We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't think of a better place to stay in this area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of D' Vijf Broers

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zaandijk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
D' Vijf Broers
Save
You added D' Vijf Broers to your Saves list
Lagedijk 32 - 34, 1544 BG Zaandijk, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Zaandijk
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Can't think of a better place to stay in this area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We were a group of 2 couples and my father (86yrs) and stayed here for 2 nights.
We travelled by car from the UK via EuroTunnel, stopping on the way in Gouda (would recommend staying there too) and Brugges on the way home.
This Hotel is in a lovely spot (as you can see from their own website)
There are no rooms on the ground floor so if you have mobility problems you may wish to bear that in mind but the stairs are OK and not too many to access the first floor.
On arrival we discovered that the previous occupant of our room had been smoking! (not permitted by the hotel) and smelt very strongly of stale cigarettes. Although the hotel was fully booked they were able to switch our room, so they get full marks from me for doing that.
The alternative room was smaller but still perfectly adequate.
All our rooms were clean and comfortable and two rooms had lovely views across the water to Zaans Schans (one of our sightseeing destinations, just 5/10 minutes walk from the hotel).
As we were making day trips out we decided to book dinner for both nights in the hotel too.
The food was very good but the menu was quite limited. We would have chosen to eat out if we were staying longer than 2 nights.
Breakfast was not include in our room rate but for 15 euros we had more food than you could possibly eat. A very good continental style selection.
If you are touring or cycling in the northern area of Holland I suggest you stay here, it's a lovely spot.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AAE_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed two nigth in De Vijf Broers hotel.I have been arround the world and thi shotel is one of the finest places that I have ever been .I recomend if you are going to Amsterdam get this hotel.Staff ,manger ,hotel,enviorment ,food were great .I worth it .Iloved it and I promised myself to go back not once but many time as I have to stop amsterdam in the Airport .I recommned this to all of you .

Great trip and I am glad I made it to thi snice place

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ramin_A686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Me and my husband travelld to the Netherland in August 2010 . We travel to numerous destanations and don't book any hotel in advance. We visited the lovely Zaanse Schans and were planning to head to amdterdam and sleep there. Once we enterde Zaandijk we were inlove with its location . it's a small charming town with a local Bar and the hotel was just across the street. The room was sapcious,Very clean Bathrrom, beds very comfortable and the location just near tha local Bar was lovely. We also Had a delicoius dinner in the hotel's restaurant.
In the morning we smelled the aroma of the local bakery which was just across the street and made our morning a perfect one.
I highly reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Areejs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Just 20-minute train ride away from the Amsterdam buzz, this cozy little place is located right across the bridge from Zaanse Schans museum in a sleepy little town - Zaandijk. This is the kind of stay we were looking for - quiet, cozy, family-like and closer to nature. They are right on the river with their own private artificial beach with breathtaking views of the Zaanse-Schans windmills. About 10-minute walk to the Koog-Zaandijk railway station and 5 minutes to the Zaanse Schans museum (you just have to cross the river-bridge). Eating options in the area are limited (we visited end of June) but they have a great (a bit expensive) restaurant. The food was great and we saw a lot of locals eating there, which is a good sign. The rooms are small but very neat with modern decor. A very good place for an extended stay, doing nothing but just biking around or going for long walks, meeting with locals, and enjoying the local food. Truly fantastic.

Room Tip: Email them in advance for booking river-view rooms, although the rooms on the side have partial view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meetamitpandey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greencastle, Indiana
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

If you are planning a trip to the Netherlands, you must make D' Vijf Broers (The Five Brothers) hotel in Zaandijk part of your trip. The management and staff have gone out of there way to make my extended stay pleasurable (I've been working in town for three weeks). Zaandijk is a short (45 minute) train ride from Amsterdam Central Station (platform 7 or 8 to Koog-Zaandijk station). While in Zaandijk you can visit the Zaanse Schans and tour a number of windmills (there are six in the Zaanse Schans), visit the museum and the shops. Also there is a very nice windmill directly across the street from the hotel, as well as a very nice bakery (pictures attached). When the weather is nice, you can have a drink on their private patio and watch the boats on De Zaan. You will certainly find D' Vijf Broers a welcome getaway from the chaos of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RockSteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night as we were attending a wedding in the restaurant of the hotel. Our room had not only a water view but also of the beautiful Zaanse Schans and it's windmills. The place has a lovely outdoor space to lounge and enjoy. Decor is fairly updated and modern. Bathroom was really nice & modern. Once they update the floors it will be even better. If you are having a little weekend away I would certainly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zelphiakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brugges
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for a weekend in May. The hotel is superbly located within walking distance from the station yet with views of one of the most beautiful villages in Holland, Zaanse Schans. They are right on the river and have even made a little artificial beach , lounge which is super for adults and children alike. The rooms are clean and spaciuos and the breakfast is really good value for money. This is a wonderful place to chill out or to use as an alternative from staying in Amsterdam itself as it is only a short journey by train.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathleendebyser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zaandijk
BEST WESTERN Zaan Inn
#2 of 4 in Zaandam
4.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#132 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 677 reviews
B&B Boterton
#1 of 1 in Koog aan de Zaan
5.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D' Vijf Broers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D' Vijf Broers

Address: Lagedijk 32 - 34, 1544 BG Zaandijk, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Zaandijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Zaandijk
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing