We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy...but a word of warning” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mains of Taymouth Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mains of Taymouth Cottages to your Saves list
Mains of Taymouth Cottages
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Mains of Taymouth Country Estate & Golf Course, Kenmore PH15 2HN, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoy...but a word of warning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is our fifth visit staying in Castle Gardens, the Gallops and this time, Maxwells. Kenmore works for us as it is less than two hours drive, has shop, bar and restaurant and we use the stables, golf and boating on the loch. The overall standard is high and we feel at home. A word of warning though, as we discovered there is no insurance for breakages. When the accoutrements are Denby and AEG etc, and there are glass table tops, this can be expensive, in our case £120. This had to be paid before departure as it seems a previous guest had left and failed to pay up - the implication being that I might do the same! Even after four earlier visits? If you have children remember to take plastic cups and plates in case of breakages.
They have taken to warning that the wi if is weak but that's a poor response when like us who need to be in touch, you are standing under a brolly in the rain with an iPad. The day is surely upon us when guaranteed wi if is like the en suit bathroom and the colour telly - a necessity to get four star rating.
The kiddies swing area beside the courtyard needs an update.
Don't let me out you off though. This is an attractive and relaxing place with some style in a beautiful part of Scotland. We plan to return. If they'll have us!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay in the 5 star Maxwells Villas.  Unfortunately accidental breakages do happen from time to time and the Denby crockery is lovely but pricey! Warning casserole dishes explode when used for cooking on the hob as Nicki appreciated whist helping you clear up the carnage. (we never charge for glasses or small items and major breakages/damage is well covered by insurance).  We’re extremely sorry that, as an important regular client was asked to you pay prior to departure.   Please accept our sincere apologies if you felt unduly harassed.  Wi-fi remains a priority as far as we are concerned as we strive to improve the signal to all accommodations.  However, it is also available free of charge in The Courtyard Bar & Restaurant and guests are also welcome to access wi-fi from the Reception area although complete coverage is our aim.   We welcome candid feedback and, despite these issues, are glad you had an enjoyable stay and really appreciate you continue to encourage others to visit. Thank you and we look forward to you returning in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    27
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
134
76
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is our 4th visit to Mains of Taymouth and yet again we were not disappointed. We stayed again in one of the Maxwells and the standard of accommodation is excellent, it has everything you could possibly need. The only minor gripe that still needs to be sorted out, and, I see that others have commented on this is lack of Wi-Fi access.
We also ate at the Courtyard a few times and the food was to a very good standard. All of the staff we met were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Many thanks for your 5 star review, we're very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay in the Maxwells Villas. We continue to strive to improve wi-fi access in all accommodation although free access is also available in our nearby Courtyard Bar and restaurant which is served by a separate router.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Hugely impressed. We initially had a problem with our lodge and when we went to reception we were met by Nikki. Helpful cheerful concerned attentive and caring. Nothing was too much trouble for her and she relocated immediately. She then visited to ensure we were all okay. We stayed in The Granary. Amazing! What a delight. Come here. Stay here. It's all beautiful with service at its best. We are already planning our next trip.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you not only for a lovely review but for giving us the opportunity to overcome the initial problem experienced on arrival. We're pleased this did not detract from your overall enjoyment and look forward to seeing on you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at Mains of Taymouth during the Sept. weekend 2013 in one of 'The Maxwell' lodges. The accommodation is excellent with everthing you will need for a weekend or a week. The lodge was beautifully furnished and decorated to a very high standard. We arrived at short notice with no tea / coffee and we entered the lodge to find the complimentary tea, coffee, sugar and shortbread biscuits, and much to our surprise even a fresh carton of milk in the fridge. There were dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid, scouring pads, dish cloths & towels, etc. It comes with a fully equipped quality kithen, iron & board, etc. The location of Mains is perfect for long woodland walks, feeding ducks at your balcony or river, fishing in the loch or river Tay (less than 5 mins walk), the 9 hole challenging Kenmore golf course (2 mins walk), The Courtyard shop/bar/restaurant (2 mins walk). Alternatively we liked to eat for lunch or dinner in the Kenmore Hotel across the river (5 mins walk) where the same very good and reasonably priced menu is served in the restaurant, bar and sports bar - dogs are allowed into both bars. This is our second time at Mains of Taymouth in less than one year, and we will definately be back.

Room Tip: The units / lodges vary depending on the size of party, but I don't think there's a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Great feedback, thank you so much for taking the time to post yet another review and for sharing some of the many things to see and do in the area. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed in Wester Brudair - a 5 bedroom house, which provided the a beautiful setting for a big family gathering. The 3 kingsize and 2 twin bedrooms were fabulous - with ensuite facilities and good beds.........for anyone who reads my reviews you'll know beds are important to me and I don't praise many, but these were good!

The accommodation was very well equipped, extra towels, bath robes in the king rooms and all the kitchen utensils you would need (if you bothered to cook).

BUT, what made this a little bit extra special was the warm greeting from Nicki - she was bright, bubbly and extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Wester Brudair was a fabulous family home...........
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for a lovely review following your stay in Wester Bruadair, we were delighted to read the beds provided a good nights sleep. Thanks also for mentioning the warm welcome, we'll be sure to pass your kind comments to Nicki and hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This place is truly fantastic.

We stayed at 8 Maxwells and loved every single minute. The accommodation is beautifully presented and a real pleasure to stay in. The kitchen had everything we needed, crockery, cutlery, glasses, cloths, dishwasher tablets, even a small bottle of fresh milk in the fridge - Mains of Taymouth have really thought about this place.

We went here for a weekend break to get away from the hustle and bustle of modern life and it was truly refreshing to have no phone signal and a poor internet connection. If you're after piece and tranquility and an opportunity to forget work, this is it.

The reception on arrival is warm and welcoming and the staff are happy to help in anyway they can. The grounds are well maintained, the views are just stunning and the brace of ducks that wander around will even tap their beaks on the patio door for a wee slice of bread - brilliant.

The delicatessen on site is well laid out and well stocked. The Courtyard Restaurant is a great place to eat, we didn't do breakfast, but the evening meal was very nice.

Loved it, loved it, loved it - we'll be back.

Room Tip: 8 maxwells was great but i don't think it really matters
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCourtyardManager, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Many thanks for a fantastic review, we are working on the internet so it might be fully accessible soon! We're sure that won't put you off and of course would be delighted to welcome you whenever you feel in need of some rest & relaxation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I booked the Farmhouse for my friends pre-wedding celebration at short notice when our other property fell through. Anxious about the fact that we were technically a "hen party" but knowing we were not the stereotypical nightmare we told a slight white lie and said we were a birthday celebration as hen partys are not allowed.

This place was amazing from start to finish! We managed to check in early as nobody had been in the property the day before. This was brilliant as it meant 2 of us could decorate, unpack and cook before everyone else arrived. We really appreciated this!

The actual Farmhouse is beyond beautiful. It's huge living, cooking, dining area is brilliant for a large group. 12 of us could sit around the. Sofas, dinner table and outside there was also a big table which we all sat round numerous times. We were lucky with the weather too. The bedrooms were also pure luxury!

We'd stayed in other lodges so brought everything as it had been lacking before. This place is so funny equipped with bin bags, fairy liquid, dish washer tabs, foil etc. equipment wise it was also great it even has an electric knife sharpener!

The only criticisms I would have is that when we went to use the BBQ there was no gas which was a bit of a nightmare when cooking for 12 people! Also I don't think there were mirrors in some of the upstairs bedrooms which wasn't great when you have 12 girls getting ready for a night out! Minor things though when looking at the overall place.

On the Sat night we went to the courtyard restaurant which was again really good. We also got a free bottle of wine since we were staying there. Food was lovely and staff were great.

Plenty of room for food and a separate wine fridge is great with so many guests. The bin store is also just out the back which was handy.

I hope to return but perhaps not as a big party so I could enjoy more of the sights rather than entertaining.

The outside area is also brilliant and large and is only a short walk to the restaurant but still secluded. The hot tub was also a huge hit.

Thank you so much to the staff we were amazing and sorry for the white lie!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCourtyardManager, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks for a fabulous review, although we shall now view 'birthday celebrations' with a degree of suspicion!! Only joking, glad you had a great weekend and hope you return to enjoy the area and all it has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mains of Taymouth Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mains of Taymouth Cottages

Address: Mains of Taymouth Country Estate & Golf Course, Kenmore PH15 2HN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kenmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mains of Taymouth Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 120 acre private country estate set in magnificent Highland Perthshire with stunning self catering properties sleeping from 2 to 12, many with hot tubs, saunas and games rooms, all at either a high 4* or 5* STB standard. Our excellent onsite facilities include our own golf course, riding stables, delicatessen & gift shop and cafe bar & restaurant all within walking distance from each property. Stunning views, tourist attractions & much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Mains of Taymouth Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mains Of Taymouth Cottages Hotel Kenmore
Mains Of Taymouth Cottages Kenmore, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mains of Taymouth Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.