We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Rocket @ Misty's

Wild Rocket @ Misty's
142 Main Street, Montville, Queensland 4560, Australia
0754785560
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 21 Restaurants in Montville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $38
Cuisines: Dessert, British, Contemporary, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: UK chef Peter Brettell and his wife Belinda have brought new life to the iconic Misty's venue, in the form of Wild Rocket @ Misty's. Visit to experience the combination of quirky historic venue, local seasonal (& mainly organic) produce, locally roasted coffee made by professional baristas, a superb wine list and warm friendly service
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Loves the old world charm, the spread out seating, the excellent staff and above all the fantastic food.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    57
    25
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had dinner here for my partners birthday. Lovely building and atmosphere, at night especially. The staff where fairly friendly and helpful. My partner had steak from the specials board, which was cooked and flavoured well, paired nicely with roasted roma tomatoes. The mash with truffles didn't taste great, even a bit floury. I had the pork belly which was too dry for my liking, but it did come with a tasty sweet and spicy sauce. It also came with a mountain of green beans with shaved almonds which seemed slightly overkill, and oddly matched. And a kind of potato galette - again didn't seem to really fit. Overall I felt the quality & type of dishes we had didn't warrant the price, I'd like to see them re-vamp them a bit. It's such a pretty venue, that I would give them another go in that instance.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

If your on the range on a Sunday I highly recommend Wild Rocket for breakfast/brunch, best hollandaise on the Sunshine Coast and a good twist on some classic dishes !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Bad day for food?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had the chicken wings and a pizza and ordered one of the combination drinks (one of those things with four different things in it that is fairly unique). The drink was very bitter and I didn't drink much of it - as it was an experiment on my behalf that was ok. The pizza and chicken wings were pretty ordinary, didn't finish either. They also forgot that we were waiting for service and I had to order from the bar. First world problems! On the positive side they had a band there for the opening of their garden bar and they were really good!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“We expect better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We sat in the garden courtyard and it was basic but pleasant.

The wine is expensive and we expect to taste the wine to approve it. That didn't happen. It was just poured. Further, the bottle was placed in an ice bucket placed between the females in our group of 4 ( two couples). Tradition says that the males pour the wine so it should've been placed between the males.

A second bottle of wine, distinctly different, was ordered after drinking the first ( Chardonnay and then rose). New glasses should have been provided but were not.

We drank a bottle of mineral water and ordered a second bottle but the waitress obviously forgot the order.

The food was reasonable.

The bill for 2 entrée and 4 mains, 2 coffees and the drinks was $300. This is not cafe prices so the service was far too casual and lazy. Australia is expensive. It doesn't help when you don't feel you are getting value for money. It is no wonder we spend half the year in overseas.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Rocket @ Misty's also viewed

 

Been to Wild Rocket @ Misty's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Rocket @ Misty's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.