We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location - Disappointing Food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kenmore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kenmore Hotel to your Saves list
Kenmore Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 The Square, Kenmore PH15 2NU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kenmore
Inverness
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location - Disappointing Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

We stayed at the Kenmore Hotel for 2 nights DBB at a cost of £45 pp. We were in the annexe across the road from the hotel which was peaceful and comfortable although we had no heating in the room. It was a bit of an issue for the Duty Manageress who seemed to change her story every few minutes. All we wanted was a warm room which we got eventually. We had stayed at the Kenmore Hotel twice before. The last time we stayed it was just B & B and we were disappointed with the breakfast. We thought we would give it another try but food very disappointing. Didn't enjoy our food at all. The hotel boasts a red rosette restaurant for 2008/09 - i can't see how!!!
It is such a shame as the hotel has an oldy wordly feel about it and it is set in a wonderful location with beautiful scenery. Food is a very important part of our stay in a hotel and this is something that has to be addressed because it is of a very poor standard.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    177
    81
    48
    22
See reviews for
89
294
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

Just enjoyed 3 nights D B&B at this quaint and quirky Hotel. The location was outstanding offering wonderful views of all the things Scotland does best....especially beautiful in its cloak of Autumn colours.

Hotel staff were exceedingly nice and very helpful....even when we brought the room key back home with us in error!! Food in the restaurant was of a high standard and service was swift, competent and never intrusive. I particularly enjoyed the Venison which was delightfully smokey.

Occasionaly the food was not as described..the Fettucine in pesto had no pesto and cashew nuts instead of pine nuts..also Thyme instead of Basil. The dinner rolls were just plain dreadful...Wholemeal and artisan breads would make such a difference.

Breakfast dishes could have been cooked a little more and the Kippers didn't feature beyond day one but a good selection and nice to see Porridge and watermelon on the menu

Room was pleasant, if not luxurious and bed comfortable. Will be back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

I stayed here for 2 nights DBB (special rate of £48 pppn) with my wife and 5 year old plus my elderly parents who stayed in another room.
The Hotel is very old, dating back to 1500's I think, so of course has sweaky floors, small-ish rooms and uneven floors BUT this does not deter from a comfortable and plesant stay. The beds were clean, fresh and truly comfortable. Staff were mostly pleasant, attentive and efficient (especially ?Maria). Food was above average and the dinner menu was varied enough for everyone.Drink and food prices are acceptable and no grossly inflated which is often the case in this bonnie land of ours. The hotel has a olde world feel, set in a beautiful location away from the hustle and bustle - ideal for a 2 or 3 day get away. I probably would not stay here at full rates but the deal we obtained was excellent and we all enjoyed our stay - which more than excelled our expectation.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

Although we have no real gripes about this hotel the rooms and breakfast were super the difference in the cost as to how you book the rooms is unbelievable.
We booked a nights accommodation through late rooms at the cost of £55 per room including breakfast. A few days later on our return south we rung the hotel to see if a room was available after telling the reception that we had stayed previously and booked through laterooms we were informed that a room was available at no time did the receptionist tell us the cost of the room even when we arrived. The following morning on check out we discovered that the price had been hoicked up to £129 per room. Fortunately for them and us I did have the money but will not go back unless I book through late rooms.
I have writen to the hotel management with a request for an apology but have so far not recieved anything in return.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

My wife and I have just spent 2 nights in this hotel. The reservation was made for us and when I read the reviews I would not have made a reservation. However the experience was much better than anticipated. It is a very old inn, the rooms are basic but quite clean and the bed in room 25 at least was fine.The traditional colours used in the corridors etc produce an apparent shabbiness but that is often the case in old places like this.Kenmore is a place to enjoy the outdoors and if thats your plan dont be put off.

There has been criticism of the staff attitude. Either they were sent to charm school or read the reviews because we found them civil and helpful.

An unexpected surprise was the dining room which is a new structure added to the back of the building.In contrast to the old inn it is really nice and modern with almost glass walls allowing a view of the river which is quite outstanding. The food was good quality and presented in a nice modern way.The portions are too large for seniors like us.

Loch Tay and its environs are stunning with a great selection of activities and well worth the visit.

My summary is dont be put off the place for a short stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

One night stay in building opposite hotel. Odd rude attitude in dining room '...you should have read your letter and reserved a table' . We had arrived on spec so attitude quite unnecessary given half the tables were empty. Other staff were friendly. Got bill wrong. All a pity because position and facilities are good. Retraining required for greeter in restaurant. Internet switched off at night and on at 8:00am !

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

The location is great HOWEVER we were offered a room in the annexe and where very very disapointed. The corridors where shabby and in need of decoration as was the bedroom itself but the matresses where an absolute disgrace and a terrible nights sleep..

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kenmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenmore Hotel

Address: 4 The Square, Kenmore PH15 2NU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kenmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kenmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kenmore Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Kenmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenmore Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.