We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spotted Chook Ferme Auberge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Spotted Chook Ferme Auberge to your Saves list
Spotted Chook Ferme Auberge
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   176 Western Avenue, Montville, Queensland 4560, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Montville B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had a fantastic two days at the Spotted Chook. We had a family room, even though it was just two of us, we enjoyed the extra space. The bathroom is extra large and well appointed. The bedroom was a great place to sit and read, watch tv or sit with a spotted cat!! We loved our stay at the spotted chook! The communal lounge was fantastic: a fire, loads of books and dvds, chill-out music and wifi made it a great place to recover from the walks!

Room Tip: We had the family room, even though it was just two of us...is was great to have the extra room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
34
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Armidale
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I stayed in the Loft at the Chook for 3 nights. Leroy, Jane, Chloe and Emily were marvellous hosts and I felt renewed at the end of my sojourn there.
I also co facilitated a conference at the Chook and again Leroy, Jane and Chloe ensured the workshop spaces were warm and comfortable and the food for participants was marvellous.
I recommend the Chook as both a place of renewal and rest and/or a gorgeous location for workshops and conferences.
The food was delicious, service was relaxed and beautifully paced and the facilities were luxurious and comfortable.
Wonderful hosts.

Room Tip: all rooms have a lovely view and are beautifully appointed. The Loft has few steps if mobility is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Spotted Chook last night. The owner, Leeroy, was very welcoming and friendly. We stayed in the corner room downstairs for one night only (you can normally only book for 2 nights but it is worth enquiring if they have 1 night available). Our room was spacious with lovely French doors opening out from a sitting room onto a private balcony and the room was tastefully decorated with French furniture and furnishings. The bed was very comfortable and warm on a cool night. There was a fireplace but we didn't find the need to light it but it would be great in the winter time. The bathroom was large with both a bath and a shower. It was very quiet with no traffic noise - we just awoke to the sound of the cows mooing and the bower birds singing which we didn't mind at all. There was a communal lounge area which opened out onto a balcony with a view down the valley. It was very welcoming with French music playing, lots of interesting books to ponder through and a large selection of dvds. Leeroy put on a great breakfast with homemade goodies. All in all a great place to stay, a home away from home.

Room Tip: Our downstairs corner room was private and sunny, however, we did have some noise from people walkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

What a wonderful place and a wonderful night away in Montville.

Upon arrival we were greeted by Leeroy and the adorable dog. We were shown around the house and informed that we were free to roam the property as we wished, and were then taken to our room. We stayed in the Petit Maison, and it was everything that i expected. The room was exactly as the picture's represent, with a wonderful 2 person spa on the back deck, as well as a wonderful claw footed bath in the bathroom.

The room was a wonderful size, that was perfectly decorated in a french rustic way. The king size bed was super comfy and cozy. We had a romantic and relaxing night away. The Petit Maison is in complete privacy with shrubs around the edge of the back patio and the side patio. The back patio faces out over the expansive property and is a perfect setting for Champs in the spa or reading in the comfy chairs.

Leeory was super friendly and chatty which was nice, and their cute dog was so friendly and loved taking us for a walk around the property to meet the cows and of course the spotted chooks. He recommended a wonderful restaurant for dinner, as his wife is the cook and she was enjoying a marathon in Paris. Breakfast was a delicious assortment of sunshine coast yoghurt, fresh fruit, crossiants, home made muffins and juice and coffee.

I would absolutely recommend this place to my friends and family who are looking for a nice escape not too far from Brisbane.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petitemaison45, Owner at Spotted Chook Ferme Auberge, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you. Responses like yours make us glow with pride. Badger the dog if he could would also reply. He is getting close to being able to manage the Spotted Chook on his own. Just a few little rough spots that need to be ironed out. He enjoys showing off his chooks and the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My husband and I recently spent two nights at The Spotted Chook in Montville and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
We stayed in "The Loft" which we found to be very spacious and inviting. The whole resort had a lovely airy ambiance. I absolutely adored the vases of fresh roses which were...everywhere !
A highlight of our stay was the delightful 3 course meal that Jane served in our room for our anniversary dinner. We enjoyed a Zucchini Souffle, Roasted Duck with Figs, and a wonderful custard tart with Mango.
Jane was an absolute pleasure to meet - so friendly and natural - we would be happy to stay here again and highly recommend The Spotted Chook to others wanting a quiet, romantic getaway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petitemaison45, Owner at Spotted Chook Ferme Auberge, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
I just read your review again. Thank you. I miss Jane's cooking at the moment as she has been away and will be away for 3 weeks in all. She just ran the Paris Marathon on Sunday 42.19 ks in 4 hours. What an effort. Again thanks for the lovely comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

To end a horrible year, my husband and I spent New Year's 2012/2013 at the Spotted Chook. Leeroy and Jane looked after us so well. Dinner was excellent and the breakfasts superb - homemade croissants and Madeleine cakes. We were introduced to the wonderful menagerie of animals - the spotted chooks of course, a new lamb, the dog and the horses in the distance. We spent our time reading, watching a great variety of DVDs (excellent library) and having bubble baths. We ventured out for a walk at the Kondalilla Falls, had a lovely lunch at Wild Rocket in Montville, returned to our love nest and readied ourselves for New Year's Eve at The Reserve Restaurant (both restaurants recommended by Leeroy and Jane).

We returned to our everyday life refreshed and energised to begin a brand new year with wonderful memories of our peace-filled time at the Spotted Chook. I sincerely thank Jane and Leeroy for looking after us so well and getting us to a perfect place to start our New Year. Next time I'd like to bring the children but then ... maybe I'll leave it just for us!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petitemaison45, Owner at Spotted Chook Ferme Auberge, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Glad we were able to have you see in the New Year at the spotted chook. Sorry for the late reply. We have just put another 30 dvds in the library. This time all Italian and French. So you need to come back to check them out. A Bientot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We just had our wedding at the beautiful Spotted Chook, and one word to sum it up - perfect! Leeroy and Jane run a tight ship, nothing but helpful from our first visit out of the blue to check their facilities, and answering my constant questions on everything and anything with no problems or hesitation. The whole weekend was smooth and calm, it helps to know you have a couple of very experienced hard workers behind the scenes ready to change anything at short notice if required and doing all they can to keep their guests happy. The prices were better than we expected for the service we received. Our guests had nothing but praise for the wedding, the food was amazing, the setting is magical and I have no doubt we will all be back for a night away at some point. Thank you Leeroy and Jane!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spotted Chook Ferme Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spotted Chook Ferme Auberge

Address: 176 Western Avenue, Montville, Queensland 4560, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Montville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Montville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Spotted Chook Ferme Auberge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spotted Chook and Amelie's is the most delightful mix of Australian /European style. Perched on poles and facing the valley with stunning views.The rooms are large with private verandah,sofa, fireplace and air-con. They are all with private bathrooms and Queen or King beds. Soft robes, bar fridge, lcd tv/cd/ipod players. We have a gourmet continental breakfast included in all our prices. The property has guest lounge and dining room where we do breakfast and dinner by arrangement.DVD library, magazines, games and more are for guest enjoyment. We are on 110 acres of family property with cows, horses, chickens and family pets. The rainforest is below with a vast collection of bird life. So come on up and share our piece of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Spotted Chook Ferme Auberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spotted Chook Ferme Auberge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.