We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing return visit!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Long Apron, Spicers Clovelly Estate

The Long Apron, Spicers Clovelly Estate
68 Balmoral Road, Montville, Queensland 4560, Australia
+61 1300 252 380
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 21 Restaurants in Montville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $75 - $199
Cuisines: French, European, Contemporary, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Sunshine Coast
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing return visit!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We've been there for dinner previously and for breakfast a few times, but were very disappointed last Friday for my wife's birthday.
The service as usual was excellent, but the food did not live up to expectations. My wife's spanner crab was not very warm and did not have much flavour. My duck breast was dry and some of the lamb rump pieces were salty and again not very hot. My wife's reef fish was watery and for a main course very small. The desserts, on the other hand, were delicious.
Not good value at all for $85 per person and we are only giving it a 3 in total because of the excellent service, but otherwise would only rate it a1 for the food.
We are locals, but cannot seeing us going back again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    13
    14
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food, service, and stunning location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We were delighted with the beautiful breakfast we had, with complementary extras like fresh squeezed juice of the day, as well as croissants dainishes and home-made preserves to have while you wait for your breakfast.

Service was attentive and professional, while still being friendly and personable and up for a chat.

Beautiful views of the surrounding rolling hills and gardens for the family or kiddies to explore.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Could easily be a long lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

A must experience! The food was creative and the setting serene. A superb gourmet destination. Treat yourself, you will not be disappointed, even better, book a suite and stay to enjoy all meals of the day and night.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We've visited The Long Apron before and loved the experience. This time we brought along relatives from overseas and once again we were delighted with the food and the experience.

The Chef (Cameron Matthews) is an absolute master of flavour and texture. From the Amuse Bouche through each of the five courses we chose, the food was sublime, with extraordinary twists on common themes. We chose to have the matching wines, and these just added to the experience. The wine matching was superb - interesting and unusual wines the worked so well with the food.

This is an experience not to be missed. My only question is how could the restaurant be awarded only two chef's hats in the Brisbane Good Food Guide? For my mind it's an equal of any three hat restaurant I've visited in Sydney or Brisbane.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
2,813 reviews 2,813 reviews
1,613 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 363 cities Reviews in 363 cities
1,340 helpful votes 1,340 helpful votes
“A wonderful wedding anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is definitely a restaurant where you need to experience the full range of the chef's skills - 2 courses does not do it justice. The chef is on a journey of discovery and you need to be open to share it with him - you have no idea what is lurking beneath each dish and it becomes an exciting adventure.
The dishes are delicate, stylish and yet complex and full of flavour.
Perhaps an emphasis on vegetables and flowers, you should not come if you prefer big plates of meat.
Obviously the grounds are beautiful and far more suited to a lunch than a dinner.
It is expensive but then you know this before you go - so no excuses to say you didn't know. However it actually offers better value for the degustation than perhaps just doing a couple of courses.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Long Apron, Spicers Clovelly Estate also viewed

Montville, Sunshine Coast
Montville, Sunshine Coast
 
Montville, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to The Long Apron, Spicers Clovelly Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Long Apron, Spicers Clovelly Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.