We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crab & Lobster Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bembridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Crab & Lobster Inn
Save
You added The Crab & Lobster Inn to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   32 Foreland Fields Road, Bembridge, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 Bembridge B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I went to this pub/restaurant on Friday 14th September, along with my elderly mother, brother, husband and 1 border collie. We all love seafood, so choosing was a delight as the menu had all that is good about seafood. I chose the Seafood pasta dish, which is something if I see it on the menu I choose every time. I can honestly say this was the best I have ever tasted. My mother and brother had the fresh crab, which was presented well and tasted very fresh, although my mother couldn't make her mind up over that or the fresh crabcakes. So good in fact that my mother who is notoriously difficult to please asked the chef to make her crabcakes so that she could go home and try them, this they did with pleasure. The staff were excellent. Even our dog was given free doggie biscuits. Do try this restaurant. I am someone who is quite hard to please but this place did tick all the boxes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    40
    28
    24
    18
See reviews for
40
67
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The first thing to say is that this Inn (pub/restaurant/b&b) is situated in a stunning location and has a superbly located terrace facing the English Channel. Five years ago, under the former management, this establishment was heaving day, night and weekends, winter and summer. When the Crab and Lobster was taken over, the new management seem to have taken a decision that locals were not a priority and that they would aim at the DFL (Down from London) market. This meant that in summer, with a new pricing structure, they maintained a large section of their clientele, while in winter, they were/are supported by guests staying the nearby Warner's holiday complex for lunch traffic. The winter business appears to have reduced significantly and the pub is often virtually empty in the evenings.
We have been back a few times mainly when our guests have expressed a desire to revisit, mainly because of its past reputation.
On our most recent visit, on a Friday evening (still the holiday season), sunny and warm, the bar area and restaurant was about half full. The exterior and interior look very tired and are in desperate need of a spruce up. Service on this occasion was good and the staff were friendly. We did not have a long wait and the food arrived in good time. The seafood mixed grill was excellent, the cod and chips were freshly cooked although the cod was a little overcooked and tasteless. In contrast, the smoked haddock gratin was very tasty but very salty and the huge lasagne was described as lovely but enough for two portions.
However on previous occasions the service has been much less friendly and efficient and the food was not up to much.
Car parking is limited and the one-way system and parking bays are in need of maintenance.
This pub once had the best name in Bembridge. It would be nice to see some serious investment so that it retains its former position.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

How can something deteriorate so badly?

Dirty, smelly, indifferent, poor parking and lousy expensive food..................otherwise, OK.(like the view?)

We have never felt so ripped off and that is not just the money! Do yourself a favour and go somewhere else.

Three years ago, this was a whole different place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Took my wife here for a special birthday meal. When we arrived there was a member of staff smoking heartily at the main entrance, by the restaurant. When we booked we asked for a window table in the dining room. On arrival we found it had been given to someone else! An indifferent waiter arrived and handed us menus, Then disappeared. After 10 mins we noticed that diners had to go to the bar to order, Shame we weren't told that when we arrived. Off I trotted. Ordered two of the mixed seafood grills with garlic butter. When they arrived both dishes were absolutely swimming in butter, but any garlic was noticeably absent. Food was adequate but overpriced for what it was. When we had finished a waiter cleared away our plates without a word. We assumed we would have to ask for a dessert menu (and then queue at the bar again to order), but couldn't be bothered at this time. When we left, the same staff member was leaning against the main entrance, having another cigarette. We have been to this restaurant in previous years and thoroughly enjoyed it, We were not surprised to read in previous reviews that C&L has changed hands recently,which we assume accounts for the current malaise. We won't be going back - there are numerous other better restaurants on this part of the island (where we live).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Having read such good reviews about the Crab & Lobster we were very much looking forward to having dinner there. We arrived at 6pm as we have two small children and wanted to eat early. Lots of other families had the same idea and we had to queue for around 15 mins just to place the food order which I was expecting and wasn't a problem. My husband and I both love seafood and we ordered the mixed seafood grill consisting of seabass, salmon, langoustine and scallops which sounded delicious. Maybe the fish was delicious. The problem was we couldn't tell as when it was served it was dripping in melted butter. Not even a light herby butter, just full-on creamy butter. This was served with small side bowls of chips and salad which I was unable to add to the plate as they would have also been covered. I had to request another plate so I could drain off at least a cupful of butter and eat the meal. Staff seemed rather bemused and not particularly interested. Unfortunately I couldn't taste the fish at all. We were so disappointed and I can't understand how a kitchen that specialises in seafood would present a dish like this. It shows no understanding of flavours whatsoever. My daughter's child portion of fish and chips looked nice though.
We had much better and cheaper meals at the Pilot Boat Inn in Bembridge and the Fisherman's Cottage in Shanklin. In my opinion this place is completely overrated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayeux, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The Crab & Lobster is in a secluded, cliff top site on the south coast of the Isle of Wight. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The breakfast offers all the ingredients of "full english", all of the best quality and beautifully cooked by a professional chef. The restaurant seemed always popular with locals and tourists alike so be prepared to wait a little while for your order. Delicious local lobster is a speciality. The staff are friendly and efficient. Our stay was a pleasure which we hope to repeat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

we have visited here many times now and we are not dissipointed. great staff and the food is always good ! but get here early to avoid the busy times ! great location for the summer days. the crab ramikin is a great treat for lunch

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crab & Lobster Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crab & Lobster Inn

Address: 32 Foreland Fields Road, Bembridge, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Bembridge
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bembridge
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crab & Lobster Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Crab And Lobster Inn
The Crab & Lobster Hotel Bembridge
The Crab & Lobster Inn Bembridge, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crab & Lobster Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.