We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mains of Taymouth Courtyard Restaurant

Mains of Taymouth Courtyard Restaurant
Kenmore, Aberfeldy, Kenmore PH15 2HN, Scotland
+44 1887 830763
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Kenmore
Price range: $5 - $27
Cuisines: Bar, International, British, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Award winning bar, restaurant & brasserie in magnificent Highland Perthshire in the conservation village of Kenmore. Wood burning fires, leather couches, family friendly, pets welcome, alfresco dining on the sunny decking and a pleasant & welcoming atmosphere. Open all year, 7 days a week serving from 9am - 9pm. Bookings recommend for Friday & Saturday evenings. Special occasions, birthday parties and wedding etc.
Paisley, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Delicious lunch in lovely surroundings. Soup for two, sandwich and panini for the other two, all four people very happy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Courtyard Restaurant, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review! We really appreciate you taking the time to do so. We are delighted to hear that you had a delicious lunch with us and we look forward to welcoming you all back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    94
    67
    34
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beautiful Perthshire, Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing and Unhelpful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We visited here just after the core lunchtime hours so they were only able to offer soup and sandwiches. We had our 17 month old daughter with us and I wasn't keen to pay £6+ for a whole sandwich which would be too much so asked if, along with out own full size orders, they would do a 1/2 or small sandwich portion for her. No. It wasn't possible. Definitely not. I though that this was very inflexible and unhelpful. I wasn't asking for something that wasn't available at that time - just a children's portion. I was going to have the smoked salmon sandwich and a glass of fizz plus something for my husband and then our daughter. I was so annoyed at this unhelpful and inflexible response that I shared a cheese sandwich with my daughter and we had a soup and a coke. We won't be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Courtyard Restaurant, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for your review and for taking the time to write one. We do value all feedback and are sorry to hear that your visit was not a happy one. We are proud that we offer food from 9am to 9pm 7 days a week and are unhappy that you did not get what you requested for your child as we are very children friendly. We do hope that you will return to show you that we do not normally react to any such request in this way and perhaps we could offer you a complimentary children’s meal as an apology. Please note that this is available between 12noon – 2.30pm and 6pm – 9pm. We look forward to welcoming you back. If you could please email info@taymouth.co.uk to make yourself known
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Meeting old friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

Arranged a school reunion with 4 mates, had a fantastic lunch, coffee and a nice game of pool. Great relaxing location. Really enjoyed the experience

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Courtyard Restaurant, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for your review. So pleased to hear that your reunion went well and that you all enjoysed your relaxing time over lunch with a game of pool. We look forward to welcoming you all back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Could be better value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We used the Courtyard bar/restaurant on four occasions when we stayed at the Mains of Taymouth. On the whole the food was tasty and served in good time. There was a good selection of drinks and the bar welcomes dogs.
The bar serves the same food as the restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Courtyard Restaurant, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your four occasions in our Courtyard Bar & Restaurant. We like to offer the same menu in both sections so that guests with dogs feel welcome too! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The kitchen staff do not take any notice of what is ordered”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We booked a meal on the last night of our holiday and on looking at the restaurant were really excited. We discussed dietary issues (no onions - no gluten) the night before we dined there and were assured we could be catered for. The waiter took our order - Pork Belly with mash but no sage & onion jus and a Chicken Korma without a naan bread. When the meal came there was jus on the plate - they took it away immediately and re-plated - but we then discovered there was spring onion in the mash - not what is said on the menu but the waiter knew there could be no onion on the plate. After discussing gluten issues and the waiter clearly writing that no naan bread was required one had been stuck into the actual chicken korma - which would have contaminated the whole meal - at this stage couldn't be bothered complaining and just took the naan bread out of the sauce. The waiter was very apologetic at the end of meal making sure we understood none of it was his fault and knocked the cost of the wine from the meal - but two of the four meals were ruined because the kitchen staff took no notice of our requests.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Courtyard Restaurant, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to right a review. We do apologise that your experience was not as an enjoyable one as we would of like you to have had. We take your feedback on board and we do try our best to meet all dietary requirements for all our guests. We do hope that you will return so that we can show you the quality of service we do provide to all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mains of Taymouth Courtyard Restaurant also viewed

Kenmore, Perth and Kinross
Kenmore, Perth and Kinross
 
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Mains of Taymouth Courtyard Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mains of Taymouth Courtyard Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.