We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of D' Vijf Broers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added D' Vijf Broers to your Saves list
D' Vijf Broers
Lagedijk 32 - 34, 1544 BG Zaandijk, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Zaandijk
Lodz, Poland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“great hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I have spent in this hotel 4 days. Hotel is beautifully situated at the lake, opposite the old town with windmills view. Very good base if you want to visit the old town in Koog, as it is only 5 min. walk. To the railway station there is only 10 min. walk.
The hotel itself is not sophisticated, rather modestly equipped, but it is small and cozy.
Room was clean and tidy. I had windmill, street and partly lake's view. Some rooms may have only street view, but there must be also rooms with old town view, which I would recommend. There is a restaurant, which serves good cuisine, my favorite dish was mustard soup.
What makes this place unique is a great hospitality, you feel there like at home not like in a hotel, for me this is advantage.
Good staying is not the number of stars, but the atmosphere and people. Thanks for hosting me:)

Room Tip: Try to book the room with lake or old town view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    10
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
4
8
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We just happened upon this restaurant and it was amazing. The service was great and the food was amazing. We didn't sleep there, only ate, but totally worth it and we will be going back when family visits.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Nice, quiet, good located with very nice view over the channel. But the manger was very unfriendly making our stay not pleasant at all. The staff was ok. The breakfast is typical for this area. The price is fair for what you pay but not more than this. There is a free wi fi in the rooms

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, opting not to stay in Amsterdam as it was very busy due to the gay and lesbian mardi gras (which was great). We had a lovely room with a view of a windmill and the water. Zaands Schans was just a five minute walk away. We thought that although the breakfast was nice it was overpriced and the hotel should offer a choice to patrons. The room was large enough and tastefully decorated and the girls on reception and in the bar had excellent customer service skills and good English.

Room Tip: try to choose a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW, TEXAS
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

After finally finding this hotel we were able to check in right away into our reserved corner room with a view of the river and windmills. The young staff was friendly and tried to accommadate us with a good table in the restaurant but after meeting a delightful British couple who were just biding their time till it was time to catch the train we stayed at our large table facing the river and had a wonderful time and converstion with them before they left to catch the train.
Altho we did not order a large dinner it was decent, the British couple did order a main dinner and said it was delicious, the service was good, we did not have to wait long for our meals or drinks. Our room was large and averagly clean and was very quite at night, did not have a problem sleeping. The day we arrived we went to the excellent bakery across the street and bought some delicous pasteries for munching. Also we were able to park our car within a 30 sec walk from the Hotel. After we checked out in the morning we again went to the bakery and bought some more delicous pastries/bread for breakfast and headed over the bridge to tour Zanse Schans.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river and Zanse Schans
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stop with friends to have a nice lunch and service was terrible!!!!!! Waitress wasn't friendly at all.They never ask if we needed anything from the bar.Food wasn't the best ever.From the moment we step in the waitress was in a hurry to serve us and after that they never service us again.Food was raw,bad odor,taste wasn't what we expected at all. I had to get up to pay because they never when back to the table to give us the ticket.Management wasn't very nice either.I will never recommend none of my friends to visit this restaurant!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PORTSMOUTH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is a Great Hotel. Very comfortable accommodation and very clean.
Staff are friendly and nothing is to much for them they made our stay very enjoyable.
we have recommended this hotel to friends and intend to return again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to D' Vijf Broers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D' Vijf Broers

Address: Lagedijk 32 - 34, 1544 BG Zaandijk, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Zaandijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Zaandijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your D' Vijf Broers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage D' Vijf Broers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.