We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clouds of Montville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Clouds of Montville to your Saves list
Clouds of Montville
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   166 Balmoral Road, Montville, Queensland 4560, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montville
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed mid-week from Monday 'til Thursday in the cottage named Raindance. We had a wonderful time and were delighted by the service we received. The cottage was beautiful - a nice warm cottage perfect for a couples getaway. The spa bath had jets and didn't take too long to fill up like most baths. The fire place was wonderful, especially at this time of year, and plenty of wood was provided. Just be careful not to keep the fireplace door open like we accidentally did (and nervously wave towels under the smoke alarm, ooops hehe). Everything was neat and tidy and everything we could possibly need was provided. It is clear the owners have great attention to detail. When we arrived, we were presented with a very filled breakfast basket complete with fruit, yoghurt, fresh bread, jams, cereal, milk, tim-tams and juice. There were roses on the table, candles on and music playing. We enjoyed watching the dvds (provided in reception for use at no extra cost) on a rainy night. Due to weather and being so cosy in the cottage that we often slept in, we didn't get to play tennis or go in the pool, but we viewed these facilities and they were well kept. It was a beautiful stay in a lovely area. The owners helped us with everything we needed and most people in the surrounding towns seemed quite lovely. I would definitely recommend Clouds of Montville and certainly will be sending my friends and family there. We hope to stay again sometime in the future, we had an amazing time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cloudsofmontville, Owner at Clouds of Montville, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hi Shelly
Well it really brightened a somewhat damp and wet afternoon to read the sunshine of your review! Thank you so much for your generous comments and both Margaret and I are delighted that your visit with us was such a success.
We have always tried to make our cottages welcoming and comfortable....a bit like an old and much loved pair of slippers that you can that you can put on, kick back, relax and leave all the drama and pressure of daily life behind! Winter is of course perfect cottage weather as there is nothing like a wood fire, the relaxation of a hot spa, great food and very special company to make for a legendry stay.
Do come back and see us again. We truly value your patronage.
Warmest regards, Angus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    27
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
44
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in a gorgeous cottage at Clouds for our "babymoon" the week before Easter. As soon as we arrived we immediately felt relaxed and were made very welcome by Angus and Margaret. The level of attention to detail to ensure that we had everything we needed was exceptional. They couldn't do enough to help us and it made our stay very special. The cottages are simply wonderful - clean, spacious and comfortable. It was quiet and tranquil - it felt like we were in the middle of nowhere. We were provided with a wide variety of breakfast provisions (and other treats) and the spa and king size bed were heavenly! Angus spent the time showing us all the features of the cabin and providing us with recommendations of restaurants and things to see in the area. Having been to Montville for day trips many times it was our first time staying there and we'll certainly be back to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cloudsofmontville, Owner at Clouds of Montville, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your generous comments. We are delighted that you had a great time on your "baby moon". ( We love that description!!) We put a lot of thought into the design of the cottages and tried to make them a truly relaxing place to stay. We planted over 1000 trees on the property when we built the cottages with a view to privacy and to bring back the wild life. We are so pleased that it worked for you. Warmest regards...
Angus and Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bargara, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The overnight stay at Clouds was a really lovely experience. The room was much larger than expected and very clean with everything you needed. Great views over the valley. It was a little cool to use the pool but it was clean and well presented, as were the grounds. Being a self-contained unit I could've stayed much longer! The host, Angas, was wonderful: very welcoming and informative. He even arranged a courtesy bus to take us to and from dinner. A really lovely experience in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cloudsofmontville, Owner at Clouds of Montville, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Many thanks indeed for your kind words. We are so pleased that you had a good time at Clouds. It was really fun to have you with us. Our only regret is that you could not stay longer to enjoy all that Montville and the hinterland has to offer.
It may be appropriate to gently remind you that you have some eleven great restaurants yet to enjoy and the local retailers anxiously await your next visit as a viable antidote to the impact of the GFC! There are cheeses to be sampled, wines to be drunk and massages to be indulged!
It was just great to have you stay with us....don't leave it too long to return....we miss you!
Best regards
Angus and Margaret.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

From the very moment you arrive at this wonderful establishment you are made to feel welcome. My husband and I stayed for 3 days in one of the cottages which was exceptionally clean, well equipped and serenely quiet. Upon arriving we were familiarised with the cottage and its contents by the owner, a delightful gentleman named Angus who will go to no end to accomodate your wishes. Always helpful and always a joy to talk with....(we thank you for making our little break so enjoyable.) Both my husband and I would return to this "little piece of heaven on earth" anytime again. A wonderful experience never forgotten.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cloudsofmontville, Owner at Clouds of Montville, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi Colleen and what a great review! It is people like you that enjoy their stay yet take the time to say "thank you" that makes all our efforts worthwhile.
Certainly we are all in this to make a living but those of us who really enjoy the hospitality industry will tell you that it is comments such as yours that are the real reward. It just reminds us to remember to say " thank you" to our own staff for the great work that they do behind the scenes! A "thank you" means so much to those that truly make the effort.
Go well and we truly look forward to your return!....Angus and Margaret.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Great view from the top floor units. Rooms are clean and good size. We got a mid week seniors package which was great value. Very helpful owners. The grounds could do with a bit of improvement but overall it's a good location and great view. We would stay there again, particularly if they maintain their seniors package for mid- week visits.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cloudsofmontville, Owner at Clouds of Montville, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. The Seniors Mid Week package is truly great value which we hope to continue. Do give us a call when next you plan to stay, mention the Seniors Package and doubtless we will be able to look after you!
The grounds were not at their best. We have five acres which were origionally a pineapple farm. Our gardens have been a labour of love over the past sixteen years to make them something special. (We are not a motel with a concret car park and a couple of potted palms!) However after more than half our annual rainfall in two months plus the tail end of cyclone Oliver we have a bit of catching up to do. Come back in spring when our tree orchids are in flower and you will be impressed!
With our best regards and we look forward to welcoming you back to Clouds!
Angus and Margaret ( owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bribie, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The place to stay is clouds of Montville when wanting a get away. As I am a mother of 3 I had my anniversary and had to get away just my husband and I. I am so glad we decided to give the cottages a go as we did not expect what we got. The service was beautiful, the cottage was stunning and peaceful was not the word for it We loved it. So romantic, I would recommend this lovely place to anyone. The lovely owners of this beautiful place is more then what you ask for in service, They are lovely people and make the experience even better. It is the best value for money I have spent in a long time. Please give it ago you won't regret it.

Room Tip: If you want romantic please try the cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cloudsofmontville, Owner at Clouds of Montville, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Hi Petrina and how kind of you to take the time to write such a nice review! We are simply delighted that you had such a special time away in one of our beautiful cottages tucked in the gardens down at the back of our property.
We do work hard to try to give our guests a very special time away. It is just so rewarding when someone like you makes the time to say "thank you"! We truly value your kind words that makes it all worthwhile.
With our very best regards, Margaret and Angus (owners).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, Shropshire
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Visited with our adult-daughter recently and shared a motel room for two nights. Comfortable, well-equipped and plenty of space for three and everything very clean. Very generous with tea/coffee making items, including milk. Nice bathroom too. Hosts and all staff very pleasant and helpful. Large choice of free DVDs available to borrow and lots of leaflets, including directions for a good selection of walks in the surrounding area. No private space to sit outside; just shared benches outside the front entrance. Small swimming pool but not terribly impressed with this as there were very few chairs and only one sunbed and umbrella, but then it was very shaded. Also the pool area was cluttered and not that clean. We were the only people there but only stayed for a short while. As we were leaving the pool area, a family of four were arriving and there would have been a severe shortage of seats! Plenty of shops and cafes/restaurants at Montville only a short drive away, and a very pleasant place to wander around. Maleny is also within easy reach. A very nice area to visit with beautiful views towards the Sunshine Coast. Our particular room was on the groundfloor so views were just across the carpark but I would assume views from the upper floor were better and possibly quieter. There were some noisy vehicles using the carpark, including a delivery vehicle early one morning. Would recommend a visit if you are not bothered about a swimming pool.

Room Tip: For motel rooms, possibly upper floor is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cloudsofmontville, Owner at Clouds of Montville, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
So glad that you enjoyed your stay and this very special place, the Sunshine Coast Hinterland! Your comments were much appreciated as we all do work hard to try to ensure our Guest enjoy their time with us. The staff really appreciated your compliments.
Sorry about the pool. Had you stayed with us a few days earlier the pool was almost biblical and you could have have walked across it!
Ex-cyclone Oswald had just passed our way the prior weekend and I suspect that almost everything blown off the trees and shrubs in the entire region landed in the pool! It certainly seemed that way!
The whole facility looked as if a bomb had hit it and we spent days prior to your visit trying to get things cleared up and in order ( as I write this I still have a massive Gum tree down the paddock that has fallen over that I still need to attack!)
We got the worst out of the pool but you were quite correct it was not up to our normal high standard and there was still work to be done. In retrospect I probably should have closed the pool to Guests and avoided any negative comment.
There are six chairs in the pool area but only 10 meters away in the BBQ area another eight which can so easily top up any shortfall that concerned you.
As you observed we do deliberatly allow the trees around the area to grow up through spring and summer to provide natural shade. In late autumn we have a massive prune to allow the winter sun to flood the pool deck!
I cannot disagree with your comments other than to say the condition of the pool was a real exception for which we apologise. Today you would find it simply brilliant.
Your headline "do not visit for the swiming pool" was I thought a little over the top in that it implies that the pool is always sub standard which simply is not true! It is a bit like saying" dont go to England for a holiday as it always rains!" which is equally inaccurate.
In relation to your comments about a noisy vehicle we have one milk truck that comes in early on a friday morning which I suspect was the culprit. It has by law a reversing alarm (presumably to warn the dozens of people who stand behind milk trucks at 7am in the morning !)...an absolute nonsense I agree but not a great deal we can do about it. We are a small business and their run schedule is inflexible.
Again we thank you for your comments which we truly value. We hope that if you pas this way again you will stay with us...we sincerley appreciate your patronage. Do, however, bring the dark glasses as the sparkle from the pool today is almost blinding!
With our best regards, Angus and Margaret (owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clouds of Montville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clouds of Montville

Address: 166 Balmoral Road, Montville, Queensland 4560, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Montville
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clouds of Montville 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Clouds of Montville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clouds of Montville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.