Lake, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we love welcoming back guests to stay with us again, I think George enjoys it the most - then he can have a joke or two with "old friends" he hasn't seen in a while. We look forward to seeing you next time you stay with us in paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    13
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
189
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nambour, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Recently a group of us had lunch in the gazebo at Secrets. After being welcomed by the owner George with each lady being given a white rose, we ordered our lunches. The table service was excellent and our meals arrived very quickly considering that it was a Sunday lunch and the cafe was full of diners . The food was delicious and beautifully presented and the views spectacular
It was our 2nd time there for lunch . We'll definitely return .

Room Tip: Was only there for lunch as live nearby
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secretsonthelake, Front Office Manager at Secrets on the Lake, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our cafe - we like all kinds of feedback across our whole business. We hope to see you again soon to relax and enjoy our deck and cafe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Secrets on the Lake is by far one of the most stunning and impressive small boutique resorts we have stayed in. The first visit was spectacular however, when we returned this year, they had done the impossible!....by adding an Art Gallery and Coffee shop it now meant we had everything we could need and no reason to leave!....
The food was delicious, all made on site and the Afternoon Teas were spectacular! and our visit was made extra special when I was presented, at lunch, with a beautiful rose ....I could go on but, no, will leave it for you to visit for yourselves this delightful 'Secret' by the Lake...

Room Tip: all the rooms are excellent however, the one overlooking the lake is my fav....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secretsonthelake, Front Office Manager at Secrets on the Lake, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you Joana, we are so glad you enjoyed our cafe and gallery - it now gives our local residents a chance to experience a little slice of "Secrets", thank you for your wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Was so peaceful, a beautiful place to unwind and relax. Short walks to rainforest and waterfalls as well as stunning views from your room overlooking beautiful gardens and lake Baroon. The rooms are stunning with woods carvings through out the room and large glass doors and windows to take in the view from your spa

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secretsonthelake, Front Office Manager at Secrets on the Lake, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you Matt, we are so lucky to have our wonderful guests take the time to write reviews for us. Thank you, we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I were treated to a 2 day stay in this wonderful place by a grateful daughter & son-in-law.Our daughter knew how much we had loved our stay there 10 years ago when it was called TreeTops.So it was an absolute delight to return to this enchanting paradise.Everything was just as magical as we remembered & even better with the addition of our very own love swing on the deck.We stayed in Possums with its amazing views over the lake & the stunning garden.Everything about Secrets is a visual feast with the beautiful wood carvings & magnificent lead lights etc etc.The staff are very welcoming & the breakfast & BBQ baskets are more than generous.This really is a very,very SPECIAL place to stay!! We didn't want to leave & we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secretsonthelake, Front Office Manager at Secrets on the Lake, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
What a great present for you! Possums has what I refer to as "a picture postcard view" as I feel it contains everything that Secrets is about.... the feeling of height from your deck looking over a great view of the gorgeous gardens and wedding area, the herb and vege garden, the Lakehouse and then the Lake behind as a stunning backdrop LOVE IT! We hope you don't leave it another 10 years before you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My partner and I spent two nights in the Secrets cabin at Secrets on the Lake.... and didn't leave the room. It is a magical place to stay... the view of the lake is beautiful. We will be back! Troy and Aaron

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secretsonthelake, Front Office Manager at Secrets on the Lake, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
It is so nice to put aside some time to spend with your partner. Secrets is the perfect place to re-connect or just relax.... And you feel like you are the only 2 people in the world - just perfection... (and the view is not bad too!) Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Secrets for a couple of nights and did not want to leave! From the moment we drove through the secluded entry to the time we regretfully had to check out, we were treated ever so special. We were met by George upon arrival, welcomed and shown around, escorted to our tree house with accompanying scones, cream and jam as well as a basket absolutely full of delights including bread, fruit, yoghurt, cereal, milk and even homemade cookies! The kitchen was beautifully equipped with everything required and the bathroom even had a hair dryer!

We would highly recommend this special place in the world and you will not regret your decision to stay at Secrets on the Lake!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secretsonthelake, Front Office Manager at Secrets on the Lake, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
George is a great asset isn't he - and he built the place! Thank you for your fantastic review. We love knowing that you have left feeling relaxed and feeling very special. We look forward to seeing you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets on the Lake

Address: 207 Narrows Road, Montville, Queensland 4560, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Montville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Montville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Perfect Romantic Escape.....IMAGINE the ultimate romantic escape flowers, chocolates, and definitely some champagne and fruit. Hide away in a beautiful hand-carved cabin while a log fire burns and favourite music playing in the background. Neck deep in bubble bath and lounging in the sunken spa, gaze out over the veranda to see mist rolling over the magnificent lake. Secrets on the Lake is nestled in the Sunshine Coast's lush hinterland on 45 acres of rainforest and right on the shores of Lake Baroon. There are ten tree houses Waterlilies, Two Frogs, Possums, The Bower, Lizards Lair Wait A While, Platypus, Dragonfly, The Nest & last but not least Secrets. Each cabin is only accessed by a hand carved elevated treetop walkway, lit at night by handmade pottery lamps. They are meticulously appointed and individually themed from a different element of nature and feature extensive ceramic, iron and woodwork. Our guests can indulge themselves with our special homemade touches - the complimentary Champagne Breakfast basket, the hearty BBQ Hamper and cheese platters, a range of massages or our specially catered for Packages be it an escape or a honeymoon. Sit back on the deck and enjoy coffee & cake at the cafe or wander through the art gallery where the "Tree of Dreams" lives. Come & visit this wondrous place & be captivated by the charm & beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo so you can book your Secrets on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets on the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.