We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't think of a better place to stay in this area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of D' Vijf Broers

Save Saved
You added D' Vijf Broers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
D' Vijf Broers
Lagedijk 32 - 34, 1544 BG Zaandijk, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Zaandijk
England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Can't think of a better place to stay in this area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We were a group of 2 couples and my father (86yrs) and stayed here for 2 nights.
We travelled by car from the UK via EuroTunnel, stopping on the way in Gouda (would recommend staying there too) and Brugges on the way home.
This Hotel is in a lovely spot (as you can see from their own website)
There are no rooms on the ground floor so if you have mobility problems you may wish to bear that in mind but the stairs are OK and not too many to access the first floor.
On arrival we discovered that the previous occupant of our room had been smoking! (not permitted by the hotel) and smelt very strongly of stale cigarettes. Although the hotel was fully booked they were able to switch our room, so they get full marks from me for doing that.
The alternative room was smaller but still perfectly adequate.
All our rooms were clean and comfortable and two rooms had lovely views across the water to Zaans Schans (one of our sightseeing destinations, just 5/10 minutes walk from the hotel).
As we were making day trips out we decided to book dinner for both nights in the hotel too.
The food was very good but the menu was quite limited. We would have chosen to eat out if we were staying longer than 2 nights.
Breakfast was not include in our room rate but for 15 euros we had more food than you could possibly eat. A very good continental style selection.
If you are touring or cycling in the northern area of Holland I suggest you stay here, it's a lovely spot.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
3
6
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed two nigth in De Vijf Broers hotel.I have been arround the world and thi shotel is one of the finest places that I have ever been .I recomend if you are going to Amsterdam get this hotel.Staff ,manger ,hotel,enviorment ,food were great .I worth it .Iloved it and I promised myself to go back not once but many time as I have to stop amsterdam in the Airport .I recommned this to all of you .

Great trip and I am glad I made it to thi snice place

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Me and my husband travelld to the Netherland in August 2010 . We travel to numerous destanations and don't book any hotel in advance. We visited the lovely Zaanse Schans and were planning to head to amdterdam and sleep there. Once we enterde Zaandijk we were inlove with its location . it's a small charming town with a local Bar and the hotel was just across the street. The room was sapcious,Very clean Bathrrom, beds very comfortable and the location just near tha local Bar was lovely. We also Had a delicoius dinner in the hotel's restaurant.
In the morning we smelled the aroma of the local bakery which was just across the street and made our morning a perfect one.
I highly reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Just 20-minute train ride away from the Amsterdam buzz, this cozy little place is located right across the bridge from Zaanse Schans museum in a sleepy little town - Zaandijk. This is the kind of stay we were looking for - quiet, cozy, family-like and closer to nature. They are right on the river with their own private artificial beach with breathtaking views of the Zaanse-Schans windmills. About 10-minute walk to the Koog-Zaandijk railway station and 5 minutes to the Zaanse Schans museum (you just have to cross the river-bridge). Eating options in the area are limited (we visited end of June) but they have a great (a bit expensive) restaurant. The food was great and we saw a lot of locals eating there, which is a good sign. The rooms are small but very neat with modern decor. A very good place for an extended stay, doing nothing but just biking around or going for long walks, meeting with locals, and enjoying the local food. Truly fantastic.

Room Tip: Email them in advance for booking river-view rooms, although the rooms on the side have partial view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greencastle, Indiana
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

If you are planning a trip to the Netherlands, you must make D' Vijf Broers (The Five Brothers) hotel in Zaandijk part of your trip. The management and staff have gone out of there way to make my extended stay pleasurable (I've been working in town for three weeks). Zaandijk is a short (45 minute) train ride from Amsterdam Central Station (platform 7 or 8 to Koog-Zaandijk station). While in Zaandijk you can visit the Zaanse Schans and tour a number of windmills (there are six in the Zaanse Schans), visit the museum and the shops. Also there is a very nice windmill directly across the street from the hotel, as well as a very nice bakery (pictures attached). When the weather is nice, you can have a drink on their private patio and watch the boats on De Zaan. You will certainly find D' Vijf Broers a welcome getaway from the chaos of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night as we were attending a wedding in the restaurant of the hotel. Our room had not only a water view but also of the beautiful Zaanse Schans and it's windmills. The place has a lovely outdoor space to lounge and enjoy. Decor is fairly updated and modern. Bathroom was really nice & modern. Once they update the floors it will be even better. If you are having a little weekend away I would certainly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brugges
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for a weekend in May. The hotel is superbly located within walking distance from the station yet with views of one of the most beautiful villages in Holland, Zaanse Schans. They are right on the river and have even made a little artificial beach , lounge which is super for adults and children alike. The rooms are clean and spaciuos and the breakfast is really good value for money. This is a wonderful place to chill out or to use as an alternative from staying in Amsterdam itself as it is only a short journey by train.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zaandijk
Suites, Free in...
Show More
2.3 mi away
Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam
Restaurant, Bar...
Show More
1.5 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Huis Te Zaanen
Pets Allowed, W...
Show More
3.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Zaandam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
2.3 mi away
Zaan Inn Hotel
Zaan Inn Hotel
#3 of 4 in Zaandam
4.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
6.2 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Best Value, Mid...
Show More
5.7 mi away
Ibis Amsterdam City West
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#107 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D' Vijf Broers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D' Vijf Broers

Address: Lagedijk 32 - 34, 1544 BG Zaandijk, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Zaandijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Zaandijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your D' Vijf Broers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage D' Vijf Broers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.