We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything thought of.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat

Save Saved
You added Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   78 Narrows Rd, Montville, Queensland 4560, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early and Save
Ranked #1 of 7 Montville B&B and Inns
Horsham, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Everything thought of.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

A most enjoyable stay-everything is thought of by our most attentive hosts Mark & Joanne.The beautiful fruit platters,welcoming nibbles,lovely croissants,replenishing the wood supply, top quality bath products,and the relaxing drinks after our somewhat disastrous flight ! Mark even stayed up to 1.30am to welcome us upon arrival after our Jetstar flight from Melbourne was 6 hours late for a 2 hour trip! The only negative would be that the bathroom in our cottage could be in need of an up-grade c/f to the pictures of the other cottages, especially the spa.Montville was so lovely and Zana's restaurant was superb-great food,service,hosts, guitar,views etc. Thank you Mark & Joanne for such a relaxing, pampered holiday

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
171
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

We needed a peaceful, welcoming and relaxing environment - we were not disappointed. The tranquility and extreme stillness makes one feel the oneness with nature. A highly recommended getaway - there is an excellent masseur at the top of the hill by the name of Anna!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamborine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

“We've stayed in similar accomodation at Treetops & O'Reilly's but definitely found The Narrows Escape far superior. Attention to detail here is lovely. Absolutely every comfort is catered for. The aromatherapy products throughout the cabin are a beautiful added touch. Mark and Joanne provided delicious fresh food which was very much enjoyed and of course we loved the beautiful native birds and animals that visited us at the cabin. We totally loved our stay here and were very sorry to have to leave. The combination of the luxurious, peaceful cabin and the gorgeous rainforest are simply unbeatable."

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

We love it here! This was our third visit to The Narrows, and we plan to return again In May 2010. Mark and Joanne have achieved a beautiful balance between making us feel welcome and still maintaining our privacy. The gourmet dinner hampers were delicious. I believe we ate everything on the menu during our two-week stay, and still had some wonderful dinners out in nearby restaurants! (The Spirit House in Yandina is a must!) The hinterlands are truly a remarkable part of the world, and the Narrows Escape is definitely the place to stay.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

“Narrows Escape is unique. We have stayed at many resorts for couples but nothing like this before. Our cottage was beautifully presented, the quietness, the sound of running water below our cottage, the magnificent spa and the beautiful teddies presented on our bed. We cannot thank Mark and Joanne enough for the beautiful breakfast hamper, our welcoming glasses of port and the beautifully made bags that our croissants were delivered in each morning. To actually have a real wood fire place just blew us away. You are wonderful hosts Joanne and Mark, you have thought of everything! How could we ever forget this most special piece of paradise! We will definitely be returning. Please don’t change a thing. It is just “perfect” the way it is. Very much appreciated…

We would also like to comment on your beautiful natured dogs, "Toby and Leyla" .
Their beautiful welcoming natures with their soft coats and wagging tails just made our visit so welcoming especially as we missed our dogs left at home while on holiday.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

Rainforest - beautiful, babbling brook - magic, romance - perfect, seclusion - the very best! Food at Lyles to die for…especially dessert!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

The perfect place for a retreat. The other guests were so quiet and respectful of our need for peace and privacy. We felt as though we were the only people there.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat

Address: 78 Narrows Rd, Montville, Queensland 4560, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Montville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Montville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully refurbished in March 2014, this romantic hideaway for couples is suited for travellers seeking an exclusive rainforest experience. With just six luxurious self-contained pavilions nestled intimately amongst the trees, you will experience maximum peace and privacy. Wrapped in rainforest, bordering Kondalilla National Park, this resort caters superbly to guests wanting a romantic getaway in the lap of eco-resort luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, T4B, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.