We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel, outstanding expeience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kasteel Wittem

Save Saved
You added Kasteel Wittem to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kasteel Wittem
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wittemer Allee 3, 6286 Wittem, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Wittem
British Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Stunning hotel, outstanding expeience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The Kasteel and the location are beautiful. The area offers many choices of places to visit, walks or drives in the countryside with outstanding scenery. The hosts offer you a drink upon arrival and take you to a comfortable chair to fill in the check-in forms before escorting you to your room. The rooms are tastefully decorated and very comfortable and the chocolates and fruit provide a nice touch. My room looked out over a peaceful pasture with grazing cows. My stay was very restful. The hotel does not serve an evening meal but my host directed me to a very good resturant a short distance down the road. Breakfast at the Kasteel is a bit pricey, but I did not regret it as it was part of the whole experience and very good. Only negatives were that the wifi did not work in my room; I had to come to the main floor. I found the open design of the shower and toilet a bit strange. As I was solo this was not really an issue but I would have found the lack of privacy a bit diconcerting had I been sharing the room. The latter observation is very minor and did not detract at all from my wonderful stay and great memories.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    6
    3
    1
    6
See reviews for
4
17
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We went for our honeymoon and had a great couple of nights. Room was large and nice outlook. Hosts were wonderful, lots of extras like bottle of wine in our room, drink on arrival and coffee free the next day. We asked for bathrobes and even though they were meant for next room up, they gave them to us free of charge.

Only negatives was we were told we would get a double bed and turned out to be two singles pushed together with seperate bedding on each bed. Not the best for a honeymoon but maybe that is what a a double is in Europe, not sure. Also when they made up our room they took all towels and did not replace them. When we asked we just got two towels not bathmat or hand towel etc. Phone in room can not call reception so we had to go down whenever we needed something, not a biggy but kind of a pain when you realize you need towels when getting out of shower!
Note: There is also no jug for tea and coffee in room and no fridge mini bar.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We arrived and were made welcome with a drink; how nice and friendly. This friendly feeling stayed with us throughout our stay at the Kasteel, which is efficiently and cleanly run together with this friendly warm ambience. We were lucky enough to be upgraded and our bedroom was lovely and spacious with an excellent bathroom. Breakfast is leisurely, plenty of food, all served with warmth and efficiency. It is a pity that the Kasteel does not do evening meals as I am sure that we would have wanted to sample these if available. One slight niggle is that if you want to sleep with your bedroom window open then there is traffic noise in the morning as the Kasteel grounds are bordered by roads on three sides. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

The beautiful province of Limburg has to be most exotic region of the Netherlands. Both the stunning landscape and the hospitality of the people are the most notable Limburg features. Kasteel Wittem is located in of the most beautiful parts of Limburg, halfway between Maastricht and other holiday favorite Valkenburg. In March of 2011 the new owners renovated and redecorated the castle, which previously housed a Michelin-starred restaurant. The 12 guest rooms are modernized but have maintained the castle's elegant style. Our favorite was the tower room on the first floor, with that kingsize bed, high ceiling and separate lounge. Breakfast at Kasteel Wittem is an example of that proverbial Limburg hospitality. So many delicacies to choose from and served with the brightest smile. The castle's restaurant only serves lunch, in summer on the terrace with stunning views, but the elegant dining room is available for dinner parties, wedding celebrations and receptions. There is another more informal dining room in the other wing. We had a wonderful stay at Kasteel Wittem, where Charlemagne supposedly stayed the night before he was crowned emperor in nearby Aachen, Germany. So what's good enough for him...........

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Early this year we stayed at this hotel for a long weekend, we had to travel by train from the flat western part of the Netherlands to the hilly part of South-eastern Netherland in Limburg. When we arrived in the late afternoon for our long weekend stay, we were stunned by the view of many expensive cars, most Jaguar, Mercedes, BMW and even Rolls Royce! Well, if you have money you can treat yourself at the best and indeed, the kitchen wat the best part of Kasteel Wittem. We enjoyed our 5 course dinner, everything was perfect, from the 'hors d'oeuvre' to the dessert and the service was also great. Of course the prices match with this top notch kitchen so this is not a trip to do a few times a year if you don't own an expensive car, haha. The interior of the castle has a lot of dark wood, wonderful but the middle class room was no more than decent. And we were disappointed by the view, on a wall of a farmhouse and partly on a highroad, not very romantic or exciting. Nonetheless, we like our stay very much, especially the very romantic atmosphere in the dining room and the excellent food will be kept in our memory.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

Visited twice with customers, excellent food and wine list. Very good and friendly service. Expensive and upmarket? Yes, but that is what it is and very well done. I will be going back.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

We had a wonderful New Year’s Eve at Kasteel Wittem. Marc and Peter were very gracious and accommodating from early on in making the reservation to when we departed New Year’s day. The entire staff was very pleasant and professional, from seating us in the parlor for aperitifs and amazing appetizers, escorting us to a romantic table when we were ready, serving and explaining each course, to escorting us back to the parlor at the end of the evening for coffee and a ‘digestif’. Our special New Year’s Eve meal was just that – ‘special’. The Kasteel Wittem’s kitchen lived up to its excellent reputation. The ingredients, preparation and presentation were top notch. The wine was perfectly paired and presented with each of the 6 courses. Our room was very nice and quiet. We chose a more rustic room on the top floor. The beds were quite comfortable. Breakfast service was also well done, accommodating a later hour given the night’s festivities, which included a surprisingly nice fireworks display in the Kasteel’s courtyard. We highly recommend Kasteel Wittem. We will be back.

  • Liked — Excellent food and wine, attention to detail, and being in a restored castle.
  • Disliked — The only items that stand out are small. Coffee served was good, but not up to the level of the rest of the fare. Lighting in the rooms could be brighter.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kasteel Wittem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasteel Wittem

Address: Wittemer Allee 3, 6286 Wittem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Wittem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Wittem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasteel Wittem 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL and Venere so you can book your Kasteel Wittem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasteel Hotel Wittem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasteel Wittem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.