We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really something different” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xoron Floatel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Xoron Floatel to your Saves list
Xoron Floatel
Embankment Road, Bembridge PO35 5NS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Bembridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
devon
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Really something different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Wendy accommodated us for 1 night when they usually have a 2 night minimum-so thanks.
As with most of the reviewers we really enjoyed our stay,enhanced by it being a beautiful say and evening and being able to sit on deck at the front and enjoy the views over the water and watch the tide come in while drinking wine which Paul had put in the fridge for us.
We found the room lovely and clean,a comfortable bed and shower as good as in hotels.
The sitting area upstairs is large and comfortable.
Interesting reading the history of this boat which saw service in 2 wars-thank goodness now being put to this use.
If you only want 5* star type hotels,this is probably not for you but if you want an excellent change in a different style this is as good as it gets.

Room Tip: They all seem good here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xoron, Owner at Xoron Floatel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thanks for the review Guys, it was a pleasure to have you, it always pays to ring direct, to see if we can get you in, so pleased you liked it, especially your rest time on deck with a bottle of wine, I can never tire of doing just that, but for me I'm afraid its a coffee, but still as relaxing as your wine, hope to see you again soon.
Paul & Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    10
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
51
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We have stayed in posher places on the Island but none better than our few days on the Xoron, it was excellent, we slept better than we do when at home and it was very relaxing, in fact we really missed being there and thats not normal for us and the hospitality and friendliness of Paul and Wendy was faultless as were the breakfasts, we will not stay anywhere else from now on. AAA+++++++++++++

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xoron, Owner at Xoron Floatel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Terry & Jacqui, what can we say, we are so pleased you enjoyed your special break, to celebrate Terry becoming an old timer, I remember my 50th like it was yesterday, and boy do they roll on bye quickly after that one, still you had a good time with us so hope to see you again soon, many thanks for sharing your good fortune with others.
Paul & Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had a fantastic time on the xoron,,, booked the break for kelvins 50th wanted something a bit different and was not dissapointed..the xoron is full of character and Wendy can't do enough for you..a very lovely lady..clean towels everyday..the shower always had hot water & there was even a bath...when I booked it thought maybe should of done 2 nights &1 in a hotel im so glad we didnt the views are lovely & you are made to feel very welcome from the minute you arrive till the minute you leave.. thank you Wendy & Paul.. We had a fantastic holiday

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xoron, Owner at Xoron Floatel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you back on Kelvins next birthday, or yours for that matter, but if your like Wendy, you don't have birthdays, again thank you very much for telling the world how much you liked your stay.
Paul & Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strood
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Last minute weekend away. Something a bit different... We booked a stay onto the Xoron Floatel.
Don't be put off by the external apperance of the Xoron( This does differ from the pictures a bit..) The inside is just as the photos show. A lovely warm sunny lounge to relax in. Comfy furniture and an uninterrupted view across Bembridge harbour. Sit and watch the water come and go along with the wildlife and boaty people. Lovely.( Added bonus of a goose alarm call in the morning...... unless Paul has caught him!!!!!)
Wendy and Paul are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is just right. Beds are comfy and our twin cabin was warm and spacious.
You are on a boat, so be prepared to duck now and again to avoid low ceiling in certain areas. If you are expecting a boat , with is wobblyness ,you won't be disappointed. Probably not your thing if you are a 5 star hotel person.

Only 10 mins to closest pub and maybe another 10 mins to village with a wider choice of eating and drinking establishments. ( Would reccomend th Old Village Inn for a meal)
The Xoron is fun .Its quirky and a really pleasant stay. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xoron, Owner at Xoron Floatel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi guys, Thank you very much for the review, so sorry you had to have a twin room for your anniversary as we were full as you know, next time book earlier so you don't miss out on the romance,
we are also glad our friend (goosy) never put you off your stay with us he is a local celebrity round the harbour, he has never come aboard the boat before or perched himself above your cabin, maybe he wanted to wish you well on your happy occasion,
he has not been back since and I can assure you I have not shot him although I wanted too.
again many thanks.
Paul & Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

in january this year, i thought i'd try "something completely different"...and i booked the xoron for the end of march...5 days...i loved every minute of it...from the warm welcome of wendy & paul, to the experience of the freaky spring high tides (snowflakes included)..the long cabin was an art worth pursuing...(i would suggest asking for wifi, or (as i did, save the newspaper you bought, to read in bed))...the toilet at first, felt like a game of solo twister...and during high tide you literally rock...in the morning, the sunrise was amazing...(just shut that door!) ...had the place to myself for the first few days, and it felt so welcoming,...it was like "this is your home for the time you are here"...it really felt so homely...only met paul a few times, but wendy was always a friendly face to see in the morning & was the ultimate hostess. the whole experience of staying on this boat will live with me forever (the history of this gunboat is everywhere),..i liked the boat so much, that i found most of my pictures were taken within the boat (the history, the old newspaper cuts (the prices when first advertised))..rather than of birthday parties!)...pirates of the carribean out the front...so u cant miss the boat...and at night the bridge is ropey!...wouldnt want the steps if out on the town...thanx again wendy & paul

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xoron, Owner at Xoron Floatel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for a lovely review, it was our pleasure to have you stay with us, hope we see you again, the next tine your on the Island, and don't forget to tell all of your friends about us people like you are the best advertising we can get, again Darren many thanks.
Paul & Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Had a lovely Easter bank holiday break at the floatel. Went to the IoW to walk (no car, walked there from Ryde) and this was a great base. Wendy was friendly and made us feel very welcome. The room was warm and cosy with a very comfy bed. Great value, loads of character - will recommend to friends.

Room Tip: The double, room 1 uses the unusual space well and is very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xoron, Owner at Xoron Floatel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Hi Girls sorry I have taken so long to reply to your review, I must have missed the notification, however, better late than never,
We are both so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and I am sorry I myself missed you, I cant think for the life of me what I was doing for a whole weekend, unless we were ships passing in the night,
Wendy said you were a great pair, and enjoyed your stay with us, and your walks round the island, I promise I will make sure I am around more on your next visit with us keep telling your friends about us, and of course all the trip advisor viewers reading your comments, again girls thank you very much.
Paul & Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Well, it is what it says it is. This boat was renovated 25 years ago and it shows. Furnishings, blue leather sofas and wicker in guest lounge. Needs to be dragged, kicking and screaming, into this century. Hostess, Wendy, totally lovely. We also met Paul. Breakfast, ok. Warm and cosy cabin, but bathroom too cold to use. An experience, but won't be repeated or recommended. Wendy, you are FANTASTIC!!!! Julia and Nick.x

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xoron, Owner at Xoron Floatel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We are so sorry we did not meet your expectations, !!! The blue leather sofa's are 2 years old, they match the blue and cream carpet allso 2 years old, the wicker chairs are cane, again very blue, but in the warmer months guests like to take a nice big comfy chair on deck to soak up the sun,!!!! thats why we have them,
Realy sorry about your cold bathroom, its no excuse but it was the coldest weekend so far, (weather man said colder than antartica,) you were with us for 3 days you never mentioned it to us, we could have put you in another foom, away from that biting wind,
and yes it was cold when i went in there, problem being solved as i write this
The furnishings are in keeping with the character of the boat, and not a highrise apartment on canary wharfe, but again a matter of individual taste,
Paul & Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Xoron Floatel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xoron Floatel

Address: Embankment Road, Bembridge PO35 5NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Bembridge
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bembridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent B&B on a Floating guesthouse in Bembridge Harbour, we have spectacular veiws over the harbour and the solent shipping lanes, with many walks and cycle ways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Xoron Floatel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xoron Floatel Bembridge, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xoron Floatel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.